We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you read is true!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bearsden Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 44 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The main reason I am writing this review is that when I read reviews, I look for a theme that gets repeated by vacationers over time. Thus, when you read about the hospitality of the hosts, the beauty of the location, the comfort of the bed and quality of the linens, the unique and tasteful decor, the plethora of amenities, the proximity to a myriad of outdoor adventures, the delish breakfast (and that juice, oh my, sooo yummy!), well, rest assured, we are all seeing the same thing: this B and B is a breath of fresh air not a ten-minute drive from the hustle and bustle of Queenstown. In addition, I like the privacy of the set-up in that you have your own entrance, deck area, lounge w/fireplace etc. while still being able to experience a connection with the host-owners. It does not get any better than this, that's for certain!

Room Tip: There are two rooms, one is adjacent to the hot tub, the other is several feet away from the hot tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Hi you 2
Good to hear you made it back to Canada safe and sound. Thank you for your lovely review. Once again we appreciate the time it takes travellers to post reviews especially so soon after their return home when they surely have so many other priorities.
We would love to see you both again and hope that you may make it back this way.
Thanks again...............Margie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 123 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2012

As Kiwis it is great to know that places like Bearsden exist in our own country not only for us to enjoy but perhaps more importantly to give overseas visitors a fantastic New Zealand experience. Margie and Ned were very welcoming and extremely knowledgeable about the beautiful area in which they live. The bedroom and living area were both comfortable and stylish and the decks, garden and spa pool meant there was room to spread out. The location is quiet and very handy to the skifields (you can see the Coronet Peak ski runs from the bedroom), wineries and all the other many attractions offered by Arrowtown and Queenstown.
The breakfasts were delicious, Neds french toast was ooh la la, closely followed by Margies omelette. So go enjoy a little slice of Kiwi heaven and give Bruno a pat from us!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSimpsons59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We know how busy people are when they get back from travelling so we really appreicate reviews and it is great to get some from our fellow Kiwis.
We would certainly love to see more Kiwi's visit us and the skiing is great in winter with Coronet Peak just 20 minutes drive from home (providing the roads are clear).
Hopefully Ned and I will see you again this year. All the best. Margie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

My husband and I spent new years eve and 2 additional nights at this beautiful property. It was the perfect place to end a day full of activity, with amazing views and extremely comfortable living areas. Its a lovely get-away from the crowds in Queenstown and also close to Arrowtown, which has great places to eat. Thanks Ned and Margi for being great hosts and the room upgrade. We loved every minute of our stay with you and hugely appreciate the inconvenience we put you through with our early morning starts. Breakfast was yum and we are looking forward to coming back to your warm hospitality!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SajdaHussain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Hi you 2
Nice to hear from you and to get your lovely review. Thanks for taking the time to write it. It wasn't a problem getting up early to get you breakfast. Gives us an early start to the day too. Ned and I would love to see you both again here and we would also love to visit your homeland too so please stay in touch. All the best. Margie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Arrived at Bearsden to be welcomed by Ned, Margie and Bruno the super friendly lab. Nice comfortable room, very quiet location with unbelievable views, and so close to the town and activities. We got so much good advice form Ned & Margie, tips on the best way to enjoy our stay, a lovely garden, fresh veggies, and eggs that were used to make a superb 5* breakfast.
Will stay again, and recommend to all travelers appreciating the better things in life. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: We had the Premier room, but other room was good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flashman974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. Thanks also for adding your pictures.
I hope the rest of your stay in NZ went well. We look forward to seeing you again. All the best. Margie, Ned and Bruno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Location:
A bit outside of queenstown (10 min drive) and a bit outside of arrowtown (10 min as well) thisB&B is situated on a very quite road in the middle of nowhere that has the distinct advantage of it being very very quiet at night and to give you very good view to Coronet peak. If you think this is too noisy there would be no place on earth quiet enough for you. A large garden with beautiful trees. The entrance is easily missed especially in the dark so drive slowly on the road.

Communal areas:
A very nice and comfortable room with good seating oppportunities, a nice fireplace (which was ready to be lit on every evening) lots of books and some Whisky, all in all very comfortable and relaxing. Very nice way to spend the evening looking at the fire and reading. A very nice outdoor jacuzzi with a spectacular view of Coronet peak, very recommended to have a spa and a bubbly there. The dining room was well decorated with an open kitchen.

Hosts:
We felt immediately at home and were greeted outside, help with the luggage was offered and we were shown our room, the communal areas and received a nice cold beer (very good after 10 hours on the road). Marge was very helpful for the restaurants in the evening (see reviews on Thai restaurant and Saffron in Arrowtown). The next morning we had a nice talk over breakfast and again she was very helpful in all things needed and required and full of goood advice as well as on the last morning in helping us finding nice wineries to the east. And of course there was Bruno, nice big dog always hungry and always willing to be patted. Wonderful and very helpful experience.

Breakfast:

We are not quite sure if it was the best or second best breakfast we had in New Zealand but anyway it was excellent. Freshly made juices (ginger-carrot) large fruit platters, toast and cereals and á la carte cooked breakfast with some special items on the menu. We strongly recommend the salmon item. Large portions so no need to eat anything until dinner.

Rooms:

Not on the big side but with all needed amenities, a fridge, a large bed with electrical heating, a nice bath a TV and came with a turndown service with some nice chocolates. Very well decorated. The only potential minus would be the glass doors and windows so for privacy you ahd to close the curtains.

All in all a wonderful place to stay for a couple days, we recommend at least two, because a) there is so much to do and see in the vicinity and b) to be able to enjoy the cooked breakfast items.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2012

Hello
Thank you so much for your review. I appreciate that you have taken the time to write it and it is well detailed. I am glad you found the place quiet. We do get some road noise, but that is during the day. At night it is very quiet and also very dark without any street lighting. So as you said, good idea to drive slow when you are looking for our house and also to try and arrive during the day.
Anyway, I hope your winter has not been too harsh as it sounds like it has been in places. Some autumn colours are starting to show here and then winter won't be far off for us. I guess you will be looking forward to spring.
All the best and thanks for coming to stay and for your nice review.
Warm regards
Margie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Firstly I'd like to thank Margie and her lovely labrador Bruno for their hospitality, we unfortunately didn't get to meet Ned during our stay but Margie more than ensured that everything was covered. Can't think of a need or want that was left unfilled really. Margie was also kind enough to offer us a room upgrade for our 4 nights there.

Bearsden is a little out of the way, 10-15min drive from Queenstown but if you're considering staying here that's probably exactly what you want. The drive is short and never felt like a chore even though we had to venture into Queenstown once or twice each day. It's extremely tranquil especially having come from a bustling city environment, and I can't think of a more relaxing thing than having a late night soak in the hot tub surrounded by nothing but trees and the dark sky.

Rooms are well appointed and comfortable if not huge, and breakfasts were always fantastic. Thanks once again to Margie for gone out of her way to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weimsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2011

Hi Guys
Thank you so much for your review and I am sorry I am just getting around to saying thanks. It was nice to meet you both and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in NZ. You certainly packed a lot into the time you were in Queenstown. All the best. Margie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Our review can add little to the others but we so enjoyed our time here that I wanted to add it anyway. Marge and Ned are such thoughtful and generous hosts. They really want you to feel at home in luxurious surroundings. We were a party of 4 so the use of our own lounge was especially welcome. We were travelling for 4 weeks and stayed in some lovely places but this one beats the lot.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisD3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2011

Hi Chris
Thank you for your review and sorry for my delay in responding. No doubt you are back in the cold weather now and hopefully you had a nice white Christmas. It has been very hot since you all left and we have been very busy. All the best for 2012 and thanks once again.
Best regards to you all............Margie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
5.3 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
6.1 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
4.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
1,458 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 59 in Queenstown
908 reviews
10.5 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#3 of 59 in Queenstown
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearsden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearsden Bed and Breakfast

Address: 333 Lower Shotover Road | Speargrass Flat, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: $170 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury B & B is located in a rural setting 15 mins drive from Queenstown central, yet only 7 minutes drive from Queenstown airport and 5 minutes drive from historic Arrowtown. A choice of 2 bedrooms with ensuites, views to Coronet Peak, private guest lounge, outdoor spa, free mountain bikes, espresso coffee, great hosts. Smoke free inside and out. Not recommended for children under 15 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Bearsden Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing