We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We'd booked four nights at the end of our stay in NZ. During our three weeks travelling we'd stayed in some really nice places. No complaints about the room itself which was very nice but on the third day we couldn't get into our room as the 'key' was blocked. A trip to reception put that right but our room hadn't been made up. On our return that evening the key had been blocked again. Breakfast was a nightmare. Too many people for the number of tables and the number of staff working. In the end we shared a table for two with two other people who couldn't find anywhere to sit. The hot breakfast wasn't hot. After gently complaining we were given free internet for the rest of our stay. The internet costs are very high when you consider that most places are free or have a nominal charge. To be fair there is a business suite which wasn't very busy and we were told that the hotel was reviewing the charges.
The location is very nice but we'd stayed at places with much nicer views. It was disappointing really and we wouldn't book it again or recommend it.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank cyd242424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear cyd242424

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to hear you were dissappointed and experienced some inconveniences with your keys. We have new brand keys we are introducing as many of the current keys when placed near mobile phones do lose their settings.

I do apologise for your less than enjoyable experience during breakfast. It is something we are aware of. Our hotel has been operating at full occupancy for the past month or so and being a leisure resort, the timing of breakfast is not easy to estimate. We are reviewing options to operate more efficiently in this area.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you stay again should your travels bring you back to Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,925)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,466 - 2,472 of 2,925 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

What a beautiful hotel, our room was gorgeous, spacious,clean,modern,relaxing. Everything you could ask for, the hotel did not disappoint in anyway. We stayed on their busiest weekend to date, and the staff could not have been more on the ball or friendly, everything was taken care of straight away. Special mention to James (leeds)at breakfast and Graeme (vancouver) in the cosy internal bar. Both were so lovely and beyond helpful and efficient , thank you so much. Will highly recommend in the future to our friends

Room Tip: Remember to treat the hard working staff nicely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Sally

Thank you for your positive review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at HIlton Queenstown.

Thank you for mentioning James and Graeme. They are two of our key team members and I will be sure to share your comments with them.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay next time you are visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The location is great, while it is out of town, the water taxi makes it easy to get into town. The rooms are extremely nice, bathrooms are fantastic. There is a great walk either up or downstream that is very beautiful. Internet is very expensive, so try and get this included in your room rate. Great selection of foods at breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danjonelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear danjonelson

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves. We do offer complimentary internet in the HIlton Business Centre.
We are very lucky with our location including the great walking tracks around the lake.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

When you arrive at the hotel, if you can find it, you will be very impressed with the high quality interiors and the views. After you check in they escort you to the room out of necessity because the layout is a nightmare with us needing two different elevators to reach our room on the 2nd floor? The rooms are amazing with beautiful views of the lake and mountains and beds that are very comfortable. The location is either perfect for you or very inconveinent depending on what you are planning to do. Queenstown can be very busy and this hotel is quiet and quite secluded compared to other properties so we enjoyed this as we were travelling as a young family. Generally there were a lot of business travelers staying here. This property would really shine in the ski season and the cooler shoulder seasons as the interiors seem very dark in contrast to the bright queesntown summer days. The pool is also indoor but has amazing steam and sauna rooms.

Staffing issues look to be a problem, housekeeping only refreshed our room once to our satisfaction, the other nights it was not done to Hilton standard. The "Magic" service doesnt seem too magical, it took me going to the front desk both times I called this service as my request was never fulfilled. There is a very nice Deli/grocery which was a bright spot for us. If the hotel didn't have this addition I would have rated my stay a 3, however because of its nice selection and reasonable prices we enjoyed many lattes and breakfasts there. We felt sorry for the girl working there because she was often by herself and it was quite busy, and you could tell she was a little fed up but we were always served with a smile. Another very good restaurant on sight is Mee Mees noodle bar, very good and reasonable. The Stacks Pub was below average for food but nice spot for a drink.

Overall real nice property, more upscale and business like than we had thought and quite expensive if you want the view, but would stay here again if I got a deal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aeroplanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear aeropanman

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your stay.

I appreciate your remark about the layout. The village is very large with two hotels and apartments. Like any new building it takes time to find your way around.

I do apologise the magic phone line let you down. This has been an issue and we are reviewing the coverage of this.

Thank you again and I do hope you have the opportunity to visit us again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We loved this hotel. The location was majestic--on the shores of the lake. Our King room with a small balcony and partial lake view had the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The room was spacious, well-soundproofed, with a beautiful bathroom. The food at the restaurant by the lake was delicious, though a bit pricey. Everything is a la carte, so the cost adds up. We had breakfast and some times lunch in the little cafe "The lake counter", which had everything we wanted. The indoor pool area was lovely, with a good lap pool and jacuzzi. We enjoyed walking on the various trails around the lake.
We took the bus or water taxi into town, though we preferred the quiet of the Hilton area for walking and relaxing. We found Queenstown noisy, crowded, and unappealing, though we did love the flight to Milford Sound with cruise through the fjords. Expensive but well worth it.

The only negative about this lovely Hilton was getting reception to answer the phone when we needed to reach them to order a taxi or get ice sent to the room. The phone system did not work once for us, and we ended up going to the lobby to ask in person if we needed anything. That said, service was always friendly and prompt.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anon03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear anon03

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and found the Lake Counter a suitable outlet to dine at.

We are fortunate with our location, lovely views and all day sun. I understand your frustration with the phone lines. I have discussed this with our Front Office Manager who will ensure her rosters are adjusted to cover the phones lines continuously.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again next time you are visiting New Zealand.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

After a lot of poor accomodation throughout our trip, I was really looking forward to the Hilton Queenstown, unfortunately it was a let down before we even arrived.

Location is ridiculous if your planning a nice night out, especially if you want to come home past 11 as your only option is an expensive taxi. Hilton does not offer a complimentary shuttle bus, as one might expect for the price you pay, but rather has a public bus you can catch out the front, or a water taxi that is only operational at select times. There are hardly any food options available near the hotel, except a few restaurants that Hilton run, so you have to drive each time you want a bite to eat.

Service was below average, and staff looked over us as we are young. The rooms are fantastic and have the best bed in the world, but I would recommend staying at a better location, especially if you like to do things.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Ella P

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay at Hilton Queenstown. I am sorry you did not enjoy yourselves.

We do advise on our website we are not in the centre of Queenstown and for this reason guests are happy to stay on this side of the lake.
We have five food and beverage outlets within the village and I am sorry you did not find these to your liking.

I do hope you have the opportunity to visit us again sometime.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed in the Lakeside Residences at the Hilton for two weeks. Our room was spacious and very clean.Fridge/freezer, dishwasher,hob/oven, microwave, washer, drier,lots of crockery. We had an amazing view of Lake Wakatipu. The sun shone on the balcony from early morning until late at night. All the staff were extremley friendly and helpful. We would like to say a special thank you to Donna also James in the restaurant,who helped to make our stay a special and memorable one. We especially enjoyed breakfast in the restaurant. Lots of food choices and excellent service. Always very busy no matter what time you go. We had a wonderful time. Would love to visit Queenstown again and stay at the Hilton.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabrielle64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Gabrielle64

Thank you for your positive review. I am very pleased you enjoyed yourselves.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding Donna and James. I will be sure to share these with them.

It was great to see you enjoyed the selection and service during breakfast.
Thank you again and I do hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay again when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.7 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,516 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $169 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, the resort boasts famous waterfront and mountain views. Each of the spacious rooms and fully-equipped residence apartments offer a gas fireplace, separate lounge area and private balcony to satisfy any travel needs. Take the complimentary hotel shuttle bus into town, rejuvenate in the opulent onsite spa facility or simply relax by the 25-metre indoor heated pool with steam and sauna rooms. While the five bars and restaurants including the signature Wakatipu Grill provide sought-after dining options in magnificent settings to complete a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing