We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“awesome stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

had a very relaxing stay for 5 nights, very pleasant and comfortable stay, the staff are very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Amber

I was pleased to see you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Queenstown and thank you for sharing your comments.

It was nice to see you found our team members friendly and helpful.
I look forward to welcoming you back to stay sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,471
    638
    241
    112
    60
See reviews for
438
1,432
93
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

The Hilton Queenstown is set in a beautiful location on the shore of Lake Wakatipu. The hotel is beautifully designed, using some very clever and cues from the nature that surrounds it. The tastefully dark and muted tones of the hotel interior evoke a comforting ski-lodge-like mood, and the artwork is quite interesting. The design detail is quite memorable, adding to the sense of place and uniqueness of its location. The rooms are generous in size, and are thoroughly stylish and modern. One of my highlights is the sumptuous breakfast, with a vast array of choices, all beautifully presented, and can be enjoyed overlooking the lake with the nearby fire crackling away. Speaking of fire, there is a lovely circular firepit on the Wakatipu Grill terrace where you can enjoy a drink after a day of adventure. The hotel staff are friendly and obliging. The only weak points of this hotel are: distance from downtown Queenstown, smallish pool, and, as the hotel is so new, the landscaping is very minimal, and needs development to fully take advantage of it's surrounds. Nevertheless, I thoroughly recommend a stay in this very unique and memorable hotel experience.

Room Tip: Obviously, a lake-facing room would be preferable to take advantage of the spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoamingK1w1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear RoamingK1w1

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.
I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourself.
Yes we are 10 minutes from the centre of Queenstown which for many guests has a huge appeal. With a hotel courtesy shuttle and water taxi operating throughout the day this is not an issue.
You are correct in saying the landscaping is minimal. There are plenty of plants but as we have only been opened for one year, they have some more growing to do. This will give alot more privavcy to the relaxation rooms along the lakefront.

Thank you again for sharing your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay at Hilton Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We went to Queenstown for a five night stay in late April and are so glad we chose the Hilton Queenstown- the hotel is essentially brand new and has quality fixtures throughout. Its location on the northern end of Lake Wakatipu near Frankton and the airport provides very easy car access and is only a 10 minute drive to the centre of Queenstown. Our room faced the lake and was very comfortable, and I loved starting a day of sightseeing in the late autumn blaze of colour with the healthy options breakfast and a swim in the lovely lap pool. The staff at the hotel are all enthusiastic and multinational providing a cosmopolitan touch although the concierge service was at times inconsistent. I would strongly suggest that guests hire a car for the flexibilty it provides enabling us to easily drive to Queenstown for a dinner or a lunch and be back in no time. The scenic town of Arrowtown and Lake Hayes are much closer to the hotel than they are to Queenstown. There is a also lovely walking/cycling track around the lake in both directions from the hotel. It certainly changed my preconceived notions of a Hilton and would definitely recommend a stay there for anyone looking for a relaxing stay in the area.

Room Tip: A lake view room is worth paying extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank umgeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Dear umgeni

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.

I was very pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and were able to experience the wonderful autumn colours in this area.

Thank you for your recommendation and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay when you are next in Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Simply fantastic! You could not ask a hotel to provide any more than they did for us. Amazing views, great service, super clean, and Some of the best fod in Queenstown . As a Hilton Diamond member I stay in Hilton on a weekly basis and I wish ALL Hilton's could be like Hilton Queenstown!

Room Tip: Ask to stay top floor facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear Karla

Great to hear such a wonderful review, and thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back again next time you are visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
163 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed here for two nights recently. Nice quiet time to visit Queenstown and Arrowtown and there were still some autumn colours on the hills.

The hotel is well designed and has some excellent NZ art on the walls. As HHonors members we took advantage of a good deal to upgrade to a Wakatipu Lake View Suite. As other reviewers have noted, if you are driving yourself it is easy to miss the reception/drop off area but easier to find after a loop around the village. The receptionist showed us to our room facing the lake...nice touch. It’s a bit of a journey down to level 1 from reception on level 4 , across the hotel and then back up again to level 4, but not really a problem...helps to get oriented. Excellent room layout, spacious bathroom and bedroom, but like many such hotels, lighting was poor in the bathroom, and strangely also very poor over the coffee/tea making bench. the king bed was very comfortable, and all the usual quality towels, robes, slippers , safe etc.

When we opened the bedroom curtains we were greeted by large cobwebs on the outside which rather obscured the excellent view of the lake. The lounge windows had been cleaned from the small balcony but this particular room faced an outside wall of the adjacent room which was also covered in cobwebs. (See photos we have posted) Perhaps this is a legacy from the construction troubles this hotel experienced but for a 5 star hotel advertising its views...not good. So...the next day we asked for this to be cleaned and even left a note on the floor pointing the way to the offending bedroom windows (and cobwebs). We returned at 5 pm just as the cleaner was leaving (pretty late we thought), and discovered that, although an attempt had been made to clean the adjacent outside wall, our bedroom windows still remained uncleaned. This is poor.

Other annoyances...which take the gloss off what is supposed to be a 5 star hotel....

1. Air conditioning duct in the bedroom is noisy, even when the room aircon is turned off...bad aircon duct design I suspect. Hard to tune it out and sleep.

2. Fiddly gas fire place which takes a bit to get going..OK in autumn...might be bad in winter.

3. No stationery in desk.

4. The Cru wine bar was closed when we were there...”not enough hotel occupancy” according to one staff member...perhaps it may never open! So... we went to the Wakatipu Grill for a cocktail and snack. The bar guy didn’t know how to make a Daiquiri!

There is very little separation from bar to restaurant which makes it unpleasant when there are noisy groups in the bar area. We didn’t have dinner here, but the restaurant layout seems a bit strange..every booth seems to look out on an adjacent table. The terrace would be good in summer. It worked well at breakfast though.

6. Finally the $29 a day for wifi charges is ridiculously high for a hotel with these rates...please build the wifi into the room rates.

It looks like the overall hotel complex/village is struggling outside of peak holiday times... a pity because it wouldn’t take much to lift the game a little bit and live up to a five star rating.

Room Tip: Go for the Lakeside rooms but check the view for clarity before unpacking your bags
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatchNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear patch4750

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.
I was pleased to see that in general you enjoyed yourselves.
Your feedback is much appreciated and the issues you have raised are all valid ones.
Spider webs are always a problem and some years are worse than others. It is a good sign to see them however as that indicates there are no white tails spiders in residence!
Our exterior cedar wood finish is due for re staining and this has delayed our spider control and washdown programme. I am happy to say that all high level windows have been cleaned in preperation for the spider spray.

A number of the bathroom fans have developed a problem causing excessive bearing noise. These are currently being changed and will be completed within the next few weeks.
Having come on board once the building was almost complete we are facing a few issues that we are working through.
The gas fires have been less than reliable for starting and it is the battery unit which we are replacing with a much higher quality. These will be all completed before the winter sets in.
I do apologise there was no stationery in your room. This is not acceptable and I have advised our executive housekeeper to ensure this does not occur again.
During the shoulder season in Queenstown many businesses take the opportunity while it is quieter to undertake preventative maintenance and refurbishment. This is the case with Cru Wine Bar. It does still leave five other outlets operating to fullfil the village requirements.
As always the internet fees are a popular topic of discussion. It is a fairly standard fee, however, I am happy to advise Hilton Worldwide are reviewing these and any changes will be passed on to our guests once we have been advised.

Thank you again and I do hope you have the opportunity to visit Queenstown again and experience our village in full swing.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
141 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We just redeemed Hilton Honors points for 2 nights here for our 29th wedding anniversary. We were enthusiastically checked-in by a lovely Canadian young lady who promptly upgraded us to a lakeview corner suite (we have Diamond status with Hilton) which was a lovely surprise. Not long after settling into the room, a complimentary bottle of wine and spring water arrived. The suite was in a quiet corner with only four other rooms on the floor. Stunning views over the lake from floor to ceiling windows and a private balcony with table and two chairs. Bathroom was high-end and had a huge rainfall shower and a similarly huge freestanding bath, plus two individual porcelain handbasins. Sitting room had large cream sofa and a matching armchair, plus the usual desk and ergonomic chair for staying in business! We booked dinner in the Wakatipu Grill that night and the food was flawlessly presented and served. Our waitress, Mia, knew exactly which of the pinot noirs to recommend and it was exactly to our taste, and outstanding (Wild Earth 2009). Breakfast was included and offered pretty much everything - cooked, cereals, fresh fruit, cheese/cold cuts and interestingly, a fruit/veg juicer to make your own fresh juices. The design of the hotel blends beautifully with the surrounding scenery and the gardens are well stocked with native plantings which were very aesthetically pleasing. All of the staff with whom we had any contact were outstandingly helpful, even Thomas, the courtesy coach driver, who dropped us at the airport on our last day. Didn't want to leave. This is a top-notch, exemplary Hilton and we will definitely be back as we visit Queenstown 2-3 x a year. Only one negative - there is no executive lounge! Keep up the great work guys!

Room Tip: Definitely grab a lakeview room if possible. Corner suite 111 was outstanding for view, privacy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nzbased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene P, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear nzbased

It was great to see you enjoyed yourselves and thank you for your positive review and kind comments regarding our team members. I will be sure to share these with them.

As our property is predominently a leisure hotel the need for an executive lounge is not driven from a corporate level. However this may be reviewed at a later date.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

What a superb experience we had at the five star Hilton in Queenstown - the setting was so picturesque and naturally beautiful, from the moment we arrived everything was wonderful.
We were warmly greeted by the very lovely Annika -Guest Relations Manager who was so professional and lovely and who personally escorted us to our stunning Lake Waikapitu Suite which was luxurious in every way, well worth the extra money, very spacious and I particularly loved sitting on the large balcony bathing in the beautiful sunshine each day. The bed was so very comfortable with luxurious linen and the bathroom was large and nicely appointed and I particularly loved the bath gel. My husband and I have been in the restaurant business for 25 years and I would really love to make a point that the Executive Chef Marro is outstanding - the food at the Waikapitu Grill is fantastic, my husband and I are so difficult to please and so very fussy and every single course we had on 2 evenings was truly amazing.
We left this resort extremely pleased and rate it amongst one of the very best. We also had the pleasure of being introduced to the new General Manager Andrew Nisbet who was very warm, friendly and professional and wish him well in his new role. I think it would be most helpful if there were a 3 dimensional map of the hotel as it does get a bit confusing finding your way around and the other point I would like to make is that it would have been nice to have some information on Queenstown and the tours available/suggestions for day trips etc. James from the deli was also very polite and helpful in every way and really does a wonderful job.The room service pizza was also very delicious and the pastry was thin and crunchy just how we like it. The delightful Bar Manager who has an unusual name that I apologize I cannot remember if very knowledgeable and most helpful, the Hendricks Gin (from Scotland that I had not heard of) was such a great recommendation and he mixed it perfectly I highly recommend it. We would love to return to this fabulous resort it ticked all the boxes. Highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: Tip : Room 140 just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene P, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Maria G

It is a pleasure to receive such a positive review. Thank you for taking the time to share yur experience.
I am pleased you had a great time.
Yes you are correct in finding it confusing with directions around the village. We are currently working on revamping our village map and have recently gained consent for more internal signage.
In the village we have an office called QBook. This outlet offers all the information on Queenstown, tours and adventure sports. QBook are able to book anything the guests require. There is information regarding QBook in the rooms and I apologise if this was not the case in your room.
Thank you for mentioning those team members who I know will be very encouraged to read your comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay next time you are in Queenstown.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kwarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you set foot inside the Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, you'll discover a place that not only celebrates the world-renowned beauty of this region, but immerses you completely in that beauty. Welcome to a new way to experience Queenstown. Welcome to Hilton. This is an exhilarating setting, and one without compromise. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa faces north, delivering full afternoon sun and showcasing panoramic views over an unspoilt terrain famed the world over. Watch the deep blue hues of the lake shimmer and glisten and savour this most intensely beautiful destination. In the heart of vibrant Kawarau Village and just 15 minutes via lake or land from Queenstown, you'll enjoy effortless access to all the excitement on offer in the region - and the closest accommodation to The Remarkables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing