We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hostel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adventure Queenstown Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

If you’re staying in QT this is the place to be! To start I want to say a massive thank you to Lisa and the team for making my stay so excellent and one that I will never forget.
All the staff are really welcoming, involve you in everything and always willing to help out.
On top of all the high quality clean facilities (including wooden bunks that don’t feel like the person above is going to fall through at any second) there is so much free stuff that comes with your stay from DVDs to Go-pros and probably best of all, international calls!
They also have activities during the week which gives the hostel a really nice social vibe that includes everyone (perfect for those loan travellers).
Make sure you take advantage of the meal nights that they do every Wednesday (BBQ) and Sunday (roast) which are only $8 and incredible, just as good as mums!
Cannot recommend Adventure Queens town hostel enough, can definitely tell this place has been designed for travellers by travellers as all those little details which most hostels miss, they have thought of.
Once again, a BIG thank you

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garch1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 455 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having managed Bamber House in Auckland for many months, which regularly came second to Adventure in the ratings, I had to check out the competition. The hostel is perfectly located, although you can say this of most hostels seeing as Queenstown is pretty small. Where Adventure excels is in the quality of the facilities and the provision of equipment. The building is immaculate, you can recognise the considerable investment made from the stylish bathroom fittings to the modern kitchen and then the free internet, i-pads, go-pros, golf frisbees and much more make for a very rewarding experience. The staff were very accommodating and along with the regular guests helped to make activities and social events inclusive of everybody. Sunday Roast was amazing, quiz night enjoyable and heading out with the hostel crowd to an open mic night (go Mountain!) was exactly the kind of experience you seek heading into Queenstown. Hats off, they deserve their praise and I look forward to returning to do it all again in years to come...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just_Timothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Perfect location, very friendly staff, super clean, quiet. Evening activities such as the $8 Sunday roast made a difference, as did being able to hire ski gear at a bargain rate! I had a very comfy room with ensuite...my only complaint would be the slow internet (not their fault) and the fact that unless you sat right next to fire in lounge, it was freezing in there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellarustybelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, Manager at Adventure Queenstown Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thanks for the great review, and thank-you for acknowledging that the slow internet was not our fault. It has been an exchange server problem which has been affecting the town. However, we are pleased to report that we have managed to upgrade the service which has largely solved the problem.

Further, we don't always have the fire place on - only when asked or if it is a particularly cold day (which 2013's poor winter has seen few of). Our lounge is reasonably large and the fire will take a little while to warm the room. We can also adjust the temperature when asked.

Enjoy the rest of your travels and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed in a four bedroom en suite room, as we were a family of four with two adult kids they took the top bunks. The en suite was small but useful. It was quite new This was our first stop on a south island vacation and it ticked all the boxes. They had a great staff which were helpful and nice. The kitchen was great with lots of room. The kitchen had many elements and lots of free stuff, gladwrap, foil, coffee salt and pepper and a few spices. The free phone calls and free computer was good too. The lock up boxes to recharge your ipods and mobile phones. The place was in a central location so was good as we did not get a car until the day we left.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunshineCoastView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The staff were friendly and accommodating, answering all of our queries and booking our activities for us. The room we stayed in (15, Justine's Room, 3 bedroom - private) had a private balcony with amazing views, was tidy and comfortable with a TV and heat pump. The private bathroom was also clean and good quality. The hostel also has a drying room for ski gear. The shared facilities are also very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I've stayed at many different hostels in different countries, and this hostel was by far the best one. The owner of the hostel is well traveled himself and as a result, the hostel has everything that a backpacker could want/need. The rooms are also very cute and clean, and the bathrooms are hotel-quality. The kitchen is spacious, modern, and clean as well. The atmosphere of the hostel was also great. Would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Queenstown.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed in female dorm (Shona's room) and was surprised to see the facilities available. Nice comfortable bed, ensuite shower with all toiletries provided, TV, DVD player, air-con "big lockers" on the bottom of the bed where you can store your luggage. I love how the room was designed. Seems like the common facilities like kitchen, computers, lounge, are nice though I didn't spend too much time hanging out there. Laundry service was great, I didn't mind paying more since they made sure all your clothes is dry and ready. Easily one of the best place I stayed in during my NZ trip, and it was surprisingly quiet :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dhani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 93 in Queenstown
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 93 in Queenstown
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
#10 of 93 in Queenstown
919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 93 in Queenstown
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#20 of 93 in Queenstown
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Queenstown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Queenstown Hostel

Address: 36 Camp Street | 36 Camp Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $25 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing