We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique B&B at Bearsden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bearsden Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Naxxar Malta
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unique B&B at Bearsden”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed at Bearsden for a couple of nights. The location is perfect, scenic and relaxing and 15 min from center of Queenstown. The hosts Margie and Ned were wonderful. Margie always had time for us every morning over a very good breakfast to talk and linger over cups of coffee. We were made to feel very welcome at the B&B it was like staying with relatives. They make you feel as if you are part of the family. Margie and Ned always gave us good advise when we needed info as regards to restaurants and things to do. The room was lovely with breathtaking views. We had a patio with deck chairs. It was decorated very tastefully and had all amenities. We could also use the family living room which was very cosy. Margie used to leave us a bottle of local wine, some cheese and homemade chutney. A very appreciated gesture.I cannot not mention Bruno the beautiful and friendly Lab. I missed my dog so much and he filled up that empty space. I missed him when we left. He was simply adorable. All in all we had a wonderful time in Queenstown at Bearsden and I would recommend this B & B any time. Thanks Marg and Ned

Room Tip: Both rooms at Bearsden are vey nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi Jennifer
Thank you so much for your review. I really enjoyed talking with you both over breakfast and learning more about Malta. I'm serious about visiting your city so please stay in touch. Great to meet you both and thanks again. Margie, Ned and Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
104
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We did start the New Year with Margie and Ned and stayed for two nights. It was fabulous. Especially the bottle of champaign on day one of 2013 :-) Margie and Ned are perfect hosts. Thanks very much for the advices about the area and ideas of what to see and do - also when it is raining the whole day. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birgit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello again
Thank you so much for your review and kind words. I'm glad the weather and disrupts didn't spoil your experience of the South Island. Look forward to meeting you both again if possilbe.
Best wishes for 2013. Margie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at Bearsden for 2 nights in December. Pretty much everything has already been said in the previous reviews, but we wanted to add yet another positive one – Margie and Ned definitely deserve it! Their effort in this B&B is amazing and guests are cared for in every possible way – spacious, spotlessly clean bedroom and bathroom, a cosy guest lounge, gorgeous breakfast with plenty of choice (thank you for the French toast with blueberries and for the corn fritters….first time I'd ever eaten salmon for breakfast!), precious pieces of advice, pleasant chats, a playful dog, stunning views... and the spa outside is a real treat, especially at night – perfect for stargazing! A huge thank you to Margie and Ned, if we ever return to NZ this B&B will be our first choice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara_Mattia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hi Lara
Wonderful to get your review and hear from you. Thank you for your lovely comments. We enjoyed talking with you both and will certainly look you up when we make it back to Europe.
All the best for 2013. Warm regards Margie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 lovely days with Margie and Ned (and Bruno) at the Bearsden. We loved being nestled between the Remarkables and Coronet Mountain peaks. With wine and cheese and Hummingbird Cake for treats, we enjoyed the comfort and friendliness of perfect hosts at this delightful B&B. Bikes were readily available to us as well as information and maps for our day trips. Their spring garden was just starting to bloom and we enjoyed the lovely breakfasts made for us each morning. We highly recommend a stay here and hope others enjoy it as much as we did.

Room Tip: Our upgraded room was roomier with a beautiful view of the garden and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hi Lauren
Thank you for your lovely review and I am sorry it has taken me this long to respond. It is a busy time of year for us now. Thankfully we are having great weather. I enjoyed talking with you both and hearing about your home and family history. All the best for 2013.
Warm regards Margie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I and my husband stayed in Bearsden B&B for two nights, it is the most comfortable and relaxing B&B we had ever been, we regretted not to stay longer there~We can enjoy the beautiful view from our bedroom everyday and we can occupy the ground floor,including the sitting room and the garden, so that we could enjoy high privacy during our stay. Besides, they cooked delicious breakfast!! We can feel their "heart" in serving us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katelau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hi K & T
Thank you for your lovely review and sorry for taking so long to respond. We enjoyed meeting you both and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You certainly covered a bit of the South Island while you were here. All the best and thanks again.
Margie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I began our NZ South Island holiday, staying at Bearsden for our first 3 nights.As it was raining when we arrived, Margie met us with umbrellas, showed us to our lovely spacious room and explained about various things to do and see around Queenstown. A complimentary bottle of a local pinot and a cheese plater was a lovely apertiser before we dined at their suggested restaurant. Both Margie and Ned cooked breakfast for us the next day - fresh juice, beautiful coffee and delicious corn fritters. The following evening we enjoyed an hour chatting with them in the cosy guest loungeroom. The views were superb, rooms and service impeccable and our hosts were delightful - all the reasons why we choose to stay in B&B's rather than hotels. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hi Margaret
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for writing it so soon after your stay with us. We both enjoyed your company over breakfast and also over whisky later on-that was a real bonus for us. Thank you for choosing to stay at Bearsden. We look forward to seeing you again. In your home town or back here.
Warm regards for Christmas and all the best for 2013.
Margie, Ned and Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon in February and were delighted with this B&B. From the spacious comfy rooms, to the well equipped living room and the excellent hosts, we had a lovely time. In particular we enjoyed the homemade juice and choice of breakfast every morning, and Margi and Ned always had helpful advice on where to go for the day. The B&B was that extra bit special for us due to the attention from Bruno, their lovely Labrador, and the hot tub which was a welcome respite after a bike ride round the local lake. We would highly recommend for both summer and winter holidays.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y0rkshire_R0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi guys
Thanks so much for your review. It was nice to meet you both and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Bruno is still going strong. I hope you have a nice winter. All the best. Margie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
6.9 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
6.4 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#7 of 58 in Queenstown
429 reviews
6.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
1.5 mi away
Speargrass Rise Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearsden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearsden Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bearsden Bed and Breakfast
Address: 333 Lower Shotover Road | Speargrass Flat, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury B & B is located in a rural setting 15 mins drive from Queenstown central, yet only 7 minutes drive from Queenstown airport and 5 minutes drive from historic Arrowtown. A choice of 2 bedrooms with ensuites, views to Coronet Peak, private guest lounge, outdoor spa, free mountain bikes, espresso coffee, great hosts. Smoke free inside and out. Not recommended for children under 15 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Bearsden Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing