We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our family had three nights in the standard room and very impressed with the whole package. The spa pool ws great after skiing, but the main pool was a little to cool. Will be booking again very soon for next years trip to the snow.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Duns-raes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Duns-raes

Thank you for your feedback. I will check the pool logs as it should maintain the temperature throughout the day.

Look forward to having you back next year

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,245 - 2,251 of 2,879 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is my first time visitng Queenstown. It's such a beautiful city. The hotel is very close to the airport, approx. 10 mins drive. And around 15 mins drive to the down town. I love th fireplace at the lobby and the room which creates a very homey feeling.
I can easily sit at the balcony for over an hour by just appreciating the beautiful lake view and the mountian.
Love their breakfast as well, especially their egg benedict and cafe latte . What's better to have a warm nice breakfast in a cold winter.
Will stay in Hilton again if I visit Queenstown next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocococat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Cocococat

Thank you for the nice review regarding your recent visit to Queenstown. Nice to hear you enjoyed your breakfast.

Make sure you come back and see us in the summer, it's a great place, sit in the Pinot Pit and enjoy a glass of Pinot

Kind Regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were visiting friends nearby and dined at the Waikatipu Grill. It was fantastic - both food and service. My husband is still talking about his delicious merino lamb!
We returned a few days later for a coffee at The Counter - was very disappointing - they use a generic Italian coffee which is a shame when there is so much good coffee being roasted in the area. The staff were not baristas which is a letdown in such a well known hotel. However hotel looked superb.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank AntipodeanFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear AntipodeanFrankie

Thank you for your feedback regarding a recent visit. It was nice to read great comments about the Grill restaurant. I agree the lamb is awesome.

I am sorry the Lake Counter experience was not great, I have discussed with the team to ensure our Baristas are on duty at all times. We are currently reviewing the coffee supplier and will be looking at local suppliers.

Let me know next time you are coming to Queenstown (andrew.nisbet@hilton.com), it would be great to book you into the hotel and have another great experience.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We (2 adults and 2 children) stayed for 5 days as a family ski holiday in the Hilton Residences. Our stay was just outstanding. The staff were pleasant and attentive to every detail (from reception to checkout) to make our stay an enjoyable one. Both my wife and I are gluten intolerant. The breakfast team went out of their way to accommodate our dietary needs. Special thanks to James, Vanessa, Ana and of course the breakfast Chef. Hopefully the Hotel might have a gluten free breakfast bar in future. The Unit we stayed in was beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean. Some microwave utensils would have been helpful. We plan to come back next year - for longer!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Allan C

Wow, great feedback and really nice to read that the team delivered a great experience. Interesting comments regarding the gluten free breakfast. We are currently designing a gluten and Dairy free breakfast buffet.

Look forward to welcoming you back next year, you should try a summer trip, a truly remarkable place with the sun shining on the village all day.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed in a Delux lakeview last week for skiing holiday. Stayed for 7 nights at £358 a night. Great views of the lake and the customer services was faultless. Big balcony. Room smaller than expected but bath and shower were excellent. Fire was nice and cosy but only worked when the A/C was on and heating selected, which meant the room got hot quickly, and thus needed to be turned off. Bed was so soft and comfy and the best part of the stay.

The hotel itself is beatifully designed and sits comfortably in its environment when viewed from the lake. It is just a shame they then went a built the white elephant Kawarau Village above it without bothering to conceal the unenvironmental concrete it's built with, so dumb and a decision that destroys the effort the Hilton Hotel architech went to.

Ordered room service first night (6pm) and not that impressed: they were not prepared to modify the menu even slightly, and were unable to do a basic margarita pizza!!!! The pie ordered was microwaved and poor value and the chips were cold, and we waited over an hour. Wakatipu grill was good for adults but had trouble getting the kids to eat from the poorly designed and frankly boring childrens menu, chips chips and chips. Stakes pub was very good with its warm atmosphere but it did get busy at the weekend and if your not a sports fan (ladies!) this is not the place for you. Grocery store was pointless, by not offering the basics like milk and bread but did offer a wide selection of fizzy drinks and an even larger selection of fine wine! Although the cakes were good the attendant was unable to work the coffee machine and needed help, from another guest.

Liesure facilities were excellent with the lap pool and hot tube a real bonus. Unfortunately, the sauna and steam room needed to be heated up before you could use them and that could take at least 20mins. On a positive note, it never got that busy.

Second biggest issue for us was the location. This hotel is a long way from Queenstown, ski areas and the closest town had only limited facilities, the unpredictable bus service often left us standing in the cold. The water taxi only goes every 2 hours from noon but is a pleasure, if only it was every half hour! And don't bother pressing the 'Magic' button on the in-room phone and ordering a taxi, it won't turn up. I was amazed that an organisation like the Hilton is prepared to place its reputation in the hands of third parties to provide transportation services to guests, particularly considering the distance to town. I do agree with previous reviewers that this is an issue management should not ignore but doubt it will be resolved. We hired a car and would suggest if you plan on getting out and about you do the same.

Biggest issue for us however, and as previously noted by some reviewers, is the charge they place on your card at check in, which equates to the full cost of your stay, and $200 for each night your booked in, which is extortionate and unnecessary. At this price level I found it somewhat disrespectful and untrustworthy.

Overall, we enjoyed our time in Queenstown and the skiing was great, but in retrospect the Hilton did not offer value for money, and it did not differentiate enough to warrant us repeating its selection over other hotels on the lake when we return, which we will certainly be doing.

Best hint: Hire a car.
Best avoid: Room service and waiting for the bus!

Room Tip: Best hint: Hire a car. Best avoid: Room service and waiting for the bus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richtea31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Richtea31

Thank you taking the time to pass on your feedback. I was pleased that you enjoyed the room and facilities within it.

I have raised your points with our Food and Beverage team regarding the Room Service and children’s menu. There is no excuse the poor Room Service and inflexibility with the menu. We have various options available that should of been extended to you. The children’s menu has been designed to try and suit most children’s needs and we introduced the children eat free policy to alleviate the ever increasing cost of dining out. There are options to eat from the menu at a reduced price and I apologise this was not extended to you.

With regards to the location we are looking to introduce a free shuttle service from the hotel into town from October, based on the feedback, and will introduce this scheduled service to ease the frustrations some guests have in getting to town.

We have reviewed the fee held on arrival and have now reduced it to $100 per stay. I understand the issues that has caused and again apologise.

Richtea31 your feedback is invaluable to us and we take all feedback seriously as it helps us improve the services we offer. When you are planning a return to Queenstown please contact me at andrew.nisbet@hilton.com and I will arrange a favourable rate for you.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We are Diamond Hilton Honors members and this was our second trip to the Hilton Queenstown for a family ski holiday (2 small children 5 and 8 years old). We stayed in the 2 bedroom residence which was fantastic.

Everything was excellent at the hotel - food, service, spa (amazing massage!), concierge (great ski valet service), cleanliness, and convenience to the skifields.

There are buses to take you to the Remarkables, Coronet Peak and Cadrona and if you are not prepared to drive in snow and ice (like us) then this hotel is a fantastic option (Remarkables is the closest being a 30-40 minute drive). There is also a Brownes ski shop on site for equipment rental.

We ate every night at the hotel. The Wakitipu grill is amazing - the best lamb I had ever had. Stacks Pub for more casual pub food was also great and Mee & Mee noodle bar also impressed. You can also order takeaway from the Pub and Mee & Mee.

We ski everyday so venturing into Queenstown was not a priority for us but if you want to tour the area a car is a must. We had a hire car on the last day and drove to Cromwell, Wanaka and back via the Cardrona range.

Congratulations to all staff at the Queenstown Hilton - we had a great stay !

Room Tip: 2 bedroom residences are great and spacious for families. A little hot at night so would get one on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ninermack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Ninermack

Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing to stay with Hilton. To reach Diamond status is no mean feat and I applaud you on choosing a great brand to do it with.

You should try and have a short summer break, this is a truly remarkable place and such beauty.

Look forward to welcoming g you back soon

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Exactly what you expect from the Hilton chain yoy get at this hotel.

Rooms are very comfortable not hot shower in a cold location. Bars and restaurants very welcoming.

Expensive but it is school holidays and the ski season.

Would come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GriffinFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear GriffinFamily4

Great review, thank you so much.

Please let me know when are planning another trip, andrew.nisbet@hilton.com.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
2.7 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,233 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $170 - $616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, the resort boasts famous waterfront and mountain views. Each of the spacious rooms and fully-equipped residence apartments offer a gas fireplace, separate lounge area and private balcony to satisfy any travel needs. Take the complimentary hotel shuttle bus into town, rejuvenate in the opulent onsite spa facility or simply relax by the 25-metre indoor heated pool with steam and sauna rooms. While the five bars and restaurants including the signature Wakatipu Grill provide sought-after dining options in magnificent settings to complete a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing