We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best experiences possible in NZ”

Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters
Book In Advance
More Info
$248.36*
and up
30-Minute Alpine Scenic Flight from Queenstown
More Info
$176.87*
and up
20-Minute Remarkables Helicopter Tour from Queenstown
More Info
$413.94*
and up
50-Minute Glacier Explorer Flight from Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glacier Southern Lakes is Queenstown's leading scenic heli-flight company with a reputation of providing a high standard of professionalism and service. We offer daily scenic helicopter tours over the mountains, lakes, glaciers and fiords in and around Middle-earth, Queenstown, Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park & Mt Aspiring National Park. Alpine or snow landings are part of all our flights and glacier landings are included in all our Milford Sound flights. We have the most experienced team of helicopter pilots in Queenstown who will share their extensive local knowledge with you. For Lord of the Rings and the Hobbit fans we can show you many of the Queenstown film locations like nobody else, with pilots who were part of the film crew.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best experiences possible in NZ”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We had a great day out with the guys from Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters. Really great flight out to Milford Sound from QT airport with loads of info on the way from our pilot. The flight back involved a landing on the glacier and a few minutes out in the cold to take photos and enjoy the atmosphere. Milford Sound itself was amazing (and we did the cruise whilst we were there, which is worthwhile). On the flight back we also flew directly over QT which was awesome. Definitely recommended.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    16
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Western Finland, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Honeymoon!”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

When me and my wife planned our honeymoon trip to New Zealand, we thought a helicopter flight from Queenstown would be a great thing to experience. Well, it turned out to be more than great... it was just fantastic! Sights from the helicopter on our way to Milford Sound were amazing. Andy, our pilot, was very friendly and shared us great information about the area. We also took a Milford Sound cruise and I would say it's the most beautiful place I've ever visited! Even though the flight was a bit pricy, it sure was worth every cent.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Heikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierSouthernLakes, Public Relations Manager at Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Thanks for your feedback. Our pilot Andy has more than 10 years flying experience but at the time you visited he had only just started flying for Glacier Southern Lakes so its great to hear that he was able to hit the ground running and give you such a great time in this beautiful corner of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“a MUST do in Queenstown”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The most amazing experience. That was my first helicopter ride but we were blown away by the spectacular Queenstown view. The helicopter captain was a great tour guide too. I think the most significant experience was when the helicopter landed on the glacier. The feeling was indescribable. You'll see one of the most beautiful view on earth. And you are standing on it.

Definitely recommend

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank WonderGey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This was an excellent trip. Close to Queenstown and the staff were really friendly and professional. If you can get the Remarkables flight for under 150 Nzd each you have grabbed a bargain and a top little adventure..

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank GotheCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Helicopter trip & cruise on Milford Sound”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We had a fantastic 4 hour helicopter trip + cruise on Milford Sound.
I would highly recommend this trip with Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank treborNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing