We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place with everything you need!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adventure Queenstown Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2012

As a single traveller I decided to brave a hostel for the first time and was lucky enough to have found the AQ Hostel in Queenstown. I stayed in a six bed dorm with bathroom. Beds were really comfy, bathroom very new and clean and each bunk has it's own cupboard as well as secure storage in another part of the hostel.
I didn't really use the communal areas but the lounge and kitchen looked great and very well equipped. The staff can't do enough for you and they've certainly thought through all the detail to make your stay easy and enjoyable. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank magicfish79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
There are newer reviews for Adventure Queenstown Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 385 of 449 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

My friend and I stayed in Adventure Queenstown as part of our round the world trip. They were fully booked for 2 of the days in our stay so we had to stay elsewhere and were clawing to get back. The rooms are clean and nice, the showers seperate, the balcony is large and sociable, the kitchen is clean and well equiped with herbs etc. you can swap 50c for an egg in the morning on an honesty basis. The lounge is big enough for the amount of people who use is and there is free tea and coffee all day, the dining area is a decent size, the computers and wifi are free and unlimited. The average age is a little older than we had encountered before so although there was still a drinking/party atmosphere in the evenings and you make plenty of friends to go out with you wont be woken up in the middle of the night by people shouting in the hallways. The staff are friendly and helpful. You can borrow hair dryer and straightners for free. I could go on forever. Basically, if you go to queenstown stay here.

Room Tip: Not all of the rooms have direct access to the balcony
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joannajane89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Perfect central location. we brought a car and never needed to use it. there is free parking close by which is great too. The staff are incredibly helpful and very willing to go the extra mile to help you out when possible. All tours can be booked at hostel reception at no extra cost and they give you an honest opinion on whether the tours are worth the money or not. The atmosphere is great with dinner/movie/quiz nights to get everyone involved. FREE WIFI and they do your washing for you for just 8 dollars

Room Tip: We stayed in a private room which is more like a hotel room with a tv , ensuite bathroom,balcony, ke...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShuvF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Great location, great staff, - fabulous town!!

The best hostel in Queenstown!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julieb2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at double private room with ensuite in this hostel for more privacy. It was located on the top floor and taking our luggage up was a bit difficult though as there are many stairs.

Overall the hostel room is clean with nice town view from the room. Kitchen is well equipped with all the cooking utensils but at times might a bit crowded as there are a lot of people in this hostel. The kitchen is being cleaned everyday which is a thumbs up! If you are looking for a more quiet place to stay, this place is not recommended.

With this price, it is a good budget accomodation in Queenstown.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lwkeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in June and we were extremely impressed with this hostel. We booked a private room with an en suite and the room was absolutely beautiful. It was of much higher standards than many of the budget hotels I have ever stayed in. We had a balcony with a breath taking view of the mountains, a really comfy bed with extra blankets and pillows, the room itself was extremely pretty and cute! The hostel also seemed to have great social areas and has a group dinner one night a week for only $8, unfortunately we missed the dinner being late back from our activity but the smell was amazing and everyone in the hostel was having a great time! It is located right in the centre of Queenstown, walking distance to everything! Would highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Niamh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Excellent location in the middle of Queenstown, with a nice ambiance . I stayed in a room with its own bathroom and a great big shower.
The hostel is very clean and it seems that the management are thinking very innovatively.
The stuff are awesome , they are giving you all the help you need and good advice for what to do in Queenstown and can book trips right away from the reception.
There is a big fully fitted kitchen and twice a week the owner cooks a great dinner for you. There is a movie night and quiz night.
With the exception of laundry, which they do for you, everything is free including wifi!
Best hostel I’ve ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kscheulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#7 of 58 in Queenstown
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure Queenstown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Queenstown Hostel

Address: 36 Camp Street | 36 Camp Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $24 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing