We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views, dissappointing service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning views, dissappointing service”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, not in the heart of Queenstown, but an easy water taxi ride to the centre of town. The rooms were quite well appointed and comfortable. The food was ok, but certainly not the best I had ever had. The whole place was seriously let down by the service which was average at best. We arrived about midday and none of the room were ready, there was a lot of us, and I understand that can sometimes be challenging, but there was not really any sense of urgency given or even an expectation as to when they would be available. This left most of us in limbo, not knowing when to return or given any options as to any facilities that may be available, some of us had made a reasonably long journey to get there. On entering the lakeside bar, which had a lovely fireplace and outside lounge area overlooking the lake, the service was again appalling, even though there were three bar staff on the bar, they seemed unable to serve more than one person at a time between them. A tip to them would be employ Irish bar staff, their takings would go through the roof. I was very happy to leave and will not return. It is a shame that what potentially could have been a memorable stay, was marred by staff who didn't seem to care less.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazza33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Bazza33

Thank you for posting your review.

I was disappointed to see you felt the service failed to meet your expectations.
Our check out time is 12 noon, therefore, when rooms have been occupied there needs to be a turnaround time, hence check in is 3pm.
I am pleased you enjoyed the surroundings and views.

Should your travels bring you back to Queenstown, I do hope you have the opportunity to visit us again.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,534
    659
    251
    115
    61
See reviews for
462
1,491
99
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

outstanding rooms and facilities. brilliant location. However when booking always ensure that you book the kawarau hotel and not the deluxe residence suites as these self contained suites have no air conditioning and are unbearable to sleep in. they are also quite tight for space. the hotel offers beautiful spacious air conditioned rooms and we have no hesitation in returning to the hotel in the future

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Chris & Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Chris & Liz

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay.

We have three options for accommodation within the village. The lakeside residences which do not have air conditioning units, the Hilton Hotel and the four star Kawarau Hotel.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
111 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The location is beautiful but it's 15 minutes from town which is a bit inconvenient. The rooms are purely average but exactly what you would expect from "cookie-cutter" Hilton. Don't expect a luxury stay as its not. Fine for a few days. Apparently The Spire is THE place to stay.

(Breakfast was excellent by the way)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalSwagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear GlobalSwagger

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
As we follow Hilton Brand Standards our rooms are of a very high spec. I am sorry you did not agree with this.
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding breakfast.

Should your travels bring you back to New Zealand, I do hope you have the opportunity to visit us again.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here both May 2013 and May 2012. We absolutely love this place, the surroundings, the facilities and the staff. Booked mountain bikes through Qbook this was hassle free and the bikes were delivered to the hotel, and picked up after we had finished with them at no extra charge. The beds at the hotel are fantastic, easily the most comfortable bed we have slept on, it's a shame you can't buy one for home. The only disappointment this time was the Wakatipu Grill wasn't open on Monday night when we went down to dine. Keep up the good work we will be back again next May.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WellyTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear WellyTone

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves again. I am sorry the grill was not open and that you were not informed of this at check-in.

As May is one of our quieter months, we have chosen to close the Wakatipu Grill on Monday and Tuesday nights as a trial.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back next May.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked 3 days here and loved it so much we extended!!
The rooms are amazing! The suites are huge with fantastic fittings! Our suite was on the 2nd floor and still had great views of the lake.
Staff were friendly and happy to help.
Hilton has great facilities however no laundry which could be annoying for longer stays
All in all sensational rooms, facilities and location (even if not in town)!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Browny36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Browny36

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your stay.
I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
216 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Last weekend my partner and I spent a lovely weekend at the Hilton in Queenstown. We discovered on our return journey that the hotel is walking distance (approximate 25 minutes) from the airport.

The hotel seemed quite quiet but I guess that is what this time of year is like. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The porter who brought up our bags also showed us how to work certain electronics (such as the fireplace) in our room.

Our room could not be faulted. Fanastic king size bed which gave us both good night's sleep. The view from our room was of part of the lake and we had a balconey as well to use if the weather improved. The room was very comfortable and featured a luxurious bathroom.

The hotel facilities are first rate. We used the swimming pool, spa and sauna and were very impressed.

It should be noted that this hotel is not walking distance to Queenstown. Transport options into Queenstown are either by bus ($8 return) or watertaxi ($15 return). The water taxi service is not very regular and at its best runs on the hour.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for people wanting to get away for the weekend and want to be away from the hustle and bustle of Queenstown. This hotel is extremely modern and stylish. We both enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Olivia

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you for mentioning our transport options and yes our water taxi operates hourly into the centre of Queenstown.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment overlooking the lake. The room was clean and spacious and the staff was very welcoming and went through extreme lengths to make sure we were pleased with our accomodation. The pool is wonderful and we had a great dinner at the hotel restaurant (per hilton policy the kids eat for free, so that was a nice surprise). We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Matteo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Matteo

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your stay.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and were able to make good use of the pool.
It was great to see you found the kids eat for free policy suited you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay should your travels bring you back to Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
3.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
4.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you set foot inside the Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, you'll discover a place that not only celebrates the world-renowned beauty of this region, but immerses you completely in that beauty. Welcome to a new way to experience Queenstown. Welcome to Hilton. This is an exhilarating setting, and one without compromise. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa faces north, delivering full afternoon sun and showcasing panoramic views over an unspoilt terrain famed the world over. Watch the deep blue hues of the lake shimmer and glisten and savour this most intensely beautiful destination. In the heart of vibrant Kawarau Village and just 15 minutes via lake or land from Queenstown, you'll enjoy effortless access to all the excitement on offer in the region - and the closest accommodation to The Remarkables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing