We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky, and a great choice for our 30th Wedding Anniversary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
687 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Quirky, and a great choice for our 30th Wedding Anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

As new arrivals we were met by the knowing smiles of other more established guests as they followed map guides to the hotel facilities, having said that, we found this a great place for our anniversary. The staff were great, the selection of restaurants was better than we expected, and the quantity and quality of the food meant that we didn't need to look elsewhere for dining facilities. We found that as well as a wonderful view over the lake the addition of a small gas fire in our room helped a lot with the ambience when we closed the curtains in the evening. We walked into Queenstown along the lake edge and returned by water taxi and did have a rental car for longer trips around the district, and we'd certainly go back for another holiday.

Room Tip: Finding your way around can be like a bit of a mental gym to start but you soon get passed that and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narziss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Narziss

Congratulations on your Pearl wedding anniversary.
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.
I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and found our outlets within the village exceeded your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate many more anniversaries.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,443
    627
    239
    108
    56
See reviews for
423
1,411
89
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent rooms with very comfortable kingsize bed, but odd layout and you'd need a car because of distance from the 'action'. Didn't see into other-standard rooms so can only comment on the 'deluxe' room I was in. Breakfast selection fairly ordinary for such a high standard hotel but may have been targeted at our delegates demographic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Neill

I appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience following your recent stay at the Hilton Queenstown.
Our reviews regarding the breakfast selection are generally positive so I am sorry you did not feel the same way.
I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton in Queenstown, New Zealand. On our arrival we were upgraded to a suite and the rooms were decorated well and very comfortable. Our patio faced north and we enjoyed sun all day long. The water taxi ran most of the day and it was a 10 minute ride to the heart of Queenstown. We would stay at this Hilton on our next visit.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbutlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear tbutlee

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at the HIlton Queenstown.
I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and I appreciate you mentioning the water taxi service.
We are fortunate to have a great location on this side of the lake and enjoy all day sun.
I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again in the near future should your travels bring you back to Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
336 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

An excellent 3-day stay in this beautiful property. Everything was comfortable and first class in all respects. Convenient location on the shore of the lake - beautiful shoreline trail for miles and miles and a very convenient boat dock in front where one simply boards a water taxi to and from the harbour front in downtown Queenstown - Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmclendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear jimmclendon

It was great to see you enjoyed yourself during your stay with us and thank you for sharing your comments.

We do have a great location for views and walking tracks.
I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with every facility,beautiful views & close to the airport.The only drawback is that its a $50 taxi ride into town,or cheaper by water taxi.However,if you have a car (we rented one) you will find the location brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GippyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Paul G

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at the Hilton Queenstown.

I am pleased you enjoyed yourself. I appreciate your comment regarding to taxi fares and would like to add along with the water taxi, we have a regular bus service at $8 return makes a very affordable option.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auck NZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Loved our stay at the Hilton, it was the last 3 days of our honeymoon, and it was nice to sit in the spa outside our room (We had the relaxation room). The only dissapointment was the spa which was facing the wrong way, towards our room, rather than looking out at the beautiful lake. Also everytime we walked past the Cru bar it was closed, so wasn't tempted to go for a drink. We had room service 2 nights, pizza and chips, was very good! and only cost $35

All in all we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashalada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear ashalada

Congratulations. I am pleased you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us and thank you for sharing your feedback.

I appreciate it is dissappointing to find our Cru Bar closed. October is a quieter month and as we have 5 other outlets open, we chose to close Cru during this month. I am happy to advise Cru Bar has reopened from yesterday.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed your room service.
Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I hesitated about booking this hotel when i discovered it was on the opposite side of the lake to Queenstown, particularly as we usually stay in the heart of any town to soak up the atmosphere. However, my wife convinced me that the facilities (gym & pool) plus on-site eateries would mean that we would be adequately catered for.

After flying in from Wellington we quickly decided to hire a car (Go Rentals near the airport) for our 3-day stay as there was so much to see. That also meant that we could gain easy access to Queenstown as required.

The hotel lived up to our expectations - fantastic setting on the edge of Lake Wakatipu, with water taxi's to QTown if required. A great walk along the lake side takes you to Kelvin Heights passing many $M properties - very envious of the owners!

We ate in Staks bar at lunch and an evening meal, enjoying the huge home baked pizza. We also ate an evening meal at Mee's noodle restaurant which again was very tasty. Breakfast was great although the pricing was slightly confusing with $25 for cooked breakfast or $35 if you also wanted cereals.

We used the gym which was always empty as was the pool. If I had packed a bathing costume I would have used that too. The standard of these facilities was excellent.

I note that mention has previously been made about the lack of WiFi internet and I agree it is expected these days, so that was dissapointing. However, the hotel does allow the use of its PC's in the business centre.

Places to visit - a trip to nearby Arrowtown on the outskirts of Frankton and Wanaka is a must over the mountain range which had a little snow during our visit. We also drove to Glenorchy but not a place for the shopper or foodie, however we were told that Lord of the Rings film scenes were filmed locally, but one mountain looks very similar to another!

We had the best coffee we tasted in NZ at Hamills in the Frankton shopping centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Tony T

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay at Hilton Queenstown.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and were able to make use of our many facilities within the village.

I look foward to welcoming you back to stay again should your travels bring you back to Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#15 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kwarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you set foot inside the Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, you'll discover a place that not only celebrates the world-renowned beauty of this region, but immerses you completely in that beauty. Welcome to a new way to experience Queenstown. Welcome to Hilton. This is an exhilarating setting, and one without compromise. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa faces north, delivering full afternoon sun and showcasing panoramic views over an unspoilt terrain famed the world over. Watch the deep blue hues of the lake shimmer and glisten and savour this most intensely beautiful destination. In the heart of vibrant Kawarau Village and just 15 minutes via lake or land from Queenstown, you'll enjoy effortless access to all the excitement on offer in the region - and the closest accommodation to The Remarkables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing