We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a place...congrats!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a place...congrats!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Maybe the best value for money for a hotel in my life. The room was simply incredible, with a stunning view on the lake and mountains, a fireplace in the (huge) room, an amazing bed, a fantastic and huge bathroom with a bathtub with a view on the lake and a huge shower. Since it is a bit far from central Queenstown, it is naturally very quiet. The swimming pool is simply gorgeous, you really feel privileged! And the breakfast buffet was excellent, very very comprehensive! The only thing that could be improved would be on the service: no one showed us our room upon arrival, and since the hotel is huge and quite a labyrinth, we almost got lost at first! And the personnel could be a bit warmer. Except for this, congrats, we loved it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNDALLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,472
    638
    242
    112
    60
See reviews for
439
1,433
93
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SHENZHEN, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

My room was very comfortable, the food was excellent and and wide range of wines. The staff were very helpful but did not invade your space. I enjoyed my experience at the hotel and if I return to Queenstown I would stay there again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Shiying P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

The lake side rooms are beautiful with a glorious view of Queenstown. The king size bed is the most comfortable nights sleep you could imagine and the bathroom is decadent. Its a place you go to spoil yourself. The spa treatment and restaurant are just the perfect end to the day

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Queenstown was really Plan B after the Bluff Oyster Festival was cancelled due to bad weather, so we decided to salvage whatever that was left from our holiday and made the 2 hour drive from Invercargill. Some rain and only a possibility of snow was forecasted for Queenstown. I decided on Hilton because of the word "Resort & Spa" suggesting there were at least some activities we could take refuge from the weather. Also, I happened to have my Hilton Honours number with me which made reservations over the phone very easy.

First impressions on the resort were very good as we drove past the various buildings leading up to the front desk. This was further reinforced by the pleasant smell we were greeted with when we entered the hallway from the bottom covered carpark.

The rooms were also very well appointed and tastefully decorated and had a balcony with jawdropping lakefront views. The 2 bedroom was a twin and a double. The residence had TV with Sky (PaidTV), lounge with gas fireplace, kitchen and dining. It is also equipped with wash and dryer which turned out to be handy. Magazines on the table is always a good indication of a luxury resort.

We then checked out the pool which was nice enough to make us drive to Billabong in town just to buy some swimwear. The changing rooms are also well appointed with showers, toilet and a steam room + sauna. I thought the pool seemed a little cold temperature wise and would be a bit of a shock if you got in immediately from the hot spa. But the area was very tastefully decorated.

I know many here complain about the cost of water taxis and the infrequent free shuttle. Although we had a car, we wanted to take the water taxi just for the experience of the ride via a lake, but our trip was just too short.

There is also a theatre which screens at 3pm and 8:30pm daily. I wanted to just have a look but it was not in use and I could not access it without advance booking.

The only dining I got to try was Stacks which was OK. Lunch for 3 was about $100. An ice cream at the snack shop was $6.50. The prices were not cheap as many have already pointed out, but Queenstown as a whole, is not a cheap place for a holiday, so I did not think it was too bad. The noodle place and Wakatipu Grill was closed during my stay otherwise I would have tried them too. So we drove to town and thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Captians Restaurant serving sensible portions.

Breakfast cost $40 for Continental and only an extra $10 to add a cooked breakfast. We had one $50 cooked option delivered to our room which was more than adequate for the 3 of us to share. The breakfast took a long time to be delivered and no one was answering the phone when we placed the order. When breakfast finally arrived we found out we were snowed in which also prevented some staff getting to work. We could not leave the property until about midday which meant missing our flight from Dunedin that day. The concierge was very helpful helping me to contact AVIS for snow chains which unfortunately was not possible on the Holden SV6 I rented. At the end I gave up trying to make that flight and rescheduled to depart later. We can't think of a better place to be stranded than the Hilton Queenstown.

I selfishly wanted to give this place 1 star so as to improve the probability of me getting a room at short notice when I return the next time, just in case. But decided to give you the 5 star the property and the staff deserved.

Here are some points for improvement that were minor and did little to impact my rating;
- Filters of the Dryer at the Residences needs a good vacuum and clean once in a while, there was fluff everywhere when we used it.
- I went outside in the snow on Level 2 (pictured) but could not get back in and the doors at the bottom (leading to the conference rooms) was also locked. Brrr.... fortunately someone from the pool saw me and let me in.
- Better signage. From the road, I programmed on the GPS, 79 Peninsula Rd and it took me right past the hotel. I recommend another sign about 50 - 100 metres before the entrance.
- From Level 1 of Residences after exiting carpark, there are signs pointing towards the Pool/Gym but if you follow the signs it leads to a deadend. There should be more signs pointing to the link to the main building on Level 2.
- Not too happy about the early check in fee, I arrived at about 12:30pm, (check-in 3pm), this is the first time I had to pay one.
- The TV has a setting to turn on/off without the chime. We could not access this setting. This is useful for someone to turn the TV on/off without possible waking others who are already asleep.

When I returned to work, I saw a copy of the National Business Review on my desk that headlined that the Hilton Queenstown had been sold to the Chinese. I hope this does not impact the resort in the future as I have stayed in some shockingly poor Chinese "5 star" hotels.

Room Tip: All rooms at Residence have a lake view. Next time I must remember to stock up the fridge with drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poopbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Me and partner stayed in one of the Hilton's relaxation rooms. It was one of the best hotel stays we've both experienced. Elegant, cosy and quiet with stunning views over Lake Wakatipu, the room was perfect. The only suggestion I have would be that there is some shelter above the hot tub, as due to the rain and snow, we didn't get the chance to use it, which was a shame. The property itself is located near the airport, a short drive from Queenstown, which we found ideal - away from the potential noise of the town, but accessible enough for the use of amenities. There is also a supermarket handy at the nearby Remarkables shopping centre if needed. Overall a wonderful, relaxing stay, and we would not hesitate to return. Thank you Hilton Queenstown.

Room Tip: The relaxation room for stunning views, and a private hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AM1980_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Relaxing, beautiful location, away from the town centre but still within accessibility. All facilities are fantastic with plenty of options of things to do. Love the Pool, the bath, the king size bed.
Only thing missing is a little kitchenette in our room, enough to make a snack.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at the Hilton in April for a long weekend, and as always it didn't disappoint. Our room was just fabulous, warm, spotlessly clean and very well presented to a high. There was a fantastic view of the lake from the very large balcony.
We have stayed at the Queenstown Hilton several times, and it always delivers, quality, comfort, excellent customer service, which makes for a very relaxing time.
Top marks the Hilton, you did it again! Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angef261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kwarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you set foot inside the Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, you'll discover a place that not only celebrates the world-renowned beauty of this region, but immerses you completely in that beauty. Welcome to a new way to experience Queenstown. Welcome to Hilton. This is an exhilarating setting, and one without compromise. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa faces north, delivering full afternoon sun and showcasing panoramic views over an unspoilt terrain famed the world over. Watch the deep blue hues of the lake shimmer and glisten and savour this most intensely beautiful destination. In the heart of vibrant Kawarau Village and just 15 minutes via lake or land from Queenstown, you'll enjoy effortless access to all the excitement on offer in the region - and the closest accommodation to The Remarkables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing