We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a serious clean”
Review of Elaichi - CLOSED

Elaichi
Price range: $12 - $21
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The poor rating is based around the state of the general cleanliness of the restaurant.
The floor around the table we were sat down at was covered in food "bits" and we were the first sitting of the day (lunch). No excuses for not vacuuming the floor.
We requested a move to another table and that was not much better. Dirty table cloths, my wife had to fold it over to hide the food stains and there was also food splatters on the curtain next to the table.
We were then worried about what we were then going to get to eat as signs weren't looking good. It was almost like an inconvenience we were there (we were on a grabone deal). The food however was okay.
Key concern is hygiene, if the state of the dining area is anything to go by then I would have grave fears that a potential risk is lurking in the kitchen.
Won't be returning. By far the dirtiest restaurant we have been in.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarkusWhakatane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 48 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed 3 days in Queenstown and we had our 4 meals at this restaurant. They have got nice ambiance, delicious food and most importantly great service with a smile (which is usually lacking in Indian restaurants). We'd definitely go there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sachisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My partner & I visited this resturant after purchasing a great deal on Grabone. When we walked in the front entrance we actually weren't sure if it was open or closed. there were a bunch of people standing around talking, they seemed like famly members of the owners maybe? It wasnt welcoming at all. There were no staff in sight, one of the people standing in the resturant called out to the kitchen and a lady came out and took us to our table.

From here on the service did get better, we chose our meal and it came out in a reasonable time frame. We ordered the Chicken Korma which was very nice. The lady came and checked on us three times to make sure our food was all ok and made conversation with us and showed a genuine interest in our trip and what we were getting up to while in Queenstown.

Overall I think they need to improve on welsoming guests into their resturant but it wasn't too too bad. Wouldn't visit again though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bjsmum22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stumbled across this restaurant by accident and were pleasantly surprised. We had takeaways and because we were there before 7pm got a special deal. The dishes were tasty and fresh.

Thank jlwnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This restaurant has some surprisingly good reviews here - so i am not sure if we were just unlucky. But when we had dinner there, what we got was mediocre Indian food that was horribly overpriced. The average dish is 5 dollars more here than in the other Indian places in Queenstown - and is really poor value for the money that you spend.
The food we got was bland (and we had ordered 5 dishes), the spices were not there and the curries had some weird additives to add color. The entire meal for us was a very poor imitation of the good Indian meals in other places. Definitely would NOT recommend this place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nztraveller545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauravnaik, Owner at Elaichi, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Restaurant. I am certainly disappointed that your Dinner Experience was not all that it could have been.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the Restaurant and its team.
Just to clarify We really put all our efforts in providing the Quality food and service to our guest at the competative prices.
As you mentioned in the Review that we are expencive then any other Indian Restaurant in this town.
There seems to be some sort of confusion over this ,as All our food items are Priced moderately.
We even have some great deals at the Restaurant which no other does !!!!!!!!!!!
Early Dine in Special. - Buy One curry get one Free
Indian Buffet. - $ 25.00 ( Every Thursday and Sunday)
I appologise in behalf of our Team and hope to see you again in the Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elaichi also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Frankton, Queenstown
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing