We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's nice but don't see why it rates so highly”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Moke Lake

Moke Lake
Book In Advance
More Info
$212.41*
and up
Private Tour: Half-Day Queenstown and Beyond Photography Tour
Ranked #25 of 118 things to do in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hamilton NZ
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It's nice but don't see why it rates so highly”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

It's a bit of a drive out, very quiet, nice location but not too sure why is rates so highly on TA??

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lipm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    75
    16
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pretty even in the rain!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Not far to drive and a pretty spot, even for the one time we encountered rain. Pretty to photograph. We didn't do the walk. But was still worth the drive.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikoura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wow what a place”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

we only found this place because we booked a horse trek out here at the farm/station behind the lake but wow what a stunningly beautiful spot !!!! we never knew it existed and once we got out there (on a somewhat bumpy narrow dusty dirt road with idiot drivers who clearly don't know how to pull over or drive on gravel/dirt) - it was amazing. peaceful, beautiful, with ducks nearby and some sheep on the hilltops above and horses grazing freely in the paddock behind the lake and the most gorgeous (albeit basic) conservation campsite i have seen since the dolomites in Italy. wish we'd known it was there we would have stayed longer rather than taking the trek company's chauffeured van into the valley.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kejamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Go on do it ???”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Quick and easy to get to from Qtown, beautiful off the main highway thing to do, so you don't get the couch potatoes out here. Easy walking around the lake, allow 2 hours easy walking. It is a beautiful part of the world. Sorry no shops or fast food outlets out here. BUT boy the beer tastes sweet when you get back to Qtown. Easy, well worth it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank WOW2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
246 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot, so different from Queenstown”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A great area. I stayed overnight in the DOC-campsite and really enjoyed it. The mountains are beautiful and you have the company of sheep and cows :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank makapon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moke Lake also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Moke Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing