We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, great stay but some service and "lakeview" issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great stay but some service and "lakeview" issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

For us this was definitely an excellent place to stay in Queenstown - close enough but across an arm of the lake. The little water taxi you take over to the town is a delight. Don't stay here is you want to be in the middle of it all but do stay here if you want the amenities of Queenstown on your doorstep but also value some peace and quiet. Rooms and bathrooms are very nice indeed.

It is, as others have mentioned, a little difficult to find being in Frankton rather than Queenstown itself so look carefully at the directions on the hotel website if you are driving (it might help if they added a map).

Staff are friendly and helpful. Service most of the time was excellent but there were definite glitches. We had trouble initially getting our room serviced during the morning but after two complaints that was sorted out and we did get free internet (worth having since internet is expensive) and a free bottle of wine to compensate. We got the impression that the hotel was a little understaffed - sometimes we had to wait a long time for a concierge to become available to get our car from the valet parking while on the one morning we ordered breakfast in our room for between 8 and 8.30 it had not come by 9am despite a phone call to chase.

This said the rest of the hotel was so good that it did not spoil our stay and we would definitely stay there again. The reception staff, especially the front office manager, were excellent in helping us and sorting out the problems. We very much liked the restaurant for lunch (once) and dinner (twice) although breakfast was OK rather than great.

One point to watch is the definition of a lakeview room which we had booked. The hotel is in two blocks one directly facing the lake and one behind it. The first room we were shown was on the top floor of the latter building. Yes, you could see the lake from it but most of the view was taken up by the roof of the front building. Since we were staying for several days we went straight back to reception and luckily they were able to change it for a beautiful room with a proper lake view. I do think that the room we were first shown and others like it should have been marketed as a partial lake view rather than a full one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Rowan60

Great to see you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Queenstown.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I was pleased to see you enjoyed the water taxi service. This is very popular with many guests.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay should your travels bring you back to Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,472
    638
    242
    112
    60
See reviews for
439
1,433
93
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Taxi from the airport (20 minute walk away) costs about $50 which is crazy so would recommend a bus. You can walk, but the paths are quite gravelly which makes it a little tricky to wheel your suitcases.

Not located in Queenstown, you have to get a bus or a water taxi but these are good value (water taxi only $15 for a return and it's good fun!) but the view from the hotel is stunning- mountains in the distance and a huge lake in the foreground. The rooms were huge, well equipped and most had a view of some sorts over the lake. Within the Hilton 'village', there is an array of restaurants to suit most tastes.

We stayed here on our last few days in New Zealand and it was a fantastic way to finish the trip. Honestly, it is really difficult to convey how amazing it was. Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Zara

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at the Hilton Queenstown.
I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and happy to recommend staying here.
The taxi fare you were charged is excessive and should be more like $25 from the airport.

We are very fortunate with our stunning views. Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay should your travels bring you back to Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

the hotel located a bit away from the town (15 mins drive), very nice and quiet view next to the lake/river. however the room i assigned was facing infront of the bar and restaurant. i could never go out to the balcony and enjoy the nice view. Hotel room is big and morden. Hotel staffs are basically nice, but not very helpful. direction and suggestion given were not clear and created some confusion. If you renting a car, the GPS system cannot locate the hotel, so have to be patient and find ur way driving to the hotel.

Room Tip: my room's windows and balcony are facing right infront of the bar with eye-level, the curtain ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccaclyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear ccaclyc

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Hilton Queenstown.

For the GPS system you do need to enter our street address of 79 Peninsula Road. I apologise for any inconvenience you experienced with this.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

we found this an excellent choice of hotel to stay in Queenstown, very clean room and bathroom was excellent, the room was a little warm when we arrived but we soon found the air conditioning controls in bathroom and a small adjustment made it perfect. The service was excellent, staff very helpful and friendly, and the concierge and vallet service great. We also used the water taxi service outside the hotel on the waterfront several times to take us into Queenstown, so no worries about drink driving!

Room Tip: we chose lakeview deluxe suite, plenty of room , bedroom and lounge area with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear wendy

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton Queenstown for 2 nights in Feb 2013. The property and the rooms are stunning! The rooms and the property and elegant and updated. It's a great way to end your trip! The views are beautiful. You should know that the hotel is ~2 hour walk, $30 taxi or $15 water taxi ride to the center of Queenstown. The water taxi's which the hotel recommends only come every hour and don't start until 12pm. The restaurants at the hotel are great but service, like most of NZ is poor and scattered.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 484AshleyT484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear 484AshleyT484

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay.
I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and found our property 'stunning'.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed just for one night with a group of us sharing 2x two bedroom apartments. Lovely rooms, experienced great service at the front desk, at breakfast and also at the bar. Gorgeous views from our aparments and fantastic facitilities. The only downfall is that there was no air conditioning in the rooms so made for a hot night!!

Room Tip: There are fans in the wardrobes.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank trac69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear trac69

Great to see you enjoyed your stay. You are correct, unfortunately the apartments do not have air conditioning and we have experienced an unusually long spell of hot weather. However, all other areas of the village are air conditioned.

Thank you for sharing your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kindregards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orford, Oregon
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

If you come here, try to get a relaxation suite by the lake. Private jacuzzi on the deck and large living room with a fireplace and all right next to the lake but with plenty of privacy provided by excellent landscaping. The service was also up to par with a world class hotel and the pricing was reasonable for the quality, perhaps because the location is a little removed from town, but that's a small price to pay for the level of comfort and I have only the highest praise for this hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OrebudJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Paulthempel

It was great to see you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Queenstown.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again should your travels bring you back to Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#12 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kwarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you set foot inside the Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, you'll discover a place that not only celebrates the world-renowned beauty of this region, but immerses you completely in that beauty. Welcome to a new way to experience Queenstown. Welcome to Hilton. This is an exhilarating setting, and one without compromise. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa faces north, delivering full afternoon sun and showcasing panoramic views over an unspoilt terrain famed the world over. Watch the deep blue hues of the lake shimmer and glisten and savour this most intensely beautiful destination. In the heart of vibrant Kawarau Village and just 15 minutes via lake or land from Queenstown, you'll enjoy effortless access to all the excitement on offer in the region - and the closest accommodation to The Remarkables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing