We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Overall Hilton Queenstown is a very good place to stay! The staff is very nice. The room was fantastic and the fireplace brings such a nice feeling at night time. The view from the room was awesome! The food at the 'grill' restaurant was perfect. The buffet breakfast is one the best I ever had. You can have whatever you want! (You can take away some pastries :D ) However there were few details very unpleasant! We ask room service to bring us champagne glasses (empty). It was delivered very quickly but with lipstick mark on it!! I washed them but it is not what I expect from a luxury hotel. An other detail, directions in the hotel are unclear. Our room was located on the level 7. We went to the lift and there was no 'level 7' button. We have to guess that only one lift is going to the level 7. Moreover those who got level 8 room as to switch lift again. (3 lifts to go to L8 ??). An other disappointment was the pool complex. We went their with bathrobes and slippers... we arrived and kids were running along the pool with sport shoes. Not nice at all. No one from staff can pick up towels? It is everywhere on the floor!
So it's a very good place but could easily be much better!!

Room Tip: Lake view and fireplace ;)
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Beybo

Thank you for a great review.

I was disappointed to read we failed to deliver exceptional service in a few areas. I will be discussing those points with the team to ensure we are focussed on consistent high levels of service. I will also review the signage to level 7 to ensure it is clear.

It was great to read how many aspects of the stay you enjoyed.

Come back and see us again, the winter is stunning with the snow-capped mountains as a back drop.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,767)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,891 - 1,897 of 2,767 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

We traveled by car from Auckland to Queenstown over two weeks and in terms of accommodation, the Hilton Queenstown had a way of raising the quality of our NZ memories in it's entirety.

About 10 days ago we, mum, dad + 3 kids (17, 15, 8) stayed in a 2 bedroom suite on the 3rd floor of the "Hilton Residences" (the others being the Hilton Hotel itself and Kawarau Hotel), with a Lake Wakatipu facing view. Really beautiful, and peaceful. And quiet. We are thankful that the Hilton was running a special package for families - very appreciative - and included wireless internet and breakfast. If you can get this, it's great.

For the most part we went about our business uninterrupted...which is the best way. Whenever we came into contact with hotel staff - in the lobby, the pool, the cleaning staff, and concierge...we found they all had time to chat and were really friendly and helpful.

It's not often I'll write a review this good but I'll go on. I've read it's one of two hotels with swimming pools so this was great plus for us...be better if the large pool was 2 degrees warmer.

The buffet breakfast was great and has everything you need. We've had much better ones in Asia, but this is as good as it gets in Australia/NZ. Keep a lookout for the A4 sign on top of the glass counter which lists additional dishes they'll make for you on the spot - waffles etc. One thing I have never encountered in my travels was that the waitresses saw us wrapping a muffin (for the 8 year old) in a napkin and later came to our table and offered us a large bag in which to place that and other food items. What great service - and saved us $$ feeding the kids for lunch. Much appreciated.

Mostly, we found the Wakatipu staff most friendly....they simply had time for us. At first we were situated near the open fire and when a large somewhat loud crowd came in for drinks we ask and were quickly moved to the quieter section which had better views. Overall it is quiet which is what we prefer. Prices are not unreasonable for this quality of hotel and the food (lamb, steaks - it is a grill) was good and above average. But the atmosphere is great and everything you need is there.

There are ducks for the kids to feed and you can ask the restaurant who are great at supplying bread. My 8 year old spent 30 minutes every morning do this.

We had a car was only about 10 minutes to the city. It's an easy drive with lake views all the way in, minimal traffic lights and no congestion. I'd tend to agree with other TripAdvisor members that transportation is needed - and we didn't checkout what transportation would be otherwise available. Within 5 minutes drive is a small shopping mall so the with a car, the entire area is well serviced. Even better, the airport was 5 minutes away.

I've stayed at may hotels...Shangri-la, Mandarin Oriental and this particular Hilton keeps up with the best without overpricing.

Thank you Hilton for making NZ holiday a great one.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knet491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Knet491

Wow, what a great review.

The team will be over the moon when they read this, thank you.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My family and I recently stayed at the Kawarau Hotel in Queenstown for three nights. We have stayed at a number of hotels and resorts in Queenstown and Arrowtown over the years and this has been our best experience. The indoor pool / spa area is really lovely, food was great, staff went out of their way to help, and the rooms are large and extremely well furnished. It's one of the few hotels in the area that is well set up for families but is able to accommodate them unobtrusively given the size of the hotel and the range of facilities available. Compared to other hotels in this price range, Kawarau seems superior and makes, to our mind, more established hotels seem tired and overpriced.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi_family2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Kiwi_family2014

Great review, thank you.

We are really focusing on delivering great experiences for families and it was great to read how much your family enjoyed the time with us.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a ground floor 2 bed lakeside residence for 6 days. The experience of Lake Wakatipu 15m from the patio door was very special, a truly beautiful setting, if a bit exposed as there is no fence between you and the public lakeside. This was our third stay at Queenstown Hilton, and as always the apt was spotless, staff were professional. James the guest relations manager was very helpful with our Hilton Honors upgrade. A few things to note - car parks reserved for residences were always full (reception blamed Kawarau Hotel guests but offered no solution), and every evening we had to circle around the whole property looking for a space. One night, the concierge vacated his spot for us, which was very helpful. But car parking needs more attention from the hotel management. Also the spaces in the apt were quite cramped, and the furniture layout is not as comfortable as the king rooms we've stayed in previously. But these are minor issues, overall still a great stay and we will be back.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank e c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear e c

Great review, thank you.

We are constantly looking for better parking options during busy periods, but as you can imagine it is very difficult.

Thank you for choosing our hotels to stay in and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had our wedding at the Hilton in Queenstown in January, I have nothing but the upmost praise for all the staff at the Hilton Queenstown. We only had a small wedding of 20 people however they accommodated every need we had and nothing throughout the year of planning was ever a problem. They went above and beyond to make our day special regardless of the amount of people attending. The staff at the restaurant were amazing and the event managers at the Hilton were so attentive, well organised and always replied to e-mails and phone calls. They took the stress out of our wedding!
The location on the lake is beautiful and the photos we had were amazing, the location of the Hilton provides the perfect back drop.
If you are planning an event do not look anywhere else in Queenstown you will not be disappointed, if you have a special request just ask them, they are so accommodating to any need you have.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake_and_Brooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Jake_and_Brooke

I was so pleased to read your feedback. The team are delighted to read such a wonderful review.

It would be great to see some of the photos, it is a remarkable place to be with such amazing views.

Make sure you book for your anniversary

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton for five night’s end of Dec 13 early Jan 14. We are regular visitors to Queenstown and have previously stayed at other properties such as Sofitel, Queenstown Park Boutique & Crowne Plaza. We were very exiting about trying a new hotel in a different location, unfortunately we very disappointed with our stay at the Hilton. The hotel itself is very beautiful and well maintained but the service and management are not 5 stars, the standards in this regard is very low compared to other properties of same level in Queenstown. Due to the reasons listed below, we have concluded there are far superior properties in Queenstown that would offer a better stay that would tick all the boxes for comfort, location, price and service. We would not return or recommend to the Hilton Queenstown for the following reasons:
•We booked a Suite but were given a room that did not match the description on the website, it was very small, balcony (I don’t know if you can call it that) was only big enough to fit 2 small stools, limited views, the bedroom was tiny and sitting area nothing special. I believe this room was of inferior category. After a long discussion with the duty manager, who repeatedly argued it was a suite, she finally agreed to move us to a new room which matched the description of a suite as described on the website. The new room was spacious and had a large terrace with amazing mountain views. Overall we were not happy with the way this situation was handled by the manager and we felt it added a bitter start to our holiday.
•Requested early check-in about 6 month in advance, I know this is subject to availability but we arrived at 11 am and were informed the room was not ready, which was understandable however after we advised them we had been travelling for the past 18 hrs as we were on our way back from the French Polynesia, they told us we had to wait till 4 pm, we then went into town and returned just before 4 pm to find out our room was not ready yet, we were only given a room just before 5 pm. It would have been nice if they can prioritized the room cleaning process to try and accommodate guest who arrive early after a long flight. It is always a nice touch.
•The hotel location is about 15-20 min drive from Queenstown’s city centre. The surroundings are very beautiful and serene; however you need to have a car to get around as the hotel shuttle is almost pointless as it only runs every hour, you have to book in advance and it can ONLY accommodate 11 people which is ridiculous for a hotel of this size. During pick season it’s always booked out, we couldn’t use it the first day as it was booked out the day before we arrived. There is a public bus that stops near the entrance of the hotel; however you have to change buses in Frankton to get to city centre, this is tedious and time-consuming. This bus only runs every hour and doesn’t operate after 8pm, so if you are in the city center and want to take the bus to return to the Hilton, you have to take the bus to Frankton and then a taxi to the hotel. If you don’t want to rent a car and don’t want wait for the bus or shuttle your other option is to take a taxi into town, there is a flat rate of NZ$50 to Queenstown city centre each way. We did this the first day and rented a car for the rest of the trip. Not surprisingly given it was high season and the hotel was fully booked they did not run an additional or larger shuttle to city centre to respond to the demand, we came across a lot of disappointed guest complaining about this.
•The Breakfast buffet had a good food selection (hot and cold) but the service needs a lot of improvement. Every morning our breakfast orders got messed up, either different food was delivered to our table, orders where misplaced and never arrived or took too long to arrive. The staff needs training; some of them can’t speak English well therefore some of the orders are taken incorrectly as they don’t seem to understand. The breakfast service always looked very chaotic and there was not a clear system to serve the guests. We even saw guests clearing tables of dishes from previous guests in order to seat down for breakfast, this should not happen at a 5 star property.
•We had little interaction with the concierge; however we found him to be quite arrogant and not very helpful. One morning on our way out we asked him to make a dinner reservation at a restaurant in town for that evening, he told us it was too early to call the restaurant but suggested that if we were heading into town that morning we could just go into the restaurant and make the reservation ourselves, which we did as he was totally unhelpful. Again not a five star service.
•We went to the Wakatipu grill one night for dinner; we arrived around 9 pm and hadn’t made a reservation. The restaurant was more than 50% empty, despite this fact we were told they were fully booked and were asked to wait at the bar until a table becomes available. After 30 min wait at the bar we were informed they were preparing a table for us, after another 20 min we were finally seated. We noticed the table given had been empty the entire time and asked the restaurant manager why this table was not allocated to us earlier; he didn't have a good answer. We ordered our food but after 25 min and no signs of food, we asked the waitress to check with the kitchen, she told us the kitchen was busy and that our food was coming soon but did not give us an exact timing on this. After waiting for so long we were both fed up and had lost our appetite, so we decided to leave without dinner. Very disappointing!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gia24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Gia24

Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you experienced during you stay with us. The points you raised are unacceptable and will be discussed with the team to ensure we are delivering on guest expectations.

I was pleased to learn that your previous response on TripAdvisor regarding the restaurant confusion has been dealt with by Florian our restaurant manager, who was in fact the manager on duty on the evening and was fully aware of the situation.

Rest assured we will act upon your feedback with a view to improve the services we offer. Thankfully the majority of feedback we receive is excellent and therefore believe the service levels you received are not representative of the service we offer. Having said that your experience, as I said, was unacceptable and shows that at times we have been inconsistent in our delivery.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Great hotel in a good location, A little far from town but perfect if that's what you want. Food was good and service was great. Nice walk along the river with the snow capped mountains all around you. A very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Jason H

Great review, thank you.

You should come back in the winter, amazing snow-capped mountain views and all day sun in the village.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $182 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you set foot inside the Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, you'll discover a place that not only celebrates the world-renowned beauty of this region, but immerses you completely in that beauty. Welcome to a new way to experience Queenstown. Welcome to Hilton. This is an exhilarating setting, and one without compromise. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa faces north, delivering full afternoon sun and showcasing panoramic views over an unspoilt terrain famed the world over. Watch the deep blue hues of the lake shimmer and glisten and savour this most intensely beautiful destination. In the heart of vibrant Kawarau Village and just 15 minutes via lake or land from Queenstown, you'll enjoy effortless access to all the excitement on offer in the region - and the closest accommodation to The Remarkables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing