We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenorchy Air

Glenorchy Air
Book In Advance
More Info
$456.60*
and up
Milford Sound Fly Cruise Kayak Experience from Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Operating out of Queenstown airport and flying across the Southern alps on one of the most spectacular short scenic flights in the world, Glenorchy Air is a family business owned and operated by Janet and Robert Rutherford. We operate daily fly-cruise-fly, overflight, helicopter and coach options into and out of Milford Sound and have been doing so for 20 years. Glenorchy Air run regular flights to the Mount Cook region, to Mount Aspiring, Queenstown's local glaciers, Stewart Island, Otago's East Coast and to Fiordlands Doubtful Sound. As we worked on the "Lord of the Rings" movies we have a unique insight into movie locations with various flightseeing options and personalised tours on offer.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had the option of catching the coach to Milford sounds or flying and we are extremely happy we chose to fly! The flight over there was incredible and it was made even more lovely by our pilot Ray. Not only did we get to see the beautiful scenery, we got to learn about everything we were flying over! His knowledge of the region and his passion for his job shined the entire flight. Would definetly recommend this trip to everyone. We loved it!
The 3 Australian girls will be returning for another amazing flight.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Duchessbennet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenorchy, Front Office Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. Our pilots are very passionate about this beautiful region that they live and fly around, and are very knowledgeable about the area. All of us here at Glenorchy Air are thrilled that you had a great experience on our trip. Thank you again for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    26
    1
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Trip of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful trip! Stunning scenery on our Lord of the Rings tour which also included a close look at glaziers. Beautiful! Our pilot Ray very knowledgeable, skilful & charming. The whole experience was faultless & excellent value. Would totally recommend this trip to anyone heading to The Queenstown area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DiP446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenorchy, Front Office Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We don't just fly to Milford Sound we also have a choice of great Lord of the Rings Trilogy Trail trips. With the stunning scenery around here it's easy to see why they chose to do the filming here. Thank you again for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Milford Sound”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We flew in a Cherokee 6 from Queenstown to Milford Sound and back. We were considering bus / rental car but are very pleased we chose to fly. I'm an Airline pilot by profession and the flight was terrific. The pilots went out of their way to make it as scenic as possible, and provided some commentary. Glenorchy Air provided a DVD following the flight showing a typical trip, and a link to replay our actual trip. It seems expensive but was well worth it. Not to be missed!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenorchy, Front Office Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. It really is worth it, this is a beautiful region to fly in. With many different stunning views on the way into Milford Sound and breathtaking Glacier views on the way back. It is a fantastic trip and we are glad you had great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Milford Flight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Mackenzie our pilot was confident and informative; wonderful scenery, pick a sunny day; a memorable event

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenorchy, Front Office Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you from all of us here at Glenorchy Air for your lovely review. Our trips to Milford Sound are very popular, and indeed make a very memorable day. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I took the scenic flight from Milford Sound to Queenstown, and it was definitely worth it! The view was amazing, and our pilot Ray explained everything to us and was very kind and helpful. I enjoyed every minute of it, it was my first flight on a light aircraft and it was certainly an unforgettable experience seeing all that glorious scenery from above. Our pilot then took us back to our hotels in the city, a perfect door-to-door service. Highly recommended!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keren_b1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenorchy, Front Office Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
We are so pleased you had a great time on your trip with us. Thank you so much for this lovely review. Our pilots are very good at putting people at ease if they are first time small plane flyers or even nervous flyers. Their delightful commentary of this beautiful region on their flights are very informative, and really add to the experience. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenorchy Air also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Glenorchy Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing