We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An awesome way to get to Treble Cone”
Review of Glenorchy Air

Glenorchy Air
Book In Advance
More Info
$284.26*
and up
Milford Sound and Glaciers Fly Over Tour from Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Operating out of Queenstown airport and flying across the Southern alps on one of the most spectacular short scenic flights in the world, Glenorchy Air is a family business owned and operated by Janet and Robert Rutherford. We operate daily fixed wing flights in which everyone has window seat for unimpeded views.These include fly-cruise-fly, overflight, helicopter and coach options into and out of Milford Sound and have been doing so for 20 years. Glenorchy Air run regular flights to the Mount Cook region, to Mount Aspiring, Queenstown's local glaciers, Stewart Island, Otago's East Coast and to Fiordlands Doubtful Sound. As we worked on the "Lord of the Rings" movies we have a unique insight into movie locations with various flightseeing options and personalised tours on offer.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“An awesome way to get to Treble Cone”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We took a flight for a whole day of skiing at Treble Cone. Glenorchy Air picked us up from our lodging in Queenstown, and our excellent pilot Ray gave us a fun and informative commentary during the short flights there and back. Stunning mountain and lake views all the way. We landed at a small airstrip close to the ski field, and were transported to the ski resort from there. On our return, we had a few minutes delay while sheep were cleared from the airstrip. Priceless! Ray emailed us our fight path superimposed on Google Earth after the flight, which was a nice touch. All in all, a very well organised day and a great alternative to a long long bus ride. Well worth the little splurge!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marwen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenorchy, Front Office Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. The fly and ski package has been a popular one this winter. Just a 20 minute scenic flight to the base of Treble Cone means you save valuable time which is better spent enjoying the snow! We have recently started recording the flight path and emailing it to clients as a Google Earth attachment. It's a great way to relive the flight and to show friends and family exactly where you have travelled. Thanks again for a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    27
    1
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Beautiful, what an awesome day!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The staff at Glenorchy air were super accommodating, very friendly and professional. Our pilot Mackenzie did an excellent job; it was a very smooth flight and the commentary was perfect. I especially liked when he showed us on the map where we had actually flown over. We got in early and beat the crowds to have an absolutely magical tour of the sound, followed by an equally breathtaking flight back to Queenstown. Such an awesome day! Highly recommended :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenorchy, Front Office Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for such a great review. You mention beating the crowds to Milford Sound, this is definitely an advantage of going on the 10am departure. The pilots often retrace the flight path on a map once back in the office, it gives a great overview of the tour. Thanks again for choosing to fly with Glenorchy Air.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The most wonderful day - stunning flights through the mountains, extremely knowledgable pilot, Mackenzie, and the most beautiful cruise up the sounds. Thank you for a wonderful trip and beautiful photographs!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank hannahjoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenorchy, Front Office Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a wonderful flight with us. The snow capped Southern Alps look fantastic at this time of year. Mackenzie thanks you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Breathtaking!!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our pilot Ray was amazing! He gave us a great description when we were flying to Milford sound. The view was amazing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Swhyte8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenorchy, Front Office Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your trip with us. Your succinct review summed it up beautifully. Thank you for your comments and for choosing to fly with Glenorchy Air.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Majestic experience.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Majestic experience. Fabulous pilot and chaperone (Mackenzie). Best way to get to Fiordland thank you!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SarieRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenorchy, Owner at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
As you noted we make sure all our passengers are properly briefed before departure so there are no surprises. We are glad you had a great flight and the scenery was superb. Often a bit of cloud about adds to the experience. The fact that you are a fellow aviator makes the review you have given of great value to us. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenorchy Air also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Glenorchy Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing