We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oh just do it!”
Review of Glenorchy Air

Glenorchy Air
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$294.26*
and up
Milford Sound and Glaciers Fly Over Tour from Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Operating out of Queenstown airport and flying across the Southern alps on one of the most spectacular short scenic flights in the world, Glenorchy Air is a family business owned and operated by Janet and Robert Rutherford. We operate daily fixed wing flights in which everyone has window seat for unimpeded views.These include fly-cruise-fly, overflight, helicopter and coach options into and out of Milford Sound and have been doing so for 20 years. Glenorchy Air run regular flights to the Mount Cook region, to Mount Aspiring, Queenstown's local glaciers, Stewart Island, Otago's East Coast and to Fiordlands Doubtful Sound. As we worked on the "Lord of the Rings" movies we have a unique insight into movie locations with various flightseeing options and personalised tours on offer.
Nr London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“oh just do it!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

This was an absolute highlight of the trip to Milford Sound and it saved so much driving. You cannot believe the views or the proximity to mountains. It was fantastic.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank antandmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenorchy, Front Office Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you, flying in to Milford Sound is a great way to see it if you are tight on time. Enabling you to either enjoy a restful morning, or to make it back to enjoy the afternoon or dinner reservation. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    27
    1
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing ”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend this to anyone. Much better then driving or coaching to Milford sound...
Amazing service

Helpful?
Thank Faysal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenorchy, Front Office Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you, this is a very kind review. We do pride ourselves with delivering the best customer service we can. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Milford Sound and more”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We recently flew with Glenorchy Air to Milford Sound and back to Queenstown NZ. It was just breathtaking! Our pilot Ray was wonderful and gave great commentary, as we flew between mountains, over glaciers and over the beautiful Sound. After a lovely boat trip discovering the beauty of Milford Sound, we flew back to Queenstown, flying high above majestic mountains and lakes. Highly recommend this trip.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenorchy, Front Office Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your great review, and for sharing your experience. It is always nice for all of us here at Glenorchy Air to hear from our passengers. And to hear how they enjoyed their experience with us. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Perth, Australia
1 review
“Trip of a lifetime”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We took a Glenorchy Air flight to Milford Sound from Queenstown. Our very professional and informative pilot, Ray, flew us across the mountains and over glaciers before landing at Milford. I sat in the co pilots seat which was incredible. We took an interesting boat cruise and then flew a shorter but also scenic route back to Queenstown. An experience not to be missed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katieeeeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenorchy, Front Office Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you Katie. Weather permitting we do like to take you into Milford Sound on one route, and fly you back on another. This gives you different views, with even more photo possibilities! We are also very please to be able to fly you to see the glaciers on our Milford flight, it's a great extra we like to provide, and the sights are stunning. Thank you again for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highlight of our New Zealand trip”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I would like to thank our pilot (Ray) for making our trip to Milford very memorable and informative, despite low clouds Ray managed to show us all the sights from the best possible vantage points. This is a very professional outfit and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Glenorchy Air to everyone, thanks again to the team and especially to Ray.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenorchy, Front Office Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you on behalf of Ray and the team here at Glenorchy Air. Our pilots sometimes do have to put up with the difficulties in weather we get here, and they are very experienced in doing so. The commentary the pilots like doing on their flights, are very informative, and makes the flight even more memorable. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenorchy Air also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Glenorchy Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing