We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable,relaxing, home away from home @ Residences” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable,relaxing, home away from home @ Residences”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were very happy with the overall experience staying almost a week in a two bedroom residence on the waterfront. Stunning views including night-time views of the road to Queenstown, very clean, warm and quick to heat, great black out drapes, adequate kitchenette, comfortable Hilton beds. The pool was great with a school age child, and a beautiful memory of swimming in the warm while it snowed right outside the windows.
We enjoyed great pizza at the Stacks pub, Asian influenced meals at the Me and Mee which turned into takeaway due to a grumpy toddler with no eyebrows raised by staff, and Wakatipu Grill ($200 plus for two adults) which was exceptional fine dining without the drama. Also great coffee at The Grocer but it was $6.50 a cup! Nothing at the Hilton is not cheap, but nothing in Queenstown is, and you don't go there to save money... Also these prices would still seem reasonable to most overseas tourists (maybe they should have 'locals' rates ;-) ) I guess we could have gone off-site for our evening meals but it was just so convenient and meant we didn't have to worry about limiting alcohol or driving on icy cold roads in the dark.
All service we received was gracious and helpful. Staff in restaurants knew how to manage children by serving promptly, providing healthy kids meal options, and distracting them so parents could have a breather. Housekeeping staff responded to request to change room servicing time to work around our toddler's sleep-time.
We would go back in a flash. Home away from home feel, but with staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront suite. Try the entrees at Wakatipu Grill - divine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouLouThruAndThru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,443
    627
    239
    108
    56
See reviews for
423
1,411
89
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Well enjoyed, staff are amazing. We will go back when money allows. Positioned at a perfect distance away from town to unwind and watch the sun set and easy enough to access when time to play. truly wonderful experience for the wife and I. Perfect but expensive trip could be done cheaper, but we were last minute.... book in advance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Great property with indoor pool and good room setup ( we stayed in the 2 bedroom residence)
Despite booking 6 months in advance we did not get a room next to out family friends who we were traveling with and the room move ended being a rude and poorly managed situation overall.
The Customer Relationship Manager(s) were rude and had poor product knowledge of many aspects of out stay eg what was included in out leisure escapes package. All staff would happily give you information which was incorrect and this ended up with excess charges on checkout.
The service on check out was also very rude and the issues were too many to include in this review.
Overall great property as long as you so need the staff in the hotel and some were infuriating whilst others were brilliant ( like the staff at the Cruz Bar and Lake Grocer)
Very disappointed with the service and felt like they just ticked boxes to get things done and in the process made out stay so unbearable we tried to move to the Sofitel but they had no availability.
The manager despite out trying to liase with did not appear and they had the clout to keep us out of out room from 9 am to 5pm and charge the outgoing customers a late fee and not even an apology for no room with 2 young kids sat outside waiting for a room!
Shame as the set up is beautiful and the holiday would have been amazing but we had an awful experience.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Salsaperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I and my wife were celebrating our 5th year anniversary here at Hilton Hotel mid of July 2014. Service is great, and I purposely asked for room which overlooking the lake. Absolutely stunning!
Everything went really smooth. In those peak season time, we used valet parking, and it was really helpful, otherwise you may find it troublesome for your car parking.
When we got a chance we definitely will consider Hilton again!

Room Tip: Choose room 412, it's special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are ok but I stayed in a room near the service where the attendant comes in and out and I keep hearing the door slammed. Do not stay at 622! Also if you have no car, you may have to take water taxi but it does not cone often.

The town is 10 min drive but it would have been better if it's in town. There's not much to do around the hotel. Although it is closer to the airport, handy on your way home.

The wakatipu grill does serve great food but a bit over priced and so as the rooms for what you get. The Complete breakfast can be improved- as a foodie, the food are over cooked and congee is tasteless.

I'd recommend you stay in the heart of Queenstown for more activities and convenience.


Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank arlinap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

I have stayed at all the major hotels in Queenstown over the years. As a Hilton Honors member and only for this reason did I book my recent stay at this hotel, as I had a feeling that transportation into town was going to be a hassle and expensive.

The good news:
- The hotel presentation and outlook is fantastic. The rooms are modern and clean.
- The beds are very comfortable.
- Climate control is.. well... perfect - I never had the feeling I was too cold or too hot.
- The gas fireplaces in the rooms really add to the Queenstown vibe.
- Spacing between rooms which dramitically cuts down on other guest noise.
- Lots of power points (although no international points) in the rooms (I find this usually to be a problem)
- Staff were always friendly and courteous.

The bad news:
- The BIG problem is transport. The hotel advertises a free shuttle service into town. But as other reviewers have stated it is almost ALWAYS full and far too infrequent. I can't understand why Hilton have done this. They have a hotel that is a $50 cab fare out of town and don't provide a viable transport option. It is for this reason alone that I can not recommend this Hotel if you do not have your own transport. The water taxi is an option at $10 a person but again far to infrequent to be of any use.
- The internet only provides for 2 devices. These days I would say most travelers have a smartphone, laptop and tablet.
- No cups in the bathroom. I can't understand this. Such an obviously lacking yet critical item. I had to turn the room upside down to find some - they are in the bottom shelf next to the minibar.

Room Tip: Level 5 and up will give you better views I feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 7 nights recently and loved it! Fantastic spacious rooms- loved the fireplace/living area and huge bathroom, a beautiful location and great service. We booked with flight centre so all Internet and full breakfast was included so no troubles there like many people are complaining about. A car is a must have though and hiring one would cost you about the same amount as the water taxi anyways. Parking was very easy and cheap in Queenstown. Breakfast was great although lacking in some areas, i.e. consistently bad scrambled eggs, but loved barista made coffee every morning included! Overall the Hilton is great value for money and a beautiful place to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ellie_ray20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#15 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kwarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you set foot inside the Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, you'll discover a place that not only celebrates the world-renowned beauty of this region, but immerses you completely in that beauty. Welcome to a new way to experience Queenstown. Welcome to Hilton. This is an exhilarating setting, and one without compromise. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa faces north, delivering full afternoon sun and showcasing panoramic views over an unspoilt terrain famed the world over. Watch the deep blue hues of the lake shimmer and glisten and savour this most intensely beautiful destination. In the heart of vibrant Kawarau Village and just 15 minutes via lake or land from Queenstown, you'll enjoy effortless access to all the excitement on offer in the region - and the closest accommodation to The Remarkables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing