We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent property & host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The B & B on the Hill
Ranked #10 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent property & host”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

susan is amazing! she is not only hospitable, but is extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area. the room is very clean and has amazing views of queenstown. it's about a 5 minute drive to town center. the breakfast is delicious! at an affordable rate, this is a great find!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spatel365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your time in Queenstown, it's very busy at the moment celebrating the New Year. All good wishes to you for 2014. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
79
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I could spend all day just sitting in the common room looking out the sliding glass doors. Absolutely breathtaking. This a very reasonable place to stay for Queenstown (land of the overpriced!), so we were thrilled that it was available on the dates we wanted. Sue was very helpful yet gave us plenty of privacy, which we greatly appreciated. Breakfast was plentiful (toast, croissbats, fruit, yogurt, cereal) with unlimited tea and coffee. Hiking trails are right out the front door, and the main street is a 15 minute walk down the hill. Walking back up the hill was great exercise after dinner! We stayed 3 nights in the Earnslaw room, and it was super clean and comfortable. Will definitely try to stay there if we're in Queenstown again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
I enjoyed meeting you and would be delighted to host you another time if you make it back to Queenstown. thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Thank you " nurse" Susan! We arrived midday, and me, not feeling well, and proceeded to take a 15 hour nap! Susan made us feel at home, letting us make soup in the kitchen, and just allowed us to relax and recuperate from our long journey. Doing laundry while there makes long term travel so much easier also. It,s a bit of a hike up the hill, so one might consider taking a taxi, but the view is definitely worth the effort. It is breathtaking! even in the rain! We were in the room with the lake view, so even in bed, one could enjoy the outsides! there is a balcony if weather permits. Susan provides a complete continental breakfast to start the day. Susan made the airport shuttle reservation for us on the day we left. That was as convenient as a taxi, and much more economical. There are only two rooms, so do make your reservation early!

Room Tip: lake room has sweeping views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exit63terrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
So glad you were refreshed for the rest of your holiday. Tired legs can always catch a taxi back up the hill. Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review it's much appreciated. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a very good experience at B&B on the Hill. We stayed 5 nights and we really enjoyed it. The bedroom had a wonderful view and was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good too. Would definitely recommend. A

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulamagrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hello Paula, Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here. Kind regards, Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Look no further. This B&B is excellently situated with the most amazing view over the lake and to The Remarkables. The place is immaculate and the beds extremely comfortable. Sue is a wonderful hostess and encourages you to hang out by the wood burner at the end of the day and relax. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh. We'll definitely be back and will be sending others her way too.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms. Take The Lake View one if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bidefordbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is much appreciated. Kind regards, Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed two nights in August 2013. Sue was an amazing host. She was willing to have breakfast any time we preferred. She recommended good things to see and do when asked. Queenstown is an amazing town with plenty to do. The views from the B&B and our bedroom were amazingly magnificent! We could not have done better than this B&B in Queenstown!

Room Tip: View the photos, ask questions about anything before hand. This will ensure a great trip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRH49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I do appreciate it when guests write a review. Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiapoi, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while attending a Conference at a local hotel. The view from the lounge and balcony is stunning. Our room was very comfortable and warm and we really enjoyed the spacious and modern ensuite. The room and ensuite was very clean. We also had good off street parking for our station wagon and trailer.

Sue is a wonderful host, very friendly and nothing was a problem ... even when we asked her to get out of bed early to make us breakfast!!! Thanks Sue for a fantastic stay. Paul & Debbie

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaiapoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you Paul and Debbie for writing a review, I am always pleased to help people, make your next visit to Queenstown a holiday! Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
540 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
2.7 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The B & B on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The B & B on the Hill

Property: The B & B on the Hill
Address: 1 Earnslaw Terrace, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The B & B on the Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished in 2010 this home offers well equipped accommodation where you have two options:- - The Lake and Earnslaw double bedrooms offer bed and continental breakfast accommodation at 1 Earnslaw Terrace. These bedrooms have ensuite shower rooms, safe, small fridge, tea/coffee making facility, Sky TV, the Earnslaw has a Queen double bed, the Lake a superking double bed which converts into twin beds if required. There is a comfortable sitting room for guests to use, from which the wonderful views can be seen, in winter cosy by the log burner (the Lake bedroom also has the panoramic views). Maximum occupancy 5 people in total. Minimum stay 2 nights. - The Self catering apartment at 1A Earnslaw Terrace. This accommodation offers two double bedrooms (with superking double beds which convert into twin beds if required), a spacious sitting room, large, well equipped kitchen/diner, large shower room, separate laundry. Maximum occupancy 4. Mininimum stay 3 nights. Access is down a flight of stone steps. There is off street parking, free Wi-Fi, 100% cotton linen and towels, Manuka Honey Body/Hand wash Shampoo/Conditioner. The walk into the centre of Queenstown takes about 20 minutes, so all the many activities the area offers are close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The B & B on the Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing