We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at a wonderful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bearsden Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We couldn't have been made to feel more welcome at the Bearsden. The facilities were fantastic, the hot tub was the perfect way to relax and we couldn't fault the location! Ideally placed midway between Queenstown and the beautiful Arrowtown.

We had 4 great nights with Margie, Ned and Bruno. We will be recommending them to all of our friends and family.

The breakfasts were spot on and kept us going during all of your adventures in Queenstown.

Thanks for making our Honeymoon so special!

Jess & Chris

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hi Jess & Chris
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.It was lovely to meet you both and so glad you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us. All the best for 2013 and beyond.
Warm regards.............Margie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Bearsden Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 123 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

Bearsden B & B was our final stay in NZ and we enjoyed 4 wonderful nights there. Margie warmly welcomed us on our arrival and the friendliness of both Margie and Ned was terrific. This was the only B & B that offered a choice of breakfast dishes and we were excited to choose one each afternoon for the following morning. They kept us going most of the day and Margie could be a 'barista' the coffee was so good. One afternoon when we got home and sat relaxing under the shade of the umbrella, Margie offered us a piece of her homemade banana bread with yoghurt. Now that's being spoilt. Our room had views of Coronet Peak and had everything we needed. There was a hot tub on the back decking for our use and a very comfortable lounge room. Bearsden is very close to a lovely place called Arrowtown that became a favourite spot for us to visit so it's in a perfect location. Close to wineries and other activities that would keep you busy for days. Thank you so much Margie and Ned :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebRed_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hi Deb
Thank you so much for your review and kind words and so soon after your stay with us. It was great to meet some fellow Australians and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The Millbrook Masters is on at the moment, perhaps we will see you back here next year for that. All the best. Margie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I'm sorry to sound like every other review of the Bearsden B&B, but I have to agree with their comments. My wife and I have never had a better time at a B&B. You simply won't find a nicer couple than Margie and Ned running a B&B (not to mention their sweetheart of a lab, Bruno). Margie's breakfasts (you choose the night before from among three choices - the french toast was our favorite) are fabulous and filling. We got lucky and were the only guests at the B&B for our three nights, so we got extra attention from Margie and Ned. We even took a walk with Bruno.

You should know that the Bearsden is about 15 minutes outside the center of Queenstown, but that only puts you closer to the nice shops and restaurants of Arrowtown, an old gold-mining settlement, where we ate twice. Looking out of your room (or when soaking in their hot tub) you see Coronet Peak in the distance and horses grazing in the nearby fields. What a view and a lot quieter than the hubbub of Queenstown. Margie's restaurant recommendations were on the mark. Do not hesitate to choose the Bearsden. You will, like us, be sad to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomtravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hello there
Sorry for my late response, but Ned and I have been enjoying a break ourselves.
It was lovely to meet you both and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoyed talking with you both about dogs and your home and history. Thank you very much for your review. All the best for 2013. Best regards Margie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We started a 5-week visit to New Zealand with 4 nights at Bearsden B&B (Feb 2013). Originally we were supposed to be there a year ago, but a broken foot delayed our trip. Friends who we were due to travel with in NZ had reported that Bearsden was their fave of a similarly extended visit, and we are happy to repeat that endorsement. Margie and Ned do it right, from the warm greetings to the delish breakfasts, to smart advice on where to hike/walk, great restaurants in Arrowtown (quieter than QT), and an atmosphere of energizing tranquility. I even got to practice my guitar, and Margie had kindly recommended a local hairdresser so I didn't get too shaggy on our extended vacation abroad. The setting is lovely (just a few minutes outside Queenstown, but close enough to everything), the hot tub was a treat under the starry skies, the bed comfy, and more. We are happy to recommend Bearsden... we stayed at another 5 B&Bs in NZ, both South and North Island, and Bearsden was really a star in the bunch. Enjoy your visit!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CopperDogMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Hello to NY
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It's appreciated. I enjoyed finally meeting you after a year of correspondence and our interesting discussions. I've yet to down load SkyWalk, but will do that for our holiday. NY is another of the places we wish to visit-I'll let you know if we make it there-hopefully in the next few years. All the best. Thanks again. Margie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

After a busy and tiring excursion through southeastern Australia my wife and I arrived in Queenstown, New Zealand for a four-day stay with Margie and Ned at their Bearsden Bed and Breakfast. We could not have made a better choice of accommodation. From the moment of our arrival until our (sad) departure we were treated wonderfully. Our room, the Premier Room, was comfortable and spotless and the complimentary wine and cheese platter were highly satisfactory. The breakfasts Margie and Ned prepared were both delicious and nutritious and were accompanied by pleasant views of Coronet Peak and The Remarkables. Margie and Ned (at our prompting) shared tales of their former lives and discussion of local affairs along with valuable sightseeing advice. Margie arranged the booking of several excursions and pointed us in the right direction for evening meals. Once we’d proven ourselves worthy we were allowed to romp with Bruno and even took him for a swim in a nearby pond. In summary, our (much too short) time with Margie and Ned was the highlight of our trip down under. We would unconditionally recommend the Bearsden Bed and Breakfast to anyone seeking a convenient and comfortable accommodation managed by gracious and capable hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Hello again
Thanks so much for your review. Ned and I really enjoyed your company and your love for Bruno. I think I should be getting him to write the thank you reviews as he seems to feature quiet a lot. I will email you a picture of Bruno now and then and keep you posted as to what we are up to. All the best. Margie & Ned

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed at Bearsden for a couple of nights. The location is perfect, scenic and relaxing and 15 min from center of Queenstown. The hosts Margie and Ned were wonderful. Margie always had time for us every morning over a very good breakfast to talk and linger over cups of coffee. We were made to feel very welcome at the B&B it was like staying with relatives. They make you feel as if you are part of the family. Margie and Ned always gave us good advise when we needed info as regards to restaurants and things to do. The room was lovely with breathtaking views. We had a patio with deck chairs. It was decorated very tastefully and had all amenities. We could also use the family living room which was very cosy. Margie used to leave us a bottle of local wine, some cheese and homemade chutney. A very appreciated gesture.I cannot not mention Bruno the beautiful and friendly Lab. I missed my dog so much and he filled up that empty space. I missed him when we left. He was simply adorable. All in all we had a wonderful time in Queenstown at Bearsden and I would recommend this B & B any time. Thanks Marg and Ned

Room Tip: Both rooms at Bearsden are vey nice
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Hi Jennifer
Thank you so much for your review. I really enjoyed talking with you both over breakfast and learning more about Malta. I'm serious about visiting your city so please stay in touch. Great to meet you both and thanks again. Margie, Ned and Bruno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We did start the New Year with Margie and Ned and stayed for two nights. It was fabulous. Especially the bottle of champaign on day one of 2013 :-) Margie and Ned are perfect hosts. Thanks very much for the advices about the area and ideas of what to see and do - also when it is raining the whole day. Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birgit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Hello again
Thank you so much for your review and kind words. I'm glad the weather and disrupts didn't spoil your experience of the South Island. Look forward to meeting you both again if possilbe.
Best wishes for 2013. Margie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
6.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,403 reviews
6.4 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#8 of 58 in Queenstown
443 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
10.7 mi away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#2 of 43 in Queenstown
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearsden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearsden Bed and Breakfast

Address: 333 Lower Shotover Road | Speargrass Flat, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: $178 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury B & B is located in a rural setting 15 mins drive from Queenstown central, yet only 7 minutes drive from Queenstown airport and 5 minutes drive from historic Arrowtown. A choice of 2 bedrooms with ensuites, views to Coronet Peak, private guest lounge, outdoor spa, free mountain bikes, espresso coffee, great hosts. Smoke free inside and out. Not recommended for children under 15 years. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing