We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views. Too hot, no sleep!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful views. Too hot, no sleep!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom delux lake view with our 2 boys 4-8Jan. Really nice rooms, great views etc. BUT, we didn't know that these rooms don't have air con! I can't remember the last place we stayed in that didn't. If we had known we wouldn't have booked it. We were able to get two fans but unfortunately they made little or no difference and we and our two kids had 4 horrible nights trying to sleep, and were then tired and grumpy. Did they not know it can get hot in summer! Nice hotel though. Would absolutely avoid these rooms during summer months.

Room Tip: Confirm your room has air con if staying in summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Paul

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.

I do apologise you were not comfortable during this time. The residences you stayed in have not been used before, so all guests were informed there was no air conditioning.
This chirstmas we did experience a short unusually hot period of weather with very little air flow.
This is not typical for this area so generally air conditioning is not an issue.

I do hope you have the opportunity to return again one day and experience a more pleasureable time.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,441
    627
    239
    108
    56
See reviews for
422
1,410
89
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at Hilton 17th Dec - 21 Dec in a King Hilton Deluxe Lakeview Room. Although a bit pricey, we very much enjoyed the beautiful lake views; each day a different view to wake up to. The staff was very friendly and helpful. One night we dined at the Whakatipu Grill. Food was fabulous and we had excellent service.

We also did quite a bit or running and walking along the lake on Kelvin Peninsula and Queenstown track.Great if you enjoy biking, running or walking.

If you want isolation, this is a best place to be.

For dining, the options are to go to the city or dine at the local cafes/pub or the restaurant.

We didn't have a rental car, but was quite happy to walk, bus or water taxi as we had seen most of other Queenstown attractions previously. We caught the Connecta bus and went to the city couple of times. The bus stops in front of Hilton. You need to get off in Frankton bus interchange and get onto a bus that says Queenstown - route 11.

One thing to watch out for is on your return trip, the last bus that leaves Frankton to Kelvin Heights is at 8.26pm. That means you should have caught an earlier bus from Queenstown city to Frankton bus interchange. We missed the 8.26pm bus one day and had to catch a water taxi to get back to Hilton.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are recommended if you plan to be in the hotel during the day as you can enjoy the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poundingfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear poundingfeet

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.
I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and were able to make good use of the many facilities.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hi,

I am a Hilton Honors Gold member so I have stayed at various Hilton properties. This was definitely one of the best. It is set in a very beautiful setting and the staff is very nice. The room had everything you expect from a Hilton. The only reason I don't give it a 5 is because the breakfast was a bit below the usual standard of Hilton. For example, there was no made to order omelette station. Not that big of a deal in an overall sense, but just the reason why it didnt get a 5 whereas Hilton Bora Bora got a 5 :).

Thanks a lot for a great time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sakeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Sakeb

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at HIlton Queenstown.
I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourself and sorry to hear you thought the breakfast was not quite up to your standard.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUNEDIN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked last minute and were very impressed with our whole stay. We stayed in a standard room which had a small deck and a partial lake view. The room was huge as was the bed (and extremely comfortable). The staff were lovely when we checked in (even at a very late hour) and at breakfast, even though we were late arriving and it was busy, the staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful.
I liked the fact that the hotel is a little out of town - it made for a very quiet relaxing stay.

We're already planning our next stay - loved it !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ditzydoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear ditzydoris

I appreciate your very positive review following your stay at Hilton Queenstown.

I was very pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves. Its great you are planning your next visit and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Had a feeling of being understaffed. Breakfast was too busy. Lots of food unavailable. Chef was run-off his feet. Took far too long to receive an omelette that was overcooked. For a 5-star, this seemed well below par.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxamillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Maxamillian

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay.

As the village was full over the festive break, it does indeed create a busy atmosphere.

I do hope you have the opportunity to visit us again sometime when it is a little quieter.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

As one walks around this complex it will sadden you to see uncompleted buildings or specifically leaking rock walls where buildings should be. The service was somewhat upsetting too - there was not enough staff to cater for the amount of guests. The staff seemed frazzled and somewhat moody (especially during breakfast)... You can butter them up (excuse the pun) and find a smile though - if you ask them to have a seat beside you and take a few decent looonnng, slooowww breaths.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christi_Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Kristy-Ann

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.

I understand your comments regarding the empty section next door. This belongs to another developer so unfortunately is out of our control. However, once this is developed, the overall look will be a huge improvement.

I do apologise you found some of the service upsetting. I understand how important it is that our guests receive a memorable experience during their stay so your feedback is most appreciated.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I spent 8 days at the Hilton Queenstown. It's situated a little out of town, which suited me just fine. Downtown during the holiday season is very hectic. There is a water taxi into town, which is quick and efficient.The resort has fabulous views of the lake, and surrounding mountains. The set up is a bit different with almost a village atmosphere. There are 3 dining options, and plenty of nice places for a beverage. The rooms are large, with a small living area.
Nathan the and the concierge team were fantastic. very helpful and knowledgeable.
I booked well in advance and the price was especially good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteBentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Pete

Great to see you enjoyed yourselves during your stay at Hilton Queenstown.

Thank you for your positive review and I look forward to your return sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kwarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you set foot inside the Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, you'll discover a place that not only celebrates the world-renowned beauty of this region, but immerses you completely in that beauty. Welcome to a new way to experience Queenstown. Welcome to Hilton. This is an exhilarating setting, and one without compromise. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa faces north, delivering full afternoon sun and showcasing panoramic views over an unspoilt terrain famed the world over. Watch the deep blue hues of the lake shimmer and glisten and savour this most intensely beautiful destination. In the heart of vibrant Kawarau Village and just 15 minutes via lake or land from Queenstown, you'll enjoy effortless access to all the excitement on offer in the region - and the closest accommodation to The Remarkables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Hilton EMEA, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing