We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and comfortable, but where are all the people?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Elegant and comfortable, but where are all the people?”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The Hilton Hotel Queenstown, was an excellent choice for a two night getaway for two. Our standard room was elegant, quiet and warm. The winter sun hits the Hilton side of the lake, leaving Queenstown on the other side in shadow; allowing for warm pleasant mornings by the lake. The staff at the hotel were curtious and helpful which made our stay enjoyable.

This hotel has a great deal of potential. However, Kawarau village and the Hilton Hotel seemed empty and deserted the week we were there. We understood that ski season had not yet started, but it was the school holidays, and the closed restaurants and stores meant that we were on the bus first thing in the morning to spend time in Queenstown town where there was some form of human life and energy. We felt sorry for the ladies working in the cafe/ bakery at the hotel; our coffee took 20 min. to get to us and we guessed that they were either new, had no training or the cafe was understaffed.

I am not sure if we'd return, however, we did enjoy our stay. Maybe in several years time, when they have gotten over some of their growing pains, this hotel will the vibrant and special place it was envisioned to be.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samhobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear Samhobbit

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at the Hilton Queenstown.

I am sorry you struck a quiet couple of days. This week we are fully booked and the village is very busy.

I do hope you will come back and stay sometime to enjoy the true atmosphere within the busy village.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,533
    658
    251
    115
    61
See reviews for
462
1,489
99
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elanora, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The staff at the Hilton are amazing, The rooms have everything that you need a deep bath, a gas fire and view of the mountains and lake. A short water taxi takes you right into the heart of Queenstown. It is truly a wonderful place to kick back and relax. Also it is literally 5 mins from the airport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxtail48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Foxtail48

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased you found everything to your liking.

It is a great place to relax and we are very lucky with our suberb location looking out over Lake Wakatipu in the all day sunshine.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay next time you are in Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outer Brisbane
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

WE stayed and had an amazing time here for 2 nights at the end of a hiking holiday. It was the perfect end to our trip. The room was beautiful, the service top notch and the facilities wonderful. The only downside would be the distance from town and the cost of the water taxi but we were more than happy to stay put and enjoy the surrounds after a busy week.

Id definitely stay here again - weve recommended it to many.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear louie56

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.

The water taxi is very reasonable compared to a vehicle taxi. The local bus timetable offers a great service -1/2 hourly return trip to and from the village for $8.
Thank you for recommending us to many people and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay the next time you are visitng New Zealand.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel is brand new and breath taking. We received outstanding service,it was the perfect location for our trip to the remarkables ski slope, and the village was self contained with a variety of restaurants.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kyishia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Kyishia L

Thank you for placing your feedback following your stay at Hilton Queenstown.

It is a great location especially if you are using the remarkables ski field.
Thank you for mentioning the outstanding service you received. I look forward to welcoming you back to stay when you are next in Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Well done Hilton, a great property and well run. We stayed 8 nights, with 2 interconnecting rooms for us and our 2 kids. There were issues with the alloctaed rooms on arrrival, however the staff (Caitlin) were professional and sorted it out to our satisfcation so we moved on from the problem.

The location is out of Queenstown however that was perfect for us. Our kids loved the boat ferrry in and out of town each night for dinner, even though it was a little cold. The pub was great with good atmosphere (staff a surly and uninterested), the fine diner was awesome, our best meal on te trip.

Overall a great stay and we are coming back soon, and it is good to see a new build property that is designed and built well (i'm sick of the cheaplly built condos you see that run as apartment hotels - not the same thing at all!)

Room Tip: Wakitipu suite facing the lake was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMCBalmain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Dear EMCBalmain

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at the Hilton Queenstown.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and thank you for mentioning how helpful and professional Katelyn was.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon to stay.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, AUS
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a amazing time here. This hotel is brand new and I can't see how anyone could not love this place. Have a drink around the outdoor fire pit looking out over Queenstown & the lake. Being on the other side of the lake means you have the sun all day, the other side near the town centre doesn't get the sun and you will freeze during the winter months. Do yourself a favour and stay here, if you don't have the time of your life at this hotel you can email me why, because this place is heaven on earth. A special thanks to Katelyn P. Management of Hilton Queenstown please make sure you give her a big congrats and a well done as she made our stay stress free and organised all my plans without fail. Got to meet her on last day as we checked out and thanked her very much. Because of Katelyn I will be forwarding on my experiences of Hilton Queenstown to all my family & friends, some who often travel to NZ & Queenstown and will highly recommend they bring their business to you. Only issue was with incorrect in room phone charges using a calling card, got charged double & tried to get fixed up but got billed incorrectly higher in the end, just gave up. Other than that, everyone heading to Queenstown.......Stay Hilton, it will make your trip.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimMelbourne_AUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Tim Melbourne_AUS

It is great to read such a positive review and know we have achieved our goal of ensuring our guests have experienced a memorable stay.

Thank you for sharing your feedback.
I appreciate you recognising Katelyn. She is a key employee in delivering the service level we strive to achieve. Katelyn has noted the confusion with your phone calls. Each call incurs a fee of $1 and then the call costs were deducted directly from your calling card.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I only had a 1 night stop at Hilton Queenstown back in March but I was suitably impressed. All the rooms are spacious, more like small suites, and all are well appointed.
It is important to get a lakeview room, otherwise you sort of loose the point of staying here. Great rooms, had everything I wanted, comfortable bed, proper shower.
Lots of food outlets (5) the local Pub is very popular and the Wakatipu Grill is an excellent evening dining venue. The breakfast selection is extensive, with all the usual things plus fresh pastries, a juicebar, fresh fruit bar and more - possibly the best hotel breakfast in NZ?
The hotel has a good fitness room, indoor pool, day spa and even a small cinema in the adjacent Kawarau Hotel complex.
The only negative is the somewhat unusual location, a 15 minute drive, or 10 minute water taxi ride into Queenstown itself. Of course that's not necessarily a bad thing - you don't get all the street noise or drunken screams at 3am for one thing. The water taxi ride is pleasant enough anyway. It is also the sunniest hotel in town, by facing the hotel North it gets all day sunshine unlike many of the hotels in the township that are tucked up into the hills.
Overall I found nothing to fault; it is probably the best hotel in town right now being so new.

Room Tip: You must book Lakeview, or Relaxation room to get the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear rbmm

I am pleased you enjoyed your night with us and thank you for sharing your comments.

It was great you were able to experience so many of the facilities in the village. Yes we are situated in a great spot across the lake enabling us to enjoy all day sun, which is important during the winter down this end of the country.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
3.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
4.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you set foot inside the Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, you'll discover a place that not only celebrates the world-renowned beauty of this region, but immerses you completely in that beauty. Welcome to a new way to experience Queenstown. Welcome to Hilton. This is an exhilarating setting, and one without compromise. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa faces north, delivering full afternoon sun and showcasing panoramic views over an unspoilt terrain famed the world over. Watch the deep blue hues of the lake shimmer and glisten and savour this most intensely beautiful destination. In the heart of vibrant Kawarau Village and just 15 minutes via lake or land from Queenstown, you'll enjoy effortless access to all the excitement on offer in the region - and the closest accommodation to The Remarkables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing