We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome food with wonderful service”
Review of Elaichi - CLOSED

Elaichi
Price range: $12 - $21
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Awesome food with wonderful service”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I do not know where to start from. We were there in Queenstown for 4 days and we literally went there every single day for lunch and dinner. Not like we dint try other Indian restaurants in the city but none matched the class of Elaichi. Gaurav and Shweta along with their staff are very welcoming but most importantly their food is extremely delicious. There is some kind of freshness in the food they serve.

We are vegetarians and to see the variety available was actually surprising. To add to it, Shweta(the owner) even agreed to make things outside the menu where her only request was that we let her know in advance.

Must taste delicacies: Sabudana vada, Samosa chaat, Paneer kadai, Dal Makhani and many more. Only disappointment was the idli sambar which did not meet their standard of food.

Anybody visiting Queenstown just cannot miss this place. Just try it on the first day itself and I promise you will want to go there everyday.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KvMeg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    5
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Very good service and nice food”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had a warm welcome by the staff and the owner ...thanks for making the experience special ...food was also very good....service was prompt....ambience was great ...All the best for your growth. R&M

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rohit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
2 reviews
“Review of Elaichi restaurant, Queenstown, New Zealand”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Best Indian cuisine amongst all restaurants I visited in New zealand!! Excellant hospitality and service, very homely atmosphere and food!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Girish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious food with good service”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I come from India for holidays and we book over dinner in elaichi and there food was good and have best service staff was really friendly with customer next year my friends are coming to NZ for holidays I will Recommend them to come in elaichi and have dinner

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ch1rag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Needs a serious clean”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The poor rating is based around the state of the general cleanliness of the restaurant.
The floor around the table we were sat down at was covered in food "bits" and we were the first sitting of the day (lunch). No excuses for not vacuuming the floor.
We requested a move to another table and that was not much better. Dirty table cloths, my wife had to fold it over to hide the food stains and there was also food splatters on the curtain next to the table.
We were then worried about what we were then going to get to eat as signs weren't looking good. It was almost like an inconvenience we were there (we were on a grabone deal). The food however was okay.
Key concern is hygiene, if the state of the dining area is anything to go by then I would have grave fears that a potential risk is lurking in the kitchen.
Won't be returning. By far the dirtiest restaurant we have been in.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkusWhakatane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elaichi also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing