We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average rooms, overpriced & expired toiletries.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I've booked a deluxe lake view room via Hilton's website on the 20th dec, paid a discounted pre-payment non refunable rate (which was supposed to be the BEST rate)@ $347.82/nite for 4 nights. Unfortunately, before i check in on the 4th jan, Hilton decided to priced their rooms @ a much lower rate of $294. It's more than $50 lower than the supposed best discounted rate.

I've voiced my displeasure before check-in, and the guest relations manager was nice enough to offer us free breakfast & wifi throughout out our stay. But I would rather save the 200 bucks & eat elsewhere seriously.

We had a room overlooking the lake. But there were some flaws:
1) Faulty lighting in the room.
2) Spider webs on the handrail of the balcony.
3) The next day after we came back fm sight-seeing, we were obviously disappointed with the housekeeping. All the used cups & wine glasses were not being washed. The tea and coffee sachets was not being replaced. 4) And the worst thing was: the toiletries are EXPIRED!

Omg! I'm shocked, and I only noticed this on the 3rd night! We are wondering how much expired stuff we have used!

This is definitely not the usual hilton standard that I'm used to knowing!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear judest

Thank you for sending in your review.

I am sorry that the Housekeeping standards were not up to the standards we all expect when staying with Hilton. I have addressed your points with the team to ensure we are consistent with our delivery and that all products and suitable for guest use.

Our rates are transient and can move dependent on business levels, hence the change in rate you found. I was pleased that we had added breakfast, $39.00 per person per day, and Wi-Fi, $10 per day, to your rate, a good compromise I feel.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,113 - 2,119 of 2,963 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed in the Hilton Queenstown Resort Residence for 6 nights in November. It was a quiet time of the year and an excellent time to visit Queenstown. The Residence Apartment was just perfect, with excellent facilities and a great view across the lake. Ate twice at the Grill. First night was excellent with great food and service. Second night was a mixed situation with relatively poor service and a slightly different food serving for the same main course as the first - interesting! The Pub food (ate once) was good and price was right.
The location was not a problem in the slightest, with the shuttle service working well. It is great to be away from the centre of Queenstown and all the noise and generally mixed bag of tourists.
Would very happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanv4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear alanv4

Great review, thank you.

I am sorry that the second dinner in the Wakatipu Grill was not to the same standard as the first. This feedback is important and allows us the opportunity to review our standards and procedures to ensure we are consistent.

Come back and visit in the winter, great views with the snow-capped mountains and the all-day sun in the village.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

One night stay. We had a king deluxe room, expensive, but it was roomy: lounge area downstairs with a gas fire place, small balcony, views to the lake, large bedroom upstairs and huge bathroom. Spotlessly clean. Very quiet. Our room had bathroom between the corridor and the bedroom, and there was also a corridor between our room and the one adjoining on the left, probably cuts down on neighbor noise but I don't think we had any neighbours so can't really say. Parking s available on site complimentary, but it is a bit of walk involving steep hill. Wide selection for buffet breakfast, mostly good but strange textured scramble eggs. It is outside of the town centre: something you will be glad of once you go into the town centre (very busy).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strudelgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Strudelgirl01

Thank you for taking the time to send in a review.

I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and the facilities in your room.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were hesitant to book here as we knew it was 10 minutes from town, and thought that would be challenging. But the residence was very nice.....we booked a two-bedroom 'residence' on the lake with a balcony, kitchen, living room and washer/dryer for a very reasonable price and it worked extremely well for our family of three. Room Service was great and with many grocery stores in Queensland, we were able to easily buy supplies to make our own breakfast every morning. The Pub restaurant was also fine, and the Deli good for coffees/snacks. The schedule of the water taxis and free shuttles into town was such that we found it easy to get to town on a daily basis when we needed to. Given the price and the amenities, I would definitely go back and recommend it. Also had a very nice pool and the view from our room and balcony was wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Lisa K

Thank you for a wonderful review.

I was so pleased to read how much you enjoyed our hotel and thank you for highlighting that the short distance into town is not an issue.

Look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Had the good fortune to be able to stay at the Hilton Queenstown during the Christmas period. My expectations were of course very high as we paid top dollar for the room by the lake.
My gripes:
1. All waiter staff at breakfast were interns, students and all foreigners. We were served tea in a mug!
2. Used the tea bags and some toiletries in the room and these were not replaced the following day after the room was made up.
3. No wifi in the bedrooms, quite disappointing as most overseas hotels, even cheap ones in Italy, provide free wifi!

Doubt we will ever stay there again especially at the price they charge!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jochebed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Jochebed

I was dissapointed to read your review and am sorry we failed to meet your expectations.

We strive to improve in all areas and take all feedback on board to enable us to achieve consistency and deliver great experiences.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

we loved our stay at Queenstown Hilton, so glad it is not in the heart of queenstown because there were so many tourists and cars and it was frustratingly busy in the town centre. Hilton is located about 15 minutes but easily accessible via water taxi and car. We loved it, we had a lakeside room, the kids fed the ducks every morning and at night we enjoyed the gorgeous pool. The hotel is pristine, clean with a hampton's feel in the rooms. Breakfast was amazing, so fresh and the chef's are constantly making fresh food to order. I would definitely stay again and would not dare stay in the town centre. There were way to many backpackers in the town centre whilst returning to hilton after out travels each day was peaceful and tranquil. i was completely refreshed and am missing the place already!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Pejman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Pejman T

Great review, thank you.

I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed the tranquillity of our village, it truly is a great place to stay.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our third stay at this resort. Each time has been fantastic. The hotel shuttle service to Queenstown has been reinstated and makes the travel mush easier. The overall staff was very friendly. The setting is beatiful and quiet compared to downtown Queenstown. You are also now able to rent bikes at the facility. FANTASTIC trails attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Douglas B

Thank you for a great review and for choosing our hotel to stay at when visiting Queenstown.
We receiving great feedback regarding the shuttle service into town, it makes travel so much easier.

Look forward to welcoming you back again

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.7 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
1,534 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,277 reviews
0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $183 - $625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, the resort boasts famous waterfront and mountain views. Each of the spacious rooms and fully-equipped residence apartments offer a gas fireplace, separate lounge area and private balcony to satisfy any travel needs. Take the complimentary hotel shuttle bus into town, rejuvenate in the opulent onsite spa facility or simply relax by the 25-metre indoor heated pool with steam and sauna rooms. While the five bars and restaurants including the signature Wakatipu Grill provide sought-after dining options in magnificent settings to complete a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing