We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hostel with the works.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adventure Queenstown Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adventure Queenstown Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hostel with the works.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

This hostel has it all. It's been really well thought out and the team are lovely. Firstly, the location is excellent - its so central and steps away from the bus to the airport. It's super clean, well thought out; every bed has power points and USB plugs next to the bed, the secure lockers also have power points so you can charge laptops (etc) while their securely locked away, big storage spaces under the bunk beds (so the rooms are not a mess of everyones sprawling bags) and the hostel has organised events a couple of times a week (e.g.: Sunday Night Roast and Casserole nights for under $10! pp). The hostel has free wifi, free iPads for loan (to use Skype etc), GoPros you can borrow. The amazing team at the hostel also act as a tour booking office for guests so you don't have to shop around for best prices because the team have all the deals (and give you really good guidance on which tour companies / budget / packages).

I initially stayed in a four bed mixed room which had a balcony which was really nice. When I returned to Queenstown at the end of my trip I stayed in a 5 bed girls room which had an ensuite. Everything had been thought of down to free hairdryers and straighteners and even nail polish!

Room Tip: If you're female - consider on of the female only rooms and treat yourself to all the additional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    27
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
56
182
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

So on the front page of their website they state the following.

'In the afternoon you can enjoy a drink in the sun on our fantastic balconies and watch the hustle and bustle of busy Camp Street, yet in the evening you can enjoy some peace and quiet as there are no loud late-night venues directly by us. You can be assured of a good night’s sleep!'

You can enjoy the balconies in the afternoon which are nice, but be warned the statement about having a quite night is misleading. There was a club or bar very close to the hostel which was pumping out really loud drum and bass music which me and my room mates in 'Brendan Room' could hear really clearly. I got zero sleep on my last night here. And as for the night before thanks to a girl having a tiff in the corridor outside our room with I suspect her boyfriend at 3am we were woken then too. Expect to be woken at exactly 7:30am by the air conditioning units in the building across the street.

There are many great things about this hostel which the owners have obviously researched very well and got right. But sometimes it's best not to blow the trumpet too loud.

The living room is very nice, but probably encourages the Lackpackers to stay here instead of getting out and actually seeing Queenstown. Some of the staff were very young and not very engaging which is a bit of a shame. Lisa on reception was very helpful as was the guy from Bristol in England (sorry didn't know his name) and were always happy to offer help and advice.

The things that are very good about this hostel rooms are the individual lamps next to beds, the plug sockets at each bed including USB and the pockets to store personal items.

The kitchen is excellent also with everything you could need to prepare a gourmet meal. Bathrooms are spotless but strangely seem to have a mish mash of different fittings in each shower or toilet.

The hostel is very central and secure but I'm not sure I would recommend it as the top hostel in Queenstown. The owner did say that he wanted to have a chat with me as I've stayed in excess of 100 hostels around the world. Unfortunately he never got back to me so I didn't have a chance to give him this feedback directly.

Room Tip: Any room as long as you have earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thejournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

What a great hostel! The location is so central but surprisingly quiet of a night time so you don't find yourself struggling to fall asleep. The staff were so helpful and knowledgeable about all the activities and places to visit. It was great that we were able to get their recommendations on tours and that they would book these for us (also highly appreciated staff telling us if something was just a rip-off and how to get a cheaper deal!). The room we stayed in had a great shower and was really comfortable. Thanks to the team at AQ!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imogen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Brett and his welcoming energetic team have put a ton of effort into creating the ultimate hostel experience. There's a great atmosphere, its super clean, everything's modern (including USB and plugs for each bed and in every locker)...Here're some details...
>There're organised events every weekday night (quizzes, roast dinner, PlayStation challenge, etc) which creates a very social experience.
> Solid wooden beds with clean rooms and plugs with USB slots next to every single bed
> Modern clean bathrooms with great showers
> Modern clean kitchen with everything you need
> Great central location right in the middle of town but still not noisy at night
> Locker room to store bikes, snowboards, etc with built in lockers, each with its own plug
> A huge comfortable lounge with a massive range of movies, etc on a big TV
Basically its like a hotel in the form of a hostel!

Room Tip: Book early - they're very often full over busy periods - which in Queenstown is often!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvanPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

I absolutely adore AQ. The staff are incredible- not just friendly, but so knowledgeable and eager to help. They will book tours for you and go above and beyond to make things happen for you (they worked with a few companies to get me where I wanted to go even with weather not cooperating). They will try to save you money and really want you to enjoy your stay, not just tolerate it. Super secure storage area if you need to leave your bags to go on a Great Walk for a few days, outlets and USB chargers over every bed, very clean and modern rooms and bathrooms (and cartoons on bathroom doors so you have something to read!). Simple little touches that make this hostel awesome to stay in. They host dinners twice a week that are cheap (amazing in NZ) and delicious, and a great way to meet people. I absolutely love this hostel and the people who work there. And it helps that they're right in the middle of town. Go there. Just do it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meh301psu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hostel was awesome in every aspect. Starting from the basics -- perfect location in the center of Queenstown, the beds are comfortable, there's plenty of space in the rooms, good clean toilets and showers, good clean equipped homey-feel kitcfhen, and friendly staff. All of this would have been enough to merit a 5 star review, but this hostel goes above and beyond that! They have free to use computers and ipads. They will lend you a GoPro camera for free, free international phone calls, they do the laundry for you, the lounge is really fun with a huge TV. I could go on and on about all the small things that make it perfect (like the cute pocket for phones near every bed + 2 power sockets + 2 usb sockets) but the bottom line is that this hostel is run by people who know what a hostel should be like and take continuing care to make it as best as they can!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yonatan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I chose QA hostel because of the positive reviews and I was not disappointed. QA hostel is an excellent place to stay. Friendly helpful staff. The best hostel kitchen ever, very well equipped. Nice rooms and good location. Free calls home! Just a great place to stay!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 1960DebDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,994 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.1 mi away
Sir Cedrics Tahuna Pod Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Queenstown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Queenstown Hostel

Property: Adventure Queenstown Hostel
Address: 36 Camp Street | 36 Camp Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Adventure Queenstown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing