We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had a beautiful room on the sixth floor great view, the staff was very helpful and friendly, stayed 5 nights - two small things 1: stupidly small bath mat and only one towel each 2: breakfast was the same everyday with no change or variation. Maybe it changed the next day?

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario R, Director of Operations at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Don C,

thank you for your great review.

Your feedback is valuable to us and I have shared this with our Executive Housekeeper and Executive Chef to review current standard.

Kind regards

Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,925 - 1,931 of 2,849 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

Beautiful view by walking trail and on Lake Wakitpu...a few restaurants attached and a few other food options within walking distance. Water taxi into town picks you up right outside hotel....also a. Free hotel shuttle will take you in town...beds were very comfortable. Room service menu was good and staffs as very helpful. Great stay here

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario R, Director of Operations at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Alan B,

thank you for you great review.

Nice to read that enjoyed the village and Queenstown.

Kind regards

Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Hotel is well located and quiet - but you need to hire a car for access to Queenstown and for all tourist activities. Breakfast is OK but could be better but is geared to getting a maximum of hotel guests served quickly and not on the choice , quality and variety of the food offered.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario R, Director of Operation at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Michael J,

thank your for sending your review.

You feedback is valuable to us and will be discussed with the breakfast team to improve on service and food items.

Besides a rental car there is also the option of using the water taxi or the complimentary Hotel Shuttle Bus to get into town.

I hope you have another chance to visit us again.

Kind regards

Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed at the resort for two nights on the "Relax at the Resort" package. This included a 3 course set meal with a bottle of wine in the restaurant, a couples 90 min spa treatment and breakfast each morning with a glass of Champagne. Our room was a "relaxation room" and included a private spa pool out on the deck. What can I say - the resort is superbly positioned on the edge of Lake Wakitipu and the views are stunning! The spa treatment was fantastic, the food and wine excellent and it was awesome sitting in our private spa on the deck with a glass of wine soaking in the views. We hired mountain bikes and took a leisurely ride into Queenstown and back - nice and easy trail around the lake and great fun! We also went on a wine tour in the area which was superb! The only issue we had was confusion around the glass of champagne in the morning on the 1st morning, but apart from that everything was smooth sailing. I would definitely recommend this resort and am looking forward to going again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario R, Director of Operations at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Andrew B,

thank you for a great review.

I hope you have another opportunity to visit us again.

Kind regards

Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Badly laid out. Service was good at times but not consistent. Make sure you have been given a room in the main hotel and not an apartment as it is very frustrating and difficult to navigate. Rooms did not meet expectation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario R, Director of Operations at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Jason D,

thank you for sending your feedback.

Please accept my apologise for the inconsistency in service delivery. Please rest assured I will address this with the team to make improvements accordingly.

One of the unique characteristics of the Hilton are various different room types: Guest Rooms, Relaxation Rooms, Apartments and Suites. This is to cater for all needs, I'm sorry to read that your room did not meet your expectations.

I hope you have another chance to visit us again and experience one of our other room types and the true quality of Hilton Service.

Kind regards

Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

we have just cancelled our reservation. although we have stayed several times before in the residence - this trip we wishes to stay in the main hotel and have access to a bath and more holiday like environment. when I called the hotel to make a reservation for deluxe view interconnecting rooms (we are travelling with two young children) we were told that although we could book the rooms, we might not get them. the lady on the phone then told me that they would try and put the kids in a room as close as possible though. I was made to feel as if I was being unreasonable to ask for a guarantee that interconnecting rooms would be made available for our family.

anyone who has children will know that it is not an option to have young kids in separate rooms, full stop. I cancelled our existing reservation. we will not be staying there again.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank lauradavidgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario R, Director of Operations at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Hello lauradavidgrace,

please accept my sincere apologise for the issues you encountered during the reservation process. Please rest assured your feedback is highly valuable to us and I will discuss your feedback with the team to refocus and improve their customer focus.

If you would like to reconsider your booking please email me mario.rupflin@hilton.com, to discuss your reservation.

Kindest regards

Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Our lakeview room was in the second building back from the lake but still had a good view of the lake and mountains. We were in 512. It was unseasonably cool while we were there and we really enjoyed using the gas fireplace while looking out at the view. Spacious room. The Hilton bed was so very comfortable with many pillow types to choose from. The bathroom was beautiful and spacious, but a bit dark and I usually put on makeup by taking the mirror stand into the living room. Nice rainshower and deep tub.
We ate at Stacks and really liked their specialty pizza and calamari. We also ate in the downstairs restaurant with lakeview for dinner - very good. Breakfast was in this same room and was fine but not memorable.. some issues were cold food on the buffett and had to ask every morning for glasses for the juice and milk self serve area.. and after waiting for them to bring them, they would bring about 8 which then ran out instantly.
There is a walk/jog path the runs in front of the hotel along the lake edge that is wonderful. We walked all the way to the pennisula - about 2 1/2 hours round trip - and saw nice homes, so much variety of plants and trees and views across the lake the whole way. (remember to keep left on the trail - not to the right like we Americans are used to!) Some people even walked into Queenstown. We were here with a company group that rented a shuttle bus just for our group to use and this was VERY helpful, as the hotel shuttle is limited space and you must make reservations for departure and pickup in town. The water taxi is $10 NZD for each person each way - too expensive. If we did not have the shuttle, I would have rented a car.
The concierge helped me set up hang gliding with Coronet Peak Hang Gliding, which I highly recommend. Their reviews online were accurate and I had a wonderful experience even though the winds were a bit light so the ride not that long. Felt very safe. We also flew to Milford Sound and did the 1 1/2 hr boat cruise and flew back and it was so very beautiful. I think I liked the plane ride even more than the cruise itself. We used Air Milford that had a fantastic new Cessna that was very comfortable and gave us breath taking scenes from above - Gorgeous! Highly recommend this company - liked them very much. We also did the Shotover Jet thru the canyons and loved, loved it! So exhilarating! Great fun! For close in hiking, try the Queenstown Hill that begins in town. Not too hard, just a bit exhausting in a few spots, but easy footing and grand view from along the way. Some is thru very thick forrest and some out in the open. Took us about 2 1/2 hours, but we took our lunch and found a flat rock for a picnic and a nap! WIth a view!
Our trip to NZ was wonderful and the people are super friendly and helpful. Only down side is the expense of every excursion, food and drink, gifts, etc. - wow! All else was grand!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario R, Director of Operations at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear ahyden,

it was nice to read how much you enjoyed your stay in Queenstown.

I hope you have another chance to visit us again.

Kind regards

Mario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,494 reviews
2.7 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,222 reviews
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $153 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, the resort boasts famous waterfront and mountain views. Each of the spacious rooms and fully-equipped residence apartments offer a gas fireplace, separate lounge area and private balcony to satisfy any travel needs. Take the complimentary hotel shuttle bus into town, rejuvenate in the opulent onsite spa facility or simply relax by the 25-metre indoor heated pool with steam and sauna rooms. While the five bars and restaurants including the signature Wakatipu Grill provide sought-after dining options in magnificent settings to complete a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing