We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location left lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queenstown Lakeview Holiday Park
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location left lacking”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

There is really nothing bad to say about this holiday park. It's clean, efficient, well run and is in a top location however it is devoid of soul and any personal details (is a bench in the shower cubicles too much to ask?) We paid almost $60 a night for a powered site in May for our family of four, making it our most expensive stop by far on a 14-night tour of the South Island. The amenities are commercial and functional but the signs with dos and donts and park rules everywhere really leave you feeling like cattle rather than a welcome guest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chippy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    156
    94
    39
    45
See reviews for
154
182
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Things we liked most are that it is close to town, the heaters in the bathrooms, and it was clean. It does not have too much soul, it is a flat bit of land with plenty of camp sites close together. I think the 3.5 average stars it had when we stayed is about right.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWS3and2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in a Two Bedroom Park Motel for several nights over Easter with two adults and three children aged 5 years and under. The Queenstown Lakeview Holiday Park is conveniently located to town and to the gondola, and the communal kitchen and BBQ area have excellent views. The Two Bedroom Park Motel units are quite new. Superficially alpine in appearance, close up they are made of structural insulated panels and appear cheaply built. We found our unit to be warm, but quite cramped for our party of five. We would suggest that the Two Bedroom units would more comfortably accommodate 3-4 people. Despite being new, our unit had a number of problems. The television was not working consistently and the front desk staff attributed this to 'the South Island digital television change over,' with no offer of a solution. The shower head, made of plastic, gushed water to the ceiling. We had a view of surrounding units, but could catch glimpses of the lake from our deck. If you want a view, it is worth confirming that at the time of reservation. The down side of proximity to town is noise in the early evening to the middle of the night, but this didn't bother us too much. We used the coin operated communal BBQ facilities several times. They cook the food eventually, but the user has no control over the heat level.

Room Tip: Ask about views at the time of booking. The Two Bedroom units have quite small rooms, so be aware of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GHJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Definitely not the best campsite in NZ as it advertises, there are a lot of negatives, vans parked very close together, $2 showers (although we reckon this is just an honesty box), which to be honest makes it an expensive campsite, it was already $44 a night, nothing available to use in the kitchens without paying, toilets and showers were soaking every day which was difficult as there was no shelf in the showers for clothes etc, there wasn't even soap at the sinks for the whole 3 night stay.

However we would stay there again next time we are in Queenstown, because the location was brilliant. 10 minute walk up the hill from town, 5 minute walk to the gondola and the Kiwi Park and 2 mini golf (try the indoor) on the doorstep.

We were able to drive in, park up and stay there for the whole time, no having to drive the van round town.

So I say go if you want a drink in town, but don't expect too much and you'll be happy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a powered campsite. Great views of the town and gondola. Good idea having pin codes for the shower and toliet block. Coin operated showers gie 8 minutes for $2. Very quiet during the day after vans have left. Only a 5 minute walk to town. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyMidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franz Josef, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The variety of accommodation we used for a wedding party included tourist flats, studios, and self contained cabins - all were very comfortable and more than adequately provided for our needs. Being extremely handy to the wedding venue at the Skyline and a short walk to town, made for an ideal site for all to stay, socialise, shop and attend the wedding. Thanks again Lakeview! Much appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23032013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A basic site close to town, the staff were not the most helpful and the showers were cold. It was expensive however, we were happy to compromise location for convenience of the town. It's close to the skyline and 10 minute walk from the town downhill there, uphill on route back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenkyLangy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.4 mi away
Queenstown TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Queenstown Holiday Park & Motel Creeksyde
0.4 mi away
Pinewood Lodge
Pinewood Lodge
#75 of 90 in Queenstown
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 90 in Queenstown
347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coronation Lodge
Coronation Lodge
#4 of 45 in Queenstown
407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Peaks Lodge
Blue Peaks Lodge
#32 of 57 in Queenstown
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queenstown Lakeview Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenstown Lakeview Holiday Park

Property: Queenstown Lakeview Holiday Park
Address: 4 Cemetery Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Queenstown Lakeview Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2001, the Queenstown Lakeview Holiday Park is only a 500-metre walk from the shores of the Lake Wakatipu and only 100 meters from the town center , The Park offers accommodation suited to all budgets and includes spacious tourist flats, leisure lodges, en-suite studio units. The expansive camping areas offer both powered and unpowered camping sites that are serviced by modern amenities. Stay with us and you are only minutes away from various adventure activities and spectacular scenic spots that Queenstown is renowned for. Our efficient and well-informed Guest Services Team are looking forward to assist you plan and book the varied activities you can enjoy within Queenstown and the neighboring areas. Our Team takes great pride in what we have to offer visitors to our exciting area of New Zealand, and will make every effort to ensure your stay in Queenstown is a comfortable, relaxing and a memorable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Queenstown Lakeview Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing