We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Sweet Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adventure Queenstown Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Brett has created something very special in Adventure Queenstown, if you have a list of everything you could ever want in a hostel, you're likely to find everything on that list at AQ. The service is excellent, the team is friendly, inviting, and extremely diligent. Free rentals include GoPros, Bicycles, Frisbees, and Video Games, anything you ask for, you will probably get for free. I've never been to a Backpackers with a better atmosphere, you will feel the warmth of home, without losing any of the excitement of travel. Another bonus is the type of traveler that AQ attracts, an assortment of savvy, open-minded, and fun-loving people. Rarely has my accommodation been the highlight of my stay, but that is exactly what Adventure Queenstown was. This is an incredible facility, with a shocking amount of amenities, the perfect atmosphere, and the best population you will find anywhere in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
There are newer reviews for Adventure Queenstown Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 449 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

Having stayed in backpacker accommodation in thirty countries around the world, adventure hostel topped them all. This place is outstanding and the management work hard to keep standards tip top - the owner can often be found doing small repairs (usually well before things are actually broken). The facilities are amazing - they really have thought of everything from pockets and reading lights by the bed, nice bedding and free towels to free computers and the best equipped hostel kitchen of all time... There's even a bread maker! And more useful things like wine glasses, ovens and a toasty maker. The communal events and the lounge area (with free DVD rental) is a great way to meet people.
On top of that it has a great location and wonderful views from the balconies.
Really puts all other hostels to shame.
It's also noticeable that, because such great care is taken by the staff, the guests are more respectful too - there's never any washing up left undone and the atmosphere around the place is very friendly.
If you're going to QT, book ahead for adventure hostel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Adventure Queenstown is a wonderful hostel. We stayed in a private room back in October, which was very comfortable and had a very modern ensuite.The kitchen was well used by guests and is full of all the equipment that you could possibly need. The staff were friendly and helpful with their advice for things to do in town, as well as booking tours. The Sunday night dinner is worth taking part in and only costs $8.The location is ideal, as it is right in the centre of town, with amazing views from our from our room, the balconies and many rooms around the hostel. The place was very clean and it was clear to see that both staff and Brett (the owner) take great pride in ensuring the place is always in top condition. It was a great advantage to have access to international calls and access to computers for internet usage, at no additional cost. This was our first time staying in a hostel and we would highly recommend this place to travellers of all ages. It certainly deserves the reputation that it has

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenandlaurelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

First time I ever stayed in a hostel was here on a snowboarding trip. Excellent facilities and a great environment to meet people. The staff were fabulous, friendly and willing to help. Recommend you stay here

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Adventure Queenstown surprised me in a number of ways. Most hostels just hand over your key and leave it at that. The staff at AQ take you to your room and on a brief tour to ensure that you know where everything is and that you can enjoy their many ammenities. The staff are eager, helpful and knowledgable. They will freely book any local adventure or transport. The level of customer service offered there was beyond any of the other 6 NZ hostels I've stayed at.

The place is centrally located, clean, has a large kitchen, many fridges, modern sturdy bunks, modern and clean bathroom facilities, comfortable mattresses, decks on two floors with excellent views of town and the mountains beyond. It's a block away from parking and close to the booking agents for just about everything. It's also immediately above the iSite.

Included in my $30 a night stay was access to internet, desktops, ipads, go pros, various sports equipment, bicycles, security lockers, international calls and more! Yes, all that is free with a night's stay.

I was going hiking for a week and they let me store my extra clothes and gear in a security locker for the whole time after only a night's stay. The lockers contain plugs to charge electronics and are all located in a locked room that is under the watch of a HiDef security camera.

Oh, right, and they give everyone a towel! I can't stand travelling with a damp pack towel. Being able to dry off with a real towel and not worry about how to dry it is just superb. A small but incredibly important perk.

Hands down, this is the best hostel I've stayed at and the service was better than all of the dozens and dozens of the 3 star hotels I've stayed at in the states. Book early, because I'm not the only person who highly recommendeds that you stay at Adventure Queenstown.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

You can tell this hostel has put thought into the comfort needs of a backpacker.The beds have two pillows, a towel, and a light for reading.The rooms are quiet and the hostel attracts conscientious travelers so that getting a good night’s sleep is not a problem.The bathrooms are new and luxurious.The free use of wifi, iPads, bikes, etc., is just the icing on the cake. The staff is helpful and knowledgeable about the countless activities in Queenstown and they were right when they suggested I do the Canyon Swing in the afternoon rather than the morning to avoid the post-adrenaline let down. If you are looking to meet other travelers, it’s easy to do here. There is a comfortable lounge area with a giant flat screen and a library of movies to choose from. The open kitchen and the three long tables in the eating area make it easy to connect with others.One evening I had the privilege of dining with the owner. He is well-traveled and was quite generous with his fine wine. AQ is more than just a clean, comfortable, safe place to stay. There’s a sense of community. It can be difficult to leave. It’s obvious that this hostel wants to be the best in the world, and if it is not already, it will be there soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanM753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Normally I don't bother with reviews, but this place was so good it's the least I can do to thank them. Excellent staff. helpful and social. Great location. Nice kitchen and dining area, with roast dinners once a week. Balconies galore. Standard dorm rooms but clean, 2 pillows, plugs by your bed, free storage. Great living room to relax in.

All adds up to a fantastic hostel and atmosphere. Not sure where they could possibly improve it, but you can be damn sure that if you know a way, they would most likely do it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelG467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#8 of 58 in Queenstown
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Queenstown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Queenstown Hostel

Address: 36 Camp Street | 36 Camp Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $24 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing