We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does What It Says On The Tin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Does What It Says On The Tin”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Proper 4* luxury. Staff mostly professional and effective, rooms peaceful and luxurious. Beds ultra-comfortable, bath huge, deck hot tub fabulous (worth it). The valet parking is very quick and great value, the Wakatipu Grill holds its own against the best restaurants of Queenstown, but it is high-end and there is no mid-range option (we didn't try the Stacks Pub). The onsite ski rental is a bit pricey but very convenient. Not skiing for a day ? Leave the skis with the valet and no rental is charged. The location is not as much of an issue as one might expect - the water taxi to town is fast and cheap, as long as you catch it by 6pm and get the return at 9pm. Otherwise you're looking at a 30min bus ride at 11pm or a $50 cab fare. 9pm seems early, but it works well with the opening hours and drive times to the ski fields (Remarkables 30m, Coronet Peak 45m, Cardrona 70m, Treble Cone 120m).

The hotel could do with a big TV in reception showing the day's ski field weather / webcams etc. There is NO pay-per-view movie channel ! The front desk staff are mostly very good.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Blewyncoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Blewyncoch

Thank you for your feedback and your suggestions. It's great to get customers thoughts on how we can improve.

I will discuss some mid range options on the Grill menu, its a shame you didn't get to try Stacks as I think you would of found the type of menu that would suit. Love the TV in the lobby idea. I have the team looking into options and we are finalising the pay per view movie channels that will be in operation soon.

I really appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,499
    650
    243
    114
    59
See reviews for
453
1,453
96
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

A very lovely stay. Excellent views, especially if you stay in the KING LAKE WAKATIPU SUITE. The restaurant also has great views, looks fabulous and is great for a drink. Ask about free internet. It is a short water taxi from the city centre and buses do help you get around. Taxi's are very expensive!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kyliepoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Kyliepoll

Great feedback, thank you. I agree, the Wakatipu Suites are great and the views around the village are amazing.

You should come over in the summer, the weather is perfect and views are even better as the late sun sets over the lake.

Look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our family had three nights in the standard room and very impressed with the whole package. The spa pool ws great after skiing, but the main pool was a little to cool. Will be booking again very soon for next years trip to the snow.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Duns-raes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Duns-raes

Thank you for your feedback. I will check the pool logs as it should maintain the temperature throughout the day.

Look forward to having you back next year

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is my first time visitng Queenstown. It's such a beautiful city. The hotel is very close to the airport, approx. 10 mins drive. And around 15 mins drive to the down town. I love th fireplace at the lobby and the room which creates a very homey feeling.
I can easily sit at the balcony for over an hour by just appreciating the beautiful lake view and the mountian.
Love their breakfast as well, especially their egg benedict and cafe latte . What's better to have a warm nice breakfast in a cold winter.
Will stay in Hilton again if I visit Queenstown next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocococat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Cocococat

Thank you for the nice review regarding your recent visit to Queenstown. Nice to hear you enjoyed your breakfast.

Make sure you come back and see us in the summer, it's a great place, sit in the Pinot Pit and enjoy a glass of Pinot

Kind Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were visiting friends nearby and dined at the Waikatipu Grill. It was fantastic - both food and service. My husband is still talking about his delicious merino lamb!
We returned a few days later for a coffee at The Counter - was very disappointing - they use a generic Italian coffee which is a shame when there is so much good coffee being roasted in the area. The staff were not baristas which is a letdown in such a well known hotel. However hotel looked superb.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AntipodeanFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear AntipodeanFrankie

Thank you for your feedback regarding a recent visit. It was nice to read great comments about the Grill restaurant. I agree the lamb is awesome.

I am sorry the Lake Counter experience was not great, I have discussed with the team to ensure our Baristas are on duty at all times. We are currently reviewing the coffee supplier and will be looking at local suppliers.

Let me know next time you are coming to Queenstown (andrew.nisbet@hilton.com), it would be great to book you into the hotel and have another great experience.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We (2 adults and 2 children) stayed for 5 days as a family ski holiday in the Hilton Residences. Our stay was just outstanding. The staff were pleasant and attentive to every detail (from reception to checkout) to make our stay an enjoyable one. Both my wife and I are gluten intolerant. The breakfast team went out of their way to accommodate our dietary needs. Special thanks to James, Vanessa, Ana and of course the breakfast Chef. Hopefully the Hotel might have a gluten free breakfast bar in future. The Unit we stayed in was beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean. Some microwave utensils would have been helpful. We plan to come back next year - for longer!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Allan C

Wow, great feedback and really nice to read that the team delivered a great experience. Interesting comments regarding the gluten free breakfast. We are currently designing a gluten and Dairy free breakfast buffet.

Look forward to welcoming you back next year, you should try a summer trip, a truly remarkable place with the sun shining on the village all day.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed in a Delux lakeview last week for skiing holiday. Stayed for 7 nights at £358 a night. Great views of the lake and the customer services was faultless. Big balcony. Room smaller than expected but bath and shower were excellent. Fire was nice and cosy but only worked when the A/C was on and heating selected, which meant the room got hot quickly, and thus needed to be turned off. Bed was so soft and comfy and the best part of the stay.

The hotel itself is beatifully designed and sits comfortably in its environment when viewed from the lake. It is just a shame they then went a built the white elephant Kawarau Village above it without bothering to conceal the unenvironmental concrete it's built with, so dumb and a decision that destroys the effort the Hilton Hotel architech went to.

Ordered room service first night (6pm) and not that impressed: they were not prepared to modify the menu even slightly, and were unable to do a basic margarita pizza!!!! The pie ordered was microwaved and poor value and the chips were cold, and we waited over an hour. Wakatipu grill was good for adults but had trouble getting the kids to eat from the poorly designed and frankly boring childrens menu, chips chips and chips. Stakes pub was very good with its warm atmosphere but it did get busy at the weekend and if your not a sports fan (ladies!) this is not the place for you. Grocery store was pointless, by not offering the basics like milk and bread but did offer a wide selection of fizzy drinks and an even larger selection of fine wine! Although the cakes were good the attendant was unable to work the coffee machine and needed help, from another guest.

Liesure facilities were excellent with the lap pool and hot tube a real bonus. Unfortunately, the sauna and steam room needed to be heated up before you could use them and that could take at least 20mins. On a positive note, it never got that busy.

Second biggest issue for us was the location. This hotel is a long way from Queenstown, ski areas and the closest town had only limited facilities, the unpredictable bus service often left us standing in the cold. The water taxi only goes every 2 hours from noon but is a pleasure, if only it was every half hour! And don't bother pressing the 'Magic' button on the in-room phone and ordering a taxi, it won't turn up. I was amazed that an organisation like the Hilton is prepared to place its reputation in the hands of third parties to provide transportation services to guests, particularly considering the distance to town. I do agree with previous reviewers that this is an issue management should not ignore but doubt it will be resolved. We hired a car and would suggest if you plan on getting out and about you do the same.

Biggest issue for us however, and as previously noted by some reviewers, is the charge they place on your card at check in, which equates to the full cost of your stay, and $200 for each night your booked in, which is extortionate and unnecessary. At this price level I found it somewhat disrespectful and untrustworthy.

Overall, we enjoyed our time in Queenstown and the skiing was great, but in retrospect the Hilton did not offer value for money, and it did not differentiate enough to warrant us repeating its selection over other hotels on the lake when we return, which we will certainly be doing.

Best hint: Hire a car.
Best avoid: Room service and waiting for the bus!

Room Tip: Best hint: Hire a car. Best avoid: Room service and waiting for the bus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richtea31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Richtea31

Thank you taking the time to pass on your feedback. I was pleased that you enjoyed the room and facilities within it.

I have raised your points with our Food and Beverage team regarding the Room Service and children’s menu. There is no excuse the poor Room Service and inflexibility with the menu. We have various options available that should of been extended to you. The children’s menu has been designed to try and suit most children’s needs and we introduced the children eat free policy to alleviate the ever increasing cost of dining out. There are options to eat from the menu at a reduced price and I apologise this was not extended to you.

With regards to the location we are looking to introduce a free shuttle service from the hotel into town from October, based on the feedback, and will introduce this scheduled service to ease the frustrations some guests have in getting to town.

We have reviewed the fee held on arrival and have now reduced it to $100 per stay. I understand the issues that has caused and again apologise.

Richtea31 your feedback is invaluable to us and we take all feedback seriously as it helps us improve the services we offer. When you are planning a return to Queenstown please contact me at andrew.nisbet@hilton.com and I will arrange a favourable rate for you.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kwarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you set foot inside the Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, you'll discover a place that not only celebrates the world-renowned beauty of this region, but immerses you completely in that beauty. Welcome to a new way to experience Queenstown. Welcome to Hilton. This is an exhilarating setting, and one without compromise. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa faces north, delivering full afternoon sun and showcasing panoramic views over an unspoilt terrain famed the world over. Watch the deep blue hues of the lake shimmer and glisten and savour this most intensely beautiful destination. In the heart of vibrant Kawarau Village and just 15 minutes via lake or land from Queenstown, you'll enjoy effortless access to all the excitement on offer in the region - and the closest accommodation to The Remarkables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing