We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
Review of Glenorchy Air

Glenorchy Air
Book In Advance
More Info
$282.62*
and up
Milford Sound and Glaciers Fly Over Tour from Queenstown
More Info
$289.78*
and up
Milford Sound Landing and Glaciers Fly Over
More Info
$329.13*
and up
4-Hour Milford Sound Cruise and Fly Experience
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Glenorchy Air flies from Queenstown airport and everyone is guaranteed a window seat. We are a family business which is owned and operated by Janet and Robert Rutherford. We have been operating for 25 years. We fly fixed wing aircraft in which everyone has window seat for unimpeded views. These include fly-cruise-fly to Milford Sound, as well as overflight, and coach options into and out of Milford Sound. Glenorchy Air also runs regular flights to the Mount Cook region, to Mount Aspiring, to Queenstown's local glaciers, to Stewart Island, to Otago's East Coast and to Fiordlands Doubtful Sound. As we worked on the "Lord of the Rings" movies we have a unique insight into movie locations with various flightseeing options and personalised tours on offer.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

What a fantastic trip to Milford Sound! Glenorchy recommended what they thought was the best day, and they were absolutely right, it was cloudless, windless and perfect. We left on time and it was a terrific flight, with great views and informative commentary. After a smooth landing we were guided on to the waiting bus and at the ferry terminal given our tickets for the equally amazing cruise of the Sound. At the end of the cruise we were met by the pilot and taken back to the plane for the return to Queenstown. The plane is larger than i expected, having done a few flights before, and it was easy to see the magnificent and extensive views. It was a wonderful day made very easy by Glenorchy Air, thank you so much!

1  Thank Tanmaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenorchyAir, Owner at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Thanks for flying with us and for taking the time to share with others. Great photos too! All of us at Glenorchy Air appreciate such positive feedback and enjoyed having the opportunity to share this wonderful place with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

690 - 694 of 752 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2012

We went to Milford on a coach tour and decided to return by plane. This was certainly a very good thing to do. The flight is beautiful, the pilot was very nice and gave us good information on the places we were flying over. The landing was smooth as silk in beautiful Queenstown.

1  Thank mthereza89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenorchyAir, Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

We are so glad that you had such a great time flying with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your flight with Glenorchy Air. We never tire of sharing this wonderful part of the world with appreciative passengers like yourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Absolutely fabulous trip - Queenstown to Mt Cook, Fox and back to Queenstown along the west coast. Pilot Rob was a wealth of information about every mountain, lake, gorge, glacier,river and the formation of most of these as well. If you only do one trip do this!

1  Thank Joy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenorchyAir, Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Thank you so much for highlighting the Mt. Cook excursion on Trip Advisor. Rob is also the owner of Glenorchy Air which has been sharing this part of the world with visitors like yourself for 20 years and he appreciates your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We did the fly-cruise-fly tour to Milford Sound with Capt. Teri Muirhead. This was an excellent way to see Queenstown, the mountains and Milford Sound. The scenery from the plane is breathtaking and not like anything you can capture from a car or bus. The hour and forty-five minute scenic cruise was so much fun. The boat was able to get very close to the fur seals and under the waterfalls! Capt. Teri was very nice and knowledgeable about everything we saw from the plane. She kept us safe and happy even when a wind storm sprung up at the end of our return flight. I would highly recommend this company and this trip to anyone.

Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenorchyAir, Owner at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Thank you so much for this wonderful review and your encouraging comments about our Pilot Teri.
All our pilots at Glenorchy Air are passionate aviators and enjoy the opportunity to share this part of the world with enthusiastic visitors like yourselves. Thank you again for sharing on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

our pilot came over to the pub in Milford Sound to fetch us for the ride to Queenstown. The last flight of the day was finished, and he flew in just for my wife and I.

Captain was a real treat, obviously experienced, skilled, and looked the part!

Trip was worth every penny, clear sunny, and very cool!

Thank Digvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenorchyAir, Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

It is heartening to receive great reviews and we are grateful that you took the time to post on this site. Thank you for sharing and for choosing Glenorchy Air for your flight back from Milford Sound.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenorchy Air also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Glenorchy Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing