We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A break Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“A break Away”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

once again a perfect place for a well deserved rest from work please try this hotel out you wont be disappointed. lovely views a peaceful setting with great food from the restaurants , awesome swimming pool and spa I love the decor throughout the building I havent tried the massage and facials yet but will be booking in next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member

Great review.

Make sure you book into the Spa for your next trip, you will not be disappointed.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,560
    670
    254
    119
    62
See reviews for
477
1,510
103
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had a 2 night stay at the Hilton Queenstown. The lake views at this hotel was wonderful! Wifi was fast and worked without any issues. We had breakfast at the Grill and there was plenty of options to satisfy everyone's taste buds. There is free parking but parking spots are limited. It's a quick 5 minutes drive into town if you want to grab something from the supermarket. Customer service was friendly and helpful from all the staff that we encountered. This hotel is not actually in queenstown and is about a 15 minute drive to queenstown city center.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonz92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear jasonz92

Great feedback, thank you.

You should come and try us in the winter, its remarkable

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed in the Hilton Queenstown for 5 nights at the end of a 3 week trip to NZ and felt it provided a lovely place to finish our holiday. After a small issue when the room was not as described on the website (the picture of the 'Studio Apartment' on the website is actually a picture of a 'Lakeview one bedroom studio' and the 'stunning alpine views' were actually an eyeful of the hotel next door), we were promptly moved to a Lakeview Room and the views did not disappoint, truly stunning. We ate in all 3 restaurants and whilst the pub was average, the noodle bar and main restaurant were really lovely with excellent food. The staff were extremely helpful and polite throughout. The location may put some people off, as it is about 8km from the centre of town, however for us it was so peaceful, with such amazing views that the distance was a small price to pay. I would definitely stay here again, but only in a lakeview room.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a lake view, it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tor486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear tor486

Great review, thank you.

I was particularly pleased to read that the team were responsive to the room requirement and that you found them to be helpful.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I've booked a deluxe lake view room via Hilton's website on the 20th dec, paid a discounted pre-payment non refunable rate (which was supposed to be the BEST rate)@ $347.82/nite for 4 nights. Unfortunately, before i check in on the 4th jan, Hilton decided to priced their rooms @ a much lower rate of $294. It's more than $50 lower than the supposed best discounted rate.

I've voiced my displeasure before check-in, and the guest relations manager was nice enough to offer us free breakfast & wifi throughout out our stay. But I would rather save the 200 bucks & eat elsewhere seriously.

We had a room overlooking the lake. But there were some flaws:
1) Faulty lighting in the room.
2) Spider webs on the handrail of the balcony.
3) The next day after we came back fm sight-seeing, we were obviously disappointed with the housekeeping. All the used cups & wine glasses were not being washed. The tea and coffee sachets was not being replaced. 4) And the worst thing was: the toiletries are EXPIRED!

Omg! I'm shocked, and I only noticed this on the 3rd night! We are wondering how much expired stuff we have used!

This is definitely not the usual hilton standard that I'm used to knowing!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear judest

Thank you for sending in your review.

I am sorry that the Housekeeping standards were not up to the standards we all expect when staying with Hilton. I have addressed your points with the team to ensure we are consistent with our delivery and that all products and suitable for guest use.

Our rates are transient and can move dependent on business levels, hence the change in rate you found. I was pleased that we had added breakfast, $39.00 per person per day, and Wi-Fi, $10 per day, to your rate, a good compromise I feel.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed in the Hilton Queenstown Resort Residence for 6 nights in November. It was a quiet time of the year and an excellent time to visit Queenstown. The Residence Apartment was just perfect, with excellent facilities and a great view across the lake. Ate twice at the Grill. First night was excellent with great food and service. Second night was a mixed situation with relatively poor service and a slightly different food serving for the same main course as the first - interesting! The Pub food (ate once) was good and price was right.
The location was not a problem in the slightest, with the shuttle service working well. It is great to be away from the centre of Queenstown and all the noise and generally mixed bag of tourists.
Would very happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanv4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear alanv4

Great review, thank you.

I am sorry that the second dinner in the Wakatipu Grill was not to the same standard as the first. This feedback is important and allows us the opportunity to review our standards and procedures to ensure we are consistent.

Come back and visit in the winter, great views with the snow-capped mountains and the all-day sun in the village.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

One night stay. We had a king deluxe room, expensive, but it was roomy: lounge area downstairs with a gas fire place, small balcony, views to the lake, large bedroom upstairs and huge bathroom. Spotlessly clean. Very quiet. Our room had bathroom between the corridor and the bedroom, and there was also a corridor between our room and the one adjoining on the left, probably cuts down on neighbor noise but I don't think we had any neighbours so can't really say. Parking s available on site complimentary, but it is a bit of walk involving steep hill. Wide selection for buffet breakfast, mostly good but strange textured scramble eggs. It is outside of the town centre: something you will be glad of once you go into the town centre (very busy).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strudelgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Strudelgirl01

Thank you for taking the time to send in a review.

I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and the facilities in your room.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were hesitant to book here as we knew it was 10 minutes from town, and thought that would be challenging. But the residence was very nice.....we booked a two-bedroom 'residence' on the lake with a balcony, kitchen, living room and washer/dryer for a very reasonable price and it worked extremely well for our family of three. Room Service was great and with many grocery stores in Queensland, we were able to easily buy supplies to make our own breakfast every morning. The Pub restaurant was also fine, and the Deli good for coffees/snacks. The schedule of the water taxis and free shuttles into town was such that we found it easy to get to town on a daily basis when we needed to. Given the price and the amenities, I would definitely go back and recommend it. Also had a very nice pool and the view from our room and balcony was wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Lisa K

Thank you for a wonderful review.

I was so pleased to read how much you enjoyed our hotel and thank you for highlighting that the short distance into town is not an issue.

Look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,117 reviews
3.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
4.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you set foot inside the Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, you'll discover a place that not only celebrates the world-renowned beauty of this region, but immerses you completely in that beauty. Welcome to a new way to experience Queenstown. Welcome to Hilton. This is an exhilarating setting, and one without compromise. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa faces north, delivering full afternoon sun and showcasing panoramic views over an unspoilt terrain famed the world over. Watch the deep blue hues of the lake shimmer and glisten and savour this most intensely beautiful destination. In the heart of vibrant Kawarau Village and just 15 minutes via lake or land from Queenstown, you'll enjoy effortless access to all the excitement on offer in the region - and the closest accommodation to The Remarkables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing