We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place to be snowed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not a bad place to be snowed in.”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay here due to snow closing the airport. Thanks to our travel insurance we stayed in a beautiful room with a luxurious bed and enormous bathtub with designer toiletries, needless to say a sumptuous bath was enjoyed. Our room had a gas fireplace, lounge suite, huge flat screen TV and balcony with clear views across the lake.

All things considered a bit of free wi-fi would go a long way as this is standard in many hotels and we were surprised to find it lacking. We ordered breakfast to be delivered to our room so we could eat before checking out and trying to get home, however it was ''lost" for about 25 minutes, but arrived eventually with apologies.

Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ive_Been_There_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene P, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear MEW2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed your time considering the unexpected snow disrupted your travel plans.
The internet fees are always a popular point for discussion and I am happy to advise this service is currently under review.

I apologise for the delay in delivery of your breakfast. I have discussed this with our Food and Beverage Manager to ensure this does not happen again.

Thank you once again for sharing your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,532
    658
    251
    115
    61
See reviews for
462
1,488
99
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Great location- on the water
Loved the water taxi
Fabulous large rooms and bathrooms, with warm fireplaces and overlooking the water.
Very friendly staff with attention to detail.
Overall a new hotel in Queenstown but well worth it even if its not in the centre of Queenstown.

Totally recommended

Room Tip: Take a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozz26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene P, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear lozz26

It was great to see you enjoyed your stay at the HIlton Queenstown and thank you for sharing your feedback.
I am pleased you enjoyed the water taxi and thank you for your positive comments regarding our friendly team members.
Thank you for recommending us and I hope to see you again one day soon.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Very high quality room in a great location. Took the water taxi into Queenstown for the evening which was a great trip and the driver a crack up! Would recommend the Hilton and will be staying again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gweedo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene P, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear Gweedo1
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at HIlton Queenstown.
I was so pleased to see you enjoyed the water taxi. This is very popular with the guests and locals as a quick novel way to enjoy a trip into downtown Queenstown.
I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Queenstown.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
167 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Had a night here as was flying out of Frankton Airport early the next morning, but wished I had booked for longer. This is an Oasis from the Queesntown mayhem and has lots going for it. As it is new, and has a few months operation behind it, it seems to be finding its feet quite well. Lovely room on the water, with stunning views, the beds were quite sublime, bathroom huge and a deep bath. Nice balcony outside with a table and stairs which were perfect for admiring the view. We had drinks in the bar on the water, good wine list by the glass and plenty of local wines which is good to see as the Central Otago wines are magnificent. Then had dinner in the restaurant which was lovely, interesting menu and the clam entree special was ultra fresh and above expectations. My sister had the rilettes of pork and duck and raved about it also.. Staff were very accommodating and friendly, even though we sat as the kitchen was closing, they never rushed us. We tried to get into the Asian on site restaurant but were too late ( too many drinks at the bar! That view was hard to leave!) but if the smell of the pace is any indication, they know their stuff there too.
This is a lovely hotel in a good location for those who have a car or don't want to be right in the town, which suited us just fine. Would be great in winter as well, and will put it on my list for when next in the area! Plenty of Hilton Comfort and the staff that we encountered were excellent.

Room Tip: Get a room with a lake view, it is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene P, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Dear Pipt

It was great to see you enjoyed yourselves so much and thank you for sharing your feedback.

I am so pleased the food exceeded your expectations and you were able to relax and enjoy the views and local wines.

I look forward to welcoming you back to sample the Me & Mee Noodle Bar next time you are in Queenstown.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Room was spacious and of high quality. It had the feeling of luxury. The other half was happy with the food. Location is close to airport. Didnt have a view of the lake, but if it was winter, would have a great view of the snow capped remarkables. One of the biggest hotel rooms ive stayed in for that price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evertonbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene P, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Dear Evertonbilly

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown

Those remarkable mountains had a light dusting of snow on them this weekend! But yes they do make a great view in the winter.

Thank you and I look forward to you returning again one day soon.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We found this new hotel to be just perfect for us. We really felt we needed a break from QT and the congestion and dozens of tourists bumping into one another. Instead, we were able to breathe a sigh of relief on the short, fun water taxi ride back to the hotel and enjoy top service from this hotel. We stayed 2 nights and hotel took care of storing our luggage and coordinating transport to the company who took us down for an overnight stay on Doubtful Sound. When we returned, they had our luggage placed back in our room for 1 final night. Rooms are modern with all amenities and beds on platforms to view out glass doors overlooking lake. Great shower with rain or jet spray options and separate deep soaking tub. Great value when compared to other QT hotels in similar price range.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wagsdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene P, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Wagsdvm

I was delighted to see you enjoyed yourselves so much and thank you for sharing your comments and feedback regarding your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.
It is a great stop off point to explore the wonders of Fiordland.

I am pleased you enjoyed the water taxi. This is a great way to take in the wonderful views of Queenstown from on the lake.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay when your travels bring you back to Queenstown again.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this Hotel for 8 nights. We were originally scheduled for only 4 nights, but extended our stay as we simply were not able to leave the fabulousness that is Hilton Queenstown. We stayed at one of the suites (exactly room n. 111). The bedroom is huge, with a living room with fireplace, outdoor deack and the most fabulous and confortable king sized bed I've ever seen. The bathroom is absolutely lovely, huge, with heated floor, 2 sinks and the best shower and a great tub. We were in doubt initially if it would be worth staying on this hotel, as its not located in Queenstown itself, but on the Kuwaru Village. Turns out that is a super quick drive to the city center and you can also take a water taxi from the hotel, which leaves every hour. In terms of amenities, the hotel is also great: the gym has everything you need, there's a great pool and a small heated one, a spa, sauna and steam. there are 3 restaurants inside Kuwaru Village, all managed by Hilton, aside from a small bakery. The breakfast is FANTASTIC and you should not miss making your reservation for the bed and breakfast deals. The hotel staff is absolutely awesome, and will go out of their way to attend the guests needs. Rooms are kept impecably clean, concierges are extremely helpful and will do all the acitivities bookings for you. Front desk representative Francisco Freire was particularly increadible to us during our stay. Queenstown is such a great destination to go and we'll def return. Staying at the Hilton made everything so much more speacial. Do not even CONSIDER staying at another hotel!

Room Tip: Suite rooms are a great deal. Ask for one with view to the lake, to avoid getting a standard room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flavia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene P, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Flavia M

It is always wonderful to read such positive feedback and I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us at Hilton Queenstown.

It was great you were able to experience so many of our facilities and services available within the village.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding Francisco, I know he will be delighted to hear this.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
3.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
4.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you set foot inside the Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, you'll discover a place that not only celebrates the world-renowned beauty of this region, but immerses you completely in that beauty. Welcome to a new way to experience Queenstown. Welcome to Hilton. This is an exhilarating setting, and one without compromise. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa faces north, delivering full afternoon sun and showcasing panoramic views over an unspoilt terrain famed the world over. Watch the deep blue hues of the lake shimmer and glisten and savour this most intensely beautiful destination. In the heart of vibrant Kawarau Village and just 15 minutes via lake or land from Queenstown, you'll enjoy effortless access to all the excitement on offer in the region - and the closest accommodation to The Remarkables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing