We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best appointed B & B in New Zealand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The B & B on the Hill
Ranked #10 of 44 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best appointed B & B in New Zealand”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Our second stay with Sue who is a wondeful hostess in such a superb location with breathtaking views of the lake. Everything is top class and beyond reproach. Why the best appointed B & B? Well the layout of the rooms is so well planned with plenty of hanging space, drawer space,room to store the cases and even a space to plug in the phone charger and camera battery. What attention to detail, you are a real star Sue!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sipain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
79
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed at the B&B on the Hill for two nights while in Queenstown. I can't state enough how beautiful the view was - much better than any photograph can capture. We stayed in the lake view room, which was very elegant and roomy. Our host Sue was there right when we arrived. She was very professional and offered to help us make accommodations if needed. The shared space was nice to relax in so you didn't feel cramped up in a room, and the balcony - OH MY!!! so beautiful for a glass of wine or star-gazing.

The continental breakfast options were greatly varied and tasty. The yogurt was exceptional.

The reason for 4 stars instead of 5 are that for the cost, a warm breakfast option would have been nice. While Sue was the perfect host and gave us plenty of personal space, we did miss the friendlier atmosphere we've seen at other B&B's. No complaint to Sue, just a personal preference for a more laid back setting.

Room Tip: Bring your own wine for a glass on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ande2713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Queenstown. I do specify in all my particulars that I just do continental breakfasts and achieving the right level of 'friendliness' is a tricky path to tread, I am sorry if you were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Sue (the owner) was fantastic. Very welcoming yet conscious to allow you your private time. The house is immaculate and sue provided a good healthy breakfast each day. If there are any critisms (and now we are now just being picky) if you are staying 3 or more nights you might want more verity in the brekkie. I am not sure how the price compares to the alternatives but some locals we spoke to indicated that the price we paid this was aimed at the high end traveller.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrTSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I will bear your thoughts in mind regarding breakfast! Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed for 3 nts and from the instant we arrived, we were welcomed into the home! As we arrived on the evening of Valentine's Day, and had sparkling to enjoy, Sue immediately brought out the flute glasses to ensure we had the proper glasses. The view from the front balcony is impressive. The back patio is also nice to enjoy an afternoon glass of wine. The walk into the town center is a comfortable 15-20 min walk. It was very easy to locate. Sue offered good options on things to do in the area. The breakfast was very good. There was absolutely nothing negative about our stay here. Instead, it enhanced our memories of Queenstown!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicknElsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Rick & Elsie thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in Queenstown. Best wishes, Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Spent one night here, wish it had been more. What a delight when we walked through the front door to that amazing view! Our bedroom was perfect, in fact the best bed out of ten that we slept in during our trip! Sue is a lovely host and the breakfast - to die for. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerflump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

My husband and I recently spent a night at the B & B On The Hill, Queenstown, New Zealand. It was a fabulous location with a fabulous view. The room wasoutstanind, and there was great attention to detail. Susan was a great hostess and gave us many suggestions as to what we should see while we were in Queenstown. From our travels around New Zealand and staying at many B & B's, our only suggestion would be that she offer a cooked breakfast along with the continental breakfast. We would certainly stay at the B & B on the Hill again and recommend it to our friends. Queenstown is probably our favourite place to visit on the South Island. Thank you......hope to see you soon again!

Room Tip: The room with the view over the water was outstanding. It almost takes your breath away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoLady46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Sue Wilson has done a great job of refurbishing her wonderfully located home which she kindly gave us the run of. The view from the sitting room window is what every visitor to this town would hope to find and e wry mod con was available - a great place to stay

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sola_bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.6 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#3 of 58 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The B & B on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The B & B on the Hill

Property: The B & B on the Hill
Address: 1 Earnslaw Terrace, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The B & B on the Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished in 2010 this home offers well equipped accommodation where you have two options:- - The Lake and Earnslaw double bedrooms offer bed and continental breakfast accommodation at 1 Earnslaw Terrace. These bedrooms have ensuite shower rooms, safe, small fridge, tea/coffee making facility, Sky TV, the Earnslaw has a Queen double bed, the Lake a superking double bed which converts into twin beds if required. There is a comfortable sitting room for guests to use, from which the wonderful views can be seen, in winter cosy by the log burner (the Lake bedroom also has the panoramic views). Maximum occupancy 5 people in total. Minimum stay 2 nights. - The Self catering apartment at 1A Earnslaw Terrace. This accommodation offers two double bedrooms (with superking double beds which convert into twin beds if required), a spacious sitting room, large, well equipped kitchen/diner, large shower room, separate laundry. Maximum occupancy 4. Mininimum stay 3 nights. Access is down a flight of stone steps. There is off street parking, free Wi-Fi, 100% cotton linen and towels, Manuka Honey Body/Hand wash Shampoo/Conditioner. The walk into the centre of Queenstown takes about 20 minutes, so all the many activities the area offers are close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your The B & B on the Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing