We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot, so different from Queenstown”
Review of Moke Lake

Moke Lake
Book In Advance
More Info
$219.52*
and up
Private Tour: Half-Day Queenstown and Beyond Photography Tour
Ranked #25 of 119 things to do in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
244 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot, so different from Queenstown”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A great area. I stayed overnight in the DOC-campsite and really enjoyed it. The mountains are beautiful and you have the company of sheep and cows :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank makapon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    77
    17
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a crazy beautiful area. The horse ride is well organized and good for all ages. They did separate the better riders from the beginners which was greatly appreciated. This allowed us to do more fun riding without the restrictions of having to go at a laborious pace. I'd def recommend requesting this. If you're adventurous and you're stuck with beginners it'd be a rather boring, yet still scenic trip. This is really a good weather only trip too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank William-NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great spot!!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

A little off the main track but what a great spot. Overnight camping available or just a great day visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cascade52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“getaway from town”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Lovely and unknown location to relax in summer and enjoy a warmer swim than the wakatipu lake! It is an unsealed road the get there but still accessible.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greve, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favorite place in the whole world”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I am from Denmark, and travelled in New Zealand by car in 2012. The place I think back on with probably the most joy, if that is even possible, is Moke Lake. We spent several nights in this place and it is just so beautiful and such a quiet and peaceful place. You need to spend a night there sometime, because the sun's play on these mountaintops when it sets and rises is worth it all. I will save up money for the rest of my life if I have to, to go back to this place. It is amazing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moke Lake also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Moke Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing