We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WooHoo!!! The highlight of my holiday”

Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters
Book In Advance
More Info
$249.65*
and up
30-Minute Alpine Scenic Flight from Queenstown
More Info
$179.90*
and up
20-Minute Remarkables Helicopter Tour from Queenstown
More Info
$418.53*
and up
50-Minute Glacier Explorer Flight from Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glacier Southern Lakes is Queenstown's leading scenic heli-flight company with a reputation of providing a high standard of professionalism and service. We offer daily scenic helicopter tours over the mountains, lakes, glaciers and fiords in and around Middle-earth, Queenstown, Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park & Mt Aspiring National Park. Alpine or snow landings are part of all our flights and glacier landings are included in all our Milford Sound flights. We have the most experienced team of helicopter pilots in Queenstown who will share their extensive local knowledge with you. For Lord of the Rings and the Hobbit fans we can show you many of the Queenstown film locations like nobody else, with pilots who were part of the film crew.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Wow. Wow. Wow. After a mega snow storm the previous day, and perfect weather the day of our flight, we could not have picked a better day to do this.

We chose a 35 minute flight with an alpine snow landing and it was just awesome. Truly exhilarating . The flight was incredible and then we were on top of the world, shin deep in snow and felt like the only people on the planet. And our pilot, Buck Rogers, (yes that's his name) gave us an excellent commentary of what we were flying over.

If you only do one thing in Queenstown, do this.

Thank ufoundlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierSouthernLakes, Public Relations Manager at Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you for your compliments and sharing your pictures - they're certainly worth more than a thousand words! Weather is the one part of the experience that we can't control so it would be rude of us to take all the credit but it sounds like to you got extremely spoilt with all the fresh snow & timed your flight to perfection!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

427 - 431 of 473 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

Absolutely awesome experience!! Staff were so friendly and professional. Definitly want to take another flight in the future!! Thanks so much for the experience

Thank Briar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We recently did the helicopter to milford sound, the cruise, then helicopter back with glacial landing. Without a doubt it was the single most amazing experience of my life! The helicopter ride was fun and exciting, and standing a top the snow covered glacier was out of this world. The crew at Glacier Southern Lakes were fantastic and informative from the moment they picked us up from the hotel.
I can't wait to go back to Queenstown, and definitely another adventure in a helicopter will be the top of my list.
I highly recommend splurging out on a helicopter tour, it's well worth every cent!

1  Thank auhlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierSouthernLakes, Public Relations Manager at Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We especially appreciate that the heli-cruise-heli to Milford Sound is certainly not the cheapest activity in Queenstown so it's always great to hear from our clients that your 'splurge' has been so worthwhile. Hopefully we will see you in Queenstown again soon - come for summer next time and we will show you what the mountains are like without all the snow!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We all had an amazing day , we. Stopped for 5 star lunch on a mountian peak somewhere ( like another world ) glaciers , mirror reflective lakes , the beach at Milford ,snow covered mountian peaks which we landed on . .... This made our holiday to queenstown , we would recommend to anyone thanks to Brendan our pilot excellent tour guide , ask him to show you the kiwi on the mountian

Thank Twreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierSouthernLakes, Public Relations Manager at Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you for your complimentary feedback. It's great to see Brendan receive his first Trip Advisor mention so soon after joining the Glacier Southern Lakes team (he comes to us with almost 20 years of local flying experience). I must make a note to find out more about the ‘kiwi’…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is completely worth the splurge. the scenery is out of this world, and pilots are fantastic. Our trip wouldn't have been complete with out this!

1  Thank djsimps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing