We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What views, paradise”
Review of Kemnay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kemnay
Ranked #21 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
california
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What views, paradise”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is all about the views! Every review we read, is 100% right on.
Queenstown is a beautiful city and our visit with Heather and Fraser was wonderful.
We had the entire upstairs to ourselves. Heather and Fraser also liked to visit with us which is what we wanted to do and they gave us fabulous tips on things to do. Great breakfast's. They would do as much or as little as you would like. We left feeling like family. A view to die for from every room in thier house. It's possible to walk to town from Kemnay, but there are a couple of fairly steep hills to climb on the way back. Downtown is always rocking with street performers, and people of all ages strolling the towns streets.
We strongly recommend a trip to Milford Sound. Spectacular scenery, especially if you have a rental car to get you there. You must do the shotover jet boat ride while there. There are nice walks along the harbor and through the botanical garden.
For a nice seafood meal, we recommend Fishbone. A little pricey, but worth it. Splurge a little then eat pizza the next 2 days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbernCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
21
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We cannot speak highly enough of our wonderful stay at Kemnay! Queenstown was our last stop on our two week trip and we had already stayed at 6 other B&Bs but Kemnay far exceeded our expectations. Heather and Fraser are some of the best hosts out there and made sure we had great time while in Queenstown. We stayed in the queen bedroom but since they only rent one room at a time, we had full run of the upstairs. We spent ample time in the common area, which featured comfortable chairs, lovely views and a great place to relax outside of the bedroom. The house is situated atop Panorama Terrace, which offers stunning views of Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables.

We enjoyed Heather and Fraser so much! We spent a ton of time talking with them and learning about their life. They were so warm and friendly and did everything they could to ensure a great stay. They cooked us a delicious breakfast each morning with eggs, sautéed mushrooms, roasted tomatoes and toast. They gladly booked us a tour to the Milford Sound and were more than happy to wake up early to serve us breakfast before we left at 6am. Fraser also offered to drive us into town that morning and a couple other times without hesitation. Kemnay is a nice 15 minute walk to/from town but is uphill on the way back. That said, we did it multiple times a day with no problems. The location is perfect as you are outside of town enough to have a relaxing, quiet stay but close enough to get to and from very easily. Heather and Fraser offered us the perfect ending to an excellent trip with a great experience at Kemnay! If you are coming to Queenstown stay here, you won’t regret it!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay-Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
222 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Lovely B & B with a View to die for.Magnificent. Heather and Frazer are a really lovely friendly couple.Guests have have the upper floor to themseves.either a Queensize Bedroom, or a twin bedroom with 1 bathroom with bath and shower.Only 1 set of guests at a time.Guests are welcome to share their lounge and great conversations.Heather leaves lovely Homemade cookes Yummie Yummie beside the tea and coffee to be used at anytime. (we managed to get the recipe from Heather ) Parking available for at least 1 car in their drive. Only downside is the walk back uphill. We decided to drive down to, just before the main centre on the right is a carpark .(no charge after 6 ) I rate Kemnay, 5 star and would have no hesitation to recommend to everyone.We ate at the same restaurant for 3 nights ''Fishbones Bar and Grill" We had used it 2 years ago and still very Good.

Room Tip: You can chose your room when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry-Jang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Heather & Fraser were very welcoming and friendly! The house is great with views of the mountain and lake from every room, kitchen, living room, and even bathroom! You can walk to the bustling Queenstown town center. Its the happening place. The breakfast was filling and good. Everything was comfortable. I spent a lot of time talking with them. They made me feel like part of their family. I enjoyed my stay and the warm hospitality I received! I wholeheartedly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kishores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, UK
Level Contributor
190 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is one of the best places to stay in Queenstown and I was sorry we were there for only one night. Heather and Fraser were perfect hosts and full of local information and very interesting to chat with. Their home is beautiful and the views breathtaking.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank periwinkleMarlow_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallarate, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

It's an excellent B&B for the place, for the amazing view on the lake and for Heather and Fraser (really very nice people) that make you feel at home. Bedrooms are nice, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is very good. Recommended, for sure!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fedenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Heather and Fraser were extremely welcoming. The accomodation in Kemnay is excellent for a couple there are two bedrooms, but only one is let at any one time, so the other can be used for expansion; or a family using both bedrooms. Lovely view (see attached photo), small fridge available, wireless broadband, tv, easy 10 min walk into town (though 15 mins coming back up hill), and Heather does the very best cooked breakfast of all the B&B's we experienced in NZ.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dermot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Chalet Queenstown
Chalet Queenstown
#5 of 43 in Queenstown
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
The B & B on the Hill
The B & B on the Hill
#10 of 43 in Queenstown
103 reviews
1.0 mi away
Larch Hill Homestay Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Balmoral Lodge
Balmoral Lodge
#19 of 43 in Queenstown
151 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pencarrow
Pencarrow
#37 of 43 in Queenstown
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kemnay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kemnay

Property: Kemnay
Address: 57 Panorama Terrace, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing