We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Elaichi - CLOSED

Elaichi
Price range: $12 - $21
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went for lunch as family group of 6, which was 4 adults and 2 children. The waitress never smiled and spoke very little to us. The food was lovely served quickly, the restaurant was clean and atmosphere good.Really only let down by service. Considering we were only people their in the hour and half we spent I would have thought more effort would have been given.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Faye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    5
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Awesome food with wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I do not know where to start from. We were there in Queenstown for 4 days and we literally went there every single day for lunch and dinner. Not like we dint try other Indian restaurants in the city but none matched the class of Elaichi. Gaurav and Shweta along with their staff are very welcoming but most importantly their food is extremely delicious. There is some kind of freshness in the food they serve.

We are vegetarians and to see the variety available was actually surprising. To add to it, Shweta(the owner) even agreed to make things outside the menu where her only request was that we let her know in advance.

Must taste delicacies: Sabudana vada, Samosa chaat, Paneer kadai, Dal Makhani and many more. Only disappointment was the idli sambar which did not meet their standard of food.

Anybody visiting Queenstown just cannot miss this place. Just try it on the first day itself and I promise you will want to go there everyday.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KvMeg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Very good service and nice food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had a warm welcome by the staff and the owner ...thanks for making the experience special ...food was also very good....service was prompt....ambience was great ...All the best for your growth. R&M

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rohit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
2 reviews
“Review of Elaichi restaurant, Queenstown, New Zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Best Indian cuisine amongst all restaurants I visited in New zealand!! Excellant hospitality and service, very homely atmosphere and food!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Girish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious food with good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I come from India for holidays and we book over dinner in elaichi and there food was good and have best service staff was really friendly with customer next year my friends are coming to NZ for holidays I will Recommend them to come in elaichi and have dinner

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ch1rag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elaichi also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing