We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bearsden Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Leeton, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Stunning”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I really can't rave about this B&B enough. The owners (Ned and Margie) have created a tranquil & secluded environment that really does enable you to relax and take in the beautiful surroundings.

Ned & Margie have a great local knowledge and their willingness to help plan trips and general advice on what to see and do was greatly appreciated.

The location is an easy 5 min drive from Queenstown in one direction and Arrowtown in the other direction.

The food was great as well as the friendly conversation. The facilities were first class all the way.

My tip… have an outdoor spa while gazing at Coronet Peak as the backdrop...WOW

Seriously people stay here..you won't regret it

Room Tip: Either room - they are both great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete_n_Megs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
104
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We first stayed with Margie & Ned back in November 2010. Our first stay here was the perfect end to our first trip to Queenstown NZ.

We loved Queenstown & our stay at Bearsden so much that we came back again in July 2011

It really is a fantastic B&B from the cosy room, to the lovely lounge, the yummy a la carte breakfast. Margie's home made juice is the best and not to forget the spa of course and view of Cornet Peak.

But most of all it was the hospitality which made our stay the most enjoyable. Her tips & advise of what to see and where to eat were most helpful.

I would highly recommend this place for anyone who loves a B & B and is looking for a relaxing stay whilst in Queenstown.

For us we would vote this the best B&B that we have ever stayed at both here in NZ & Australia!!

Room Tip: Its also a great location with close approximity to Queenstown, Arrowtown, the Ski Fields & the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed only 2 nights in June 2011 but wished we could have stayed longer. Margie upgraded us to the Premier room which was a lovely surprise. The Bearsden is such a wonderful place to say and Margie, Ned and Bruno (the dog) are great hosts. We enjoyed the private lounge, spa and the wonderful cooked breakfast. The free range eggs and freshly squeezed juice were outstanding. Ned also makes a great coffee  We really appreciated the attention to detail and the lovely surroundings. We will be sure to mention this wonderful B&B to all our friends and family. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: book in advance and try and get the Premier Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayley_abbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed only 1 night in the Premier room but wished we could stay longer to enjoy the vue, the cosy lounge and above all the amazing breakfast prepared by Margie and Ned (the specially made fruit juice of Ned was delicious !). The spa was awesome :-)
We appreciated the privacy of the house and the attention for details.
We will surely be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanLucNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

My boyfriend and I were traveling from Florida to New Zealand to travel both the North and South Island as a vacation and also to attend a wedding in Queenstown. We spent most of our trip traveling and sleeping in a van but decided to relax and treat ourselves to a nicer accommodation for the wedding weekend.

What a choice we made! Right when we got to the house Margie, Ned, and their adorable Lab Bruno met us at their gate. They even so kindly let us arrive early to accommodate our plans. We didn't have much time to settle in as we had to get to the wedding but Margie was so nice to drive us herself to get us there quickly and so we would be able to enjoy ourselves for the evening a take a cab back at our leisure.

We spent the next two nights at the Bearsden in the most beautiful and relaxing setting. We stayed in the premier room which was so cozy and very private. We had our own entrance to come and go as well as access to the hot tub and a living room with a cute little fireplace as we wanted to. Margie and Ned made us an incredible meal both mornings in the their dining room. I highly recommend the spinach feta omelette and wash it down with Ned's fine coffee making skills and fancy espresso machine. One of the best flat white's I had all trip! Ned and Margie spent time and sat with us to give us the best advice to make of our short time in the area. They have both been in the area for a very long time so they had wonderful tips and advice for not only our time there but for our further travels.

We were so happy we made the choice to stay here. Not only was the accommodation beyond superior, the hosts were so lovely to meet and chat with. We had the best experience you possibly could in a B&B. Absolutely our favorite place we stayed on our whole trip!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 19, 2011
Hi Guys
Thanks for your lovely review. Ned and I enjoyed meeting you both and it was no problem dropping you off at the wedding. Thanks also for adding the pictures. The one of the gate entrance is perfect. Lets people know when they have arrived. I hope you have a great summer and you can make it back here again some day. Best wishes. Margie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder Creek, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2011

My husband I travel extensively and have stayed in many different types of accommodations. In NZ we only stayed in B & B's. During our 4 week travels the Bearsden had by far the best amenities. Margie and Ned were both wonderful hosts. We were the only ones staying for the two nights so Margie upgraded us to the Premier room - compliments of the house. We were so touched and delighted. It is a beautiful room with coffee maker, snacks, a refrigerator with cream for the coffee, wine opener, internet, really anything you might need. We had robes in the bathroom. We really liked the location which was 10 minutes from Queenstown. I can't imagine actually staying in Queenstown - much too noisy and way too frenetic. This was quiet, beautiful room. We both slept so well. Ned and Margie's entire home is beautifully done. The mountain views are stunning. You get to choose your breakfast each morning from two selections. Margie makes delicious fresh vegetable/fruit juice every morning. The food was healthy, fresh, well made and beautifully presented. Every care was taken to make us feel at home and welcome. Our first morning, Sunday, Ned was there so we all gathered in the kitchen and we requested they eat with us. We had a lovely time talking, laughing and sharing experiences. My husband and I really felt we were experiencing New Zealand with friends rather than just staying at a B & B. It was our favorite part of visiting the area. Their dog is adorable and so friendly and incredibly well behaved - just wanted to take him with us. Margie and Ned Thank-you for making the trip so memorable!! We highly recommend the Bearsden B & B!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 44Osprey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Bearsden for 1 night while the Arrowtown Autumn Festival was on. Coming from a farm we wanted to stay out in the countryside but be close enough to town and that it was, with both Queenstown and Arrowtown in very easy reach.

Our room was modern, warm and very comfortable, the guest lounge has a lovely relaxing feel to it and with a fantastic breakfast it finished off our stay beautifully.

Thank you Margie and Ned for you are wonderful hosts who are very approachable and knowledgeable. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klccd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
6.9 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
6.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
3.9 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#25 of 58 in Queenstown
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
5.8 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
540 reviews
10.7 mi away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#3 of 43 in Queenstown
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearsden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearsden Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bearsden Bed and Breakfast
Address: 333 Lower Shotover Road | Speargrass Flat, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury B & B is located in a rural setting 15 mins drive from Queenstown central, yet only 7 minutes drive from Queenstown airport and 5 minutes drive from historic Arrowtown. A choice of 2 bedrooms with ensuites, views to Coronet Peak, private guest lounge, outdoor spa, free mountain bikes, espresso coffee, great hosts. Smoke free inside and out. Not recommended for children under 15 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Bearsden Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing