We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay in new lake view rooms in summer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed over the summer school hols in a 2 bed lake view room. When we arrived we looked for the air con control and couldn't find it-we thought we would look again when we got in from our day in Queenstown. They don't have air conditioning and trying to get to sleep was impossible as the sun drenches these rooms from mid day. There is a small card in the room that says they don't have air con. What's he point in that-should have told us when we booked . Never again -in summer that is.

Room Tip: These rooms are drenched in sun all day and are unbearably hot at night. Check with Hilton before yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrystalMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear KrystalMC

You are correct the residences do not have airconditioning . Guests are advised of this when making a reservation and again when checking in. I do apologise if you were not informed of this.
Generally air conditioning is not required in this part of the country, however, we have been experiencing an unusually hot spell of weather.

Thank you for sharing your feedback and I do hope you will visit us again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,458 - 2,464 of 2,877 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at both properties run by Hilton and loved them both. The kitchen facilities in the room and other amenities at the Kawerau were first rate. We particularly enjoyed the theatre which we were able to book, it is such a great idea.

We were also lucky enough to enjoy a night at the Hilton property across the road and it was fantastic. The rooms are beautifully appointed and I am definetly going to buy one of the beds, it was bliss! The bathroom was a delight and the way the rooms are offset from the corridors allows for peaceful rest, just loved it! The staff were extremely helpful, the pool and spa area were beautiful and the restaurant had a fantastic outlook over the lake. We will absolutely be back and we recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwirascals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear kiwirascals

Thank you for your positive review and I am pleased you enjoyed yourselves.
It was great you were able to experience both hotels and many of the facilities within the village.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Hilton Queenstown is a new hotel located on the beautiful lake and near the airport. Don't let the airport location discourage you from staying here though, just use it as a point of reference. The rooms are new, clean and really nice. We had an upgraded room overlooking the lake with a fireplace. It was just perfect. There is a small grocery store and several places to eat on the property. They are pet friendly and cater to all the activities Queenstown has to offer. The concierge assisted us in planning a Milford Sound adventure, all we did was show up. They were fantastic!
One thing we were unaware of when we booked here was its exact location. The hotel is pretty far from the town center. If you want to be a part of the action in town or take part in a pub crawl, be prepared to pay for the cab fare. They do provide a water taxi (I think it was $5 per person) it does run on a schedule and the last pick up was 10 or 10:30pm. The hotel itself is awesome. We highly recommend staying here and plan to go back for a winter visit soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supabeanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear supabeanz

Great to see you enjoyed yourselves and were able to experience many of our facilities within the village.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay next time you are in Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a nice Hilton but it is a good 25 minute drive from town and a $50NZ taxi ride. You can take the water taxi for a lot less but it has a limited schedule. This limits eating out options without some good planning and/or extra cash. The services as ok. The intentions where good but seemed as if they were not fully trained to a deliver the level of service expected at a high quality hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathylynneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear KathylynneS

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.

Thank you for mentioning the water taxi and there is also a regular bus service operating from the village into the centre of Queenstown.

I do hope you have the opportunity to visit us again next time you are in Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed in Queenstown for 2 nights and Hilton was perfect. The room was spacious and gorgeous. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a car so getting into the town was not a problem at all. Overall our stay was extremely enjoyable and will definitely go with this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myhumbleplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Myhumbleplanet

Great to see you will come back and stay again.

Thank you for sharing your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Hilton Queenstown and we had a fantastic stay. The check in went very smooth and the front desk staff even escorted us to our room so we did not get lost and they gave us a mini tour of the hotel on our way to the room which was a great way to get acquainted with the hotel. The room was spacious and the bathroom was very nice. The view was the room over looked lake Wakatipu which was awesome. Great to wake up to every morning. The black out curtains also worked brilliantly (almost too good we slept in a lot) The rooms were serviced fantastically everyday.

The breakfast was delicious and the omelette chef (Tom I think) made the best omelettes in the morning. The meals in Stacks pub are huge and taste great---- the ribs are to die for. The hotel is about 20 minute drive from Queenstown but they do have a handy water taxi service that runs every hour and it only takes 10 minutes to get there. You can also catch the bus but that takes about 20 mins.

Nathan in Concierge (Chief Concierge) also did a fantastic job in both locating my lost luggage and also booked a table for 4 people at the Botswana Butchery in Queenstown and he got us a private room. The whole concierge team did a fantastic job.

Room Tip: Book a lake view room. Its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suede16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear suede16

Great to see you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Queenstown and thank you for sharing your comments.
Thank you also for your kind remarks regarding Tom and Nathan, they will be happy to know they helped make your stay more enjoyable.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in a delux king room and found it to be of great value. Big king bed with a gas fire in the room. The bath room is huge with his and her sinks and a big bath tub. We stayed for 2 nights and found the bed to be the most comfortable bed ever. I do travel around a little bit and their bed is up there as the best. The room was comfortable and very quiet. Few minor things when we first walked in to the room, there was a dead bee on our bed and the blinds in the bathroom could do with a good dusting. But apart from that we had the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. Had lunch at the Wakatipu Grill and would highly recommend. Also appreciated the late check-out. We will be back

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKK2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear BKK2525

Nice to hear you will be back and thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay.

I have advised our executive housekeeper to ensure her team are delivering the high standard of service consistently.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
2.7 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,232 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $170 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, the resort boasts famous waterfront and mountain views. Each of the spacious rooms and fully-equipped residence apartments offer a gas fireplace, separate lounge area and private balcony to satisfy any travel needs. Take the complimentary hotel shuttle bus into town, rejuvenate in the opulent onsite spa facility or simply relax by the 25-metre indoor heated pool with steam and sauna rooms. While the five bars and restaurants including the signature Wakatipu Grill provide sought-after dining options in magnificent settings to complete a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing