We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST DO WHEN IN QUEENSTOWN!!!!!”

Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters
Book In Advance
More Info
$245.08*
and up
30-Minute Alpine Scenic Flight from Queenstown
More Info
$174.53*
and up
20-Minute Remarkables Helicopter Tour from Queenstown
More Info
$408.47*
and up
50-Minute Glacier Explorer Flight from Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glacier Southern Lakes is Queenstown's leading scenic heli-flight company with a reputation of providing a high standard of professionalism and service. We offer daily scenic helicopter tours over the mountains, lakes, glaciers and fiords in and around Middle-earth, Queenstown, Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park & Mt Aspiring National Park. Alpine or snow landings are part of all our flights and glacier landings are included in all our Milford Sound flights. We have the most experienced team of helicopter pilots in Queenstown who will share their extensive local knowledge with you. For Lord of the Rings and the Hobbit fans we can show you many of the Queenstown film locations like nobody else, with pilots who were part of the film crew.
Shellharbour, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A MUST DO WHEN IN QUEENSTOWN!!!!!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I had never been to Queenstown, New Zealand before, and we had never flown in a Helicopter either, so we made a deal based on my wishes, where if she was to get into a Helicopter, I'd have to endure the soreness of the saddle and go Horse Riding while we were in Queenstown!!!!!

I'm so glad to have settled the deal, as this was one of the BEST things that I have ever done!!!!!

Right from the start, the Crew at Glacier Southern Lakes are Professional, Courteous, and Friendly!!!!!

Our Pilot Chris, explained heaps along the way to and from Milford Sound, with two Breathtaking stops on Tutoko Glacier & a Beach on the remote West Coast of New Zealand's South Island!!!!!

Words (And for that matter pictures as well) will never describe the beauty and exhilaration of seeing this area by Helicopter!!!!!

So, the only thing I can say is, DO IT!!!!! And see for yourself!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mizu_Kuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierSouthernLakes, Manager at Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Mizu_Kuma,
GSLH were so very pleased to fly you both and give you an experience you will never forget. The photos are just wonderful and we hope we can make many more people like yourselves very very happy with our scenic flights. Thank you for your review and we hope to see your friends and family for the same experience you had.
Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    16
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oamaru, Otago, New Zealand
2 reviews
“a fantastic service”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I have had four flights into the local mountains with Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters with there chief pilot Stefan Poplawski at the controls, the service was Fantastic.i will be back for some more next year.Thanks

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing experience....Fantastic service”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Arranged a helicopter trip for my girlfriend and I, with the idea of proposing. Spoke with Peter from glacier southern lakes helicopters who was more then happy to accommodate with making it extremely special. On arrival Peter was excellent in keeping everything under raps and even organising some bubble for when we touched down at the top of the mountain. Our pilot Andy was awesome taking us to a different location then first planned, as he thought it would be better landing in the snow (which it was). He was also extremely good with the small talk trying to calm my nerves! On arrival on the top Andy pointed out a few spots that had some good views which were perfect. He then took our camera and managed to take lots of good photos of the proposal and the immediate reactions. We spent a good 15 minutes enjoying the amazing views. After we had landed and were waiting for our transfer back to town. The guys threw in an extra little surprise with another flight to the top of the gondola with pilot Chris. It was completely unexpected and just made the experience unforgettable!!! If your thinking of going on a helicopter ride whilst in Queenstown, go see Pete, Andy and Chris at glacier southern lakes helicopters!!! great guys and highly recommend them!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank benrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A truly epic experience”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had the pleasure of flying to Milford sound with Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters and OMG what a trip.
Took off from Queenstown airport and flew out past Glenorchy to land high up in the mountains on a glacier for everyone to get out to take some amazing pictures. We had plenty of time to walk around and enjoy the view before we took again and made our way over the southern alps to touch down at the Tassie sea right on the beach. Again we had plenty of time to walk around to enjoy the scenery and take pictures. After enjoying the sound of the Tassie sea we took off again to fly into Milford Sound to enjoy all the waterfalls, snow covered mountain peaks and breath taking nature. The third landing is in Milford Sound were we had 30 min which I spend on doing a nice little walk. To finish it all off we flew back over the southern alps towards Glenorchy to cross over Lake Wakatipu and then back into Queenstown.

If you wanna experience Milford Sound to the full extent, this is the trip to do!

The staff is absolutely amazing, super friendly, helpful and I can highly recommend everybody who is traveling to Queenstown to go experience a flight with these guys.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TomBro1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierSouthernLakes, Manager at Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi Tombro1984, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We love reading what our passengers have to say about their experiences. I will forward to the team, as I know they love to receive feedback too. It will certainly give them great pleasure in reading this. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A brilliant way to see Queenstown”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Hopped on one of the scenic flights. Was amazing, definitely one of the MUST DOS' while in Queenstown. Check in staff very friendly and accommodating, pilot great and gave great commentary. Loved it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyfromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing