We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queenstown Hilton disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were were looking forward to a lovely weekend experience but were left disappointed. Firstly we booked into the signature restaurant at 4.00pm for a 7.30 booking. Reception rang back 2 hours later to say 'sorry fully booked'. After saying this was not good enough they let us keep our booking. At dinner all the following items were unavailable from the menu; crayfish, mussels, oysters and lamb rack. Not good enough for a Friday night. (26th May) I accept oysters are sourced based on the weather and supply but the rest of the items is mismanagement. Also the restaurant was half empty all night so definitely not fully booked. We were offered a 15 to 20% discount for the following night if they could get some oysters. Is it 15 or 20%? I expect them to be more specific considering the prices they charge. Also in the Lakeside Cafe they forgot our order. SERVICE MEDIOCRE OVERALL. This is the 2nd time we have stayed here and am not sue if we will be back!

Room Tip: Spa units were lovey with excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Cheryl

Thank you for sharing your comments.

We strive to offer a high standard of service, however, it appears this was not the case during your stay.
I do apologise for the poor service you received regarding your experience in the Wakatipu Grill. This was unacceptable and i have addressed the issue with the management team.
I understand it is important for guests to receive a memorable experience at the hotel and your feedback is most appreciated.

I do hope you will consider returning to experience the quality service I know we can and do provide.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,966)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,423 - 2,429 of 2,966 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

Have just spend $539{nz} at Millbrook Queenstown, after spending 10 minutes on the phone with the Hilton staff trying to make a reservation after explaining 5 times my requirements it became such an impossible task that I finally gave up and rang Millbrook who were more than accommodating . Your loss, won't be bothering again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Lesley

Thank you for posting your review.

I am disappointed to hear that the team at our central reservations ( based in the Philippines ) had such a negative impact on the planning of your stay.

I have taken the liberty of forwarding your comments onto the supervisor who is responsible for overseeing the reservation team that handle the Queenstown property calls. We understand that it is important for guests to receive a memorable experience at the hotel and we were very pleased to receive your feedback.

We are reviewing the possiblity of redirecting calls directly to the hotel. I would be grateful if you could email us directly as I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you regarding this.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We arrived at valet parking to a bit of a shocker (cars everywhere), but this was soon sorted and we waited to be check in (there was a queue here also). We had booked a two bedroom lakeside room, which was in a seperate building to reception (and the pool and resturants etc). The underground carparking is a bit confusing, but we got there in the end. Our room was lovely, gas fireplace was nice. Beds were super comfortable as advertised. One thing that was very annoying was the noise that the water system made when a tap was turned on, you could barely hear yourself think. Apart from this we had a great stay. Was a little annoying to have to walk on a path to another building to go for a swim, but not a major. People staying in the actual hotel would be fine. We had a ground floor apartment, which opened onto the path in front of the lake. We had room service for dinner, which we enjoyed. Was surprised that these apartments don't have airconditioning, for a five star hotel this was disappointing. I wouldn't want to stay in summer.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main hotel if you want to be close to the pool. These rooms also have aircondition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasenzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Jasenzl

I appreciate you taking the time to post your review.
I was pleased to see you enjoyed your stay.

The residences have only been part of our management pool since christmas. It is unfortunate they were not fitted with air conditioning. This is something we may consider at a later date.

I do apologise for the noise you experienced within the water system. I have advised our chief engineer to attend to this.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our stay at the Hilton was truly magical. I was travelling with my husband and 2 daughters (4 and 6). From the moment we pulled up we were all mesmerised. I went in with my daughters to check in and we were greeted by a lovely lady (Josephine I think) and they were given a little gift pack with "magic Hilton bubbles" in it which they got to blow on the way to the room. We were taken over to our room and the girls even got a hug from Josephine when she left. Our room was lovely (2 bedrooms with a peak of a view from the balcony) and the fireplace was great. We dined frequently at the cafe on the steps and both me and my husband had our hair cut at the salon (D'or) there (fabulous service and very cheap compared to Auckland prices). The cafe was not the cheapest for the type of food it served but very nice and affordable compared to a restuarant and relaxed for dining with kids. The water taxi across to Queenstown was awesome and I would definitely recommend it. Super close to the airport and a quick 10 minute drive into town and close to Arrowtown. Staff were all super friendly and helpful. We all loved it! Only slight negative was that our room was directly above the bar and the noise did carry a bit when people headed outside to drink - not enough to disturb any ones sleep but something to think about if you are a particularly light sleeper.

Room Tip: Avoid room above the bar. The lake view would be worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Cat

Thank you for sharing your comments.
I was pleased to see you and your family enjoyed themselves and thank you for the kind comments regarding Josefin. I will be sure to pass these on to her.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed four nights and this Hilton was great. It is an attractive, brilliantly situated hotel, on the edge of the lake (lake Wakatipu), about 7km outside of Queenstown. Bus (with a change), water taxi, or walk or bike round to Queenstown are all possibilities. The views take your breath away – the water, the sky, and the hills that surround it.

This is a modern hotel, well appointed with really helpful staff and well-equipped and comfortable rooms. Some rooms have hot tubs, some balconies, and some have glorious lakeside views. Mine had the latter and was a two-room suite with separate bathroom. The hotel has a smart restaurant; a pub style restaurant and a café selling food you can take out too. The pub serves freshly cooked and made pizzas, burgers, pasta and a range of other foods and wines. There is a gym and a spa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jezzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Jezzr

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your stay at Hilton Queenstown.
I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourself.
Thank you for mentioning the various transport options into town.
I look forward to welcoming you back to stay should your travels bring you back to Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel was an excellent option for our family holiday. Extremely clean rooms and bathrooms with comfortable beds. Gorgeous setting, and good breakfast made it all really great. It is a bit out of the town centre, but if you have your own tranpsort, then this is an excellent option.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Tracey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Tracey

Great to see you enjoyed yourselves and thank you for sharing your feedback.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We checked in at the Hilton and we had a beautiful lake view room. The bath tub overlooked the lake which was pretty cool and the log fire (gas) was a really nice touch. The views from the balcony were stunning, showing the beautiful autumnal colours spectacularly. The Hilton is out of town but it's easy to take a water taxi or a 10 minute drive. There are plenty of eating options at the resort we had a very nice meal in Stacks pub which was a 2 minute walk from our room. Would definitely stay here again when next in Queenstown

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Sharon

Great to see you enjoyed yourselves and thank you for sharing your comments.

I am pleased to see you will stay with us again and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
2.7 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,536 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,283 reviews
0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $180 - $625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, the resort boasts famous waterfront and mountain views. Each of the spacious rooms and fully-equipped residence apartments offer a gas fireplace, separate lounge area and private balcony to satisfy any travel needs. Take the complimentary hotel shuttle bus into town, rejuvenate in the opulent onsite spa facility or simply relax by the 25-metre indoor heated pool with steam and sauna rooms. While the five bars and restaurants including the signature Wakatipu Grill provide sought-after dining options in magnificent settings to complete a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing