We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly warm, central, cheap. What else do you want?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly warm, central, cheap. What else do you want?”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great hostel, ticks all of the boxes. It would have been better if the lift was working but that's the luck of the draw I suppose. This place was warm, friendly, central, clean and cheap. I would certainly stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PerryGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    96
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
21
77
113
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I've been to Queenstown three times. Twice I've stayed at Base, which was okay but Absoloot was far better. My boyfriend and I got a double room which felt more like a hotel room complete with ensuite bathroom, mini fridge, microwave, kettle (with tea, coffee and hot chocolate), TV and a super comfy bed. Great location in the middle of town and our particular room had a view of the lake which was amazing. Friendly staff, easy check-in and check-out and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandachick1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Best hostel we stayed at for the whole of our 6 month trip. Very friendly staff, the place is very well looked after and anazingly clean, the staff dont stop. Great common room, spotless kitchen, free wifi. Felt at home

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattMaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My review is written a bit late, as I travelled to NZ on last yr Xmas. However this plc is nice, clean, neat. And just a few walks you can see the lake, the market and the best burger restaurant in town, Fergburger. The receptionist also nice. But the only bad thg abt this hostel is we have to park our car quite far for overnight (near to the Gondola), quite tiring to walk over there, haha. If you dont hv car, then this is a best place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mskoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Absoloot hostel has the best vibe, best location, cleanest and most spacious, and most backpacker friendly rooms in Queenstown. I've stayed in a few hostels in QT, i can't fault this place! There's a comfy tv room with pool table, lakeside views, and the most chilled friendly atmosphere. All bunks have got their own plugs n lights and bathrooms are ensuite. Rooms are warm in winter and propper comfy doonas are provided. It's very meticulously cleaned.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KombatK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a corner room on an upper floor with huge windows on two sides facing the water and dock area. The rooms have individually controlled AC and heat. There was a microwave, fridge and coffee maker in the room. Free wifi was very much appreciated. Excellent location only a few steps away from restaurants and shops. The front desk staff were very kind and helpful to us. This was the best hotel/hostel of the 3 that we were in during our stay in Queenstown.

Room Tip: corner room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank landmark-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I was quite looking forward to stay in Absoloot as it really has very good review on tripadvisor.
Unfortunately I was totally dissapointed.

The reception staff is not friendly. In fact, the girl sitting at the reception just showed us that kind of "there is nothing i can do for you" face when we tried to inquiry on the remote control for the aircond. The aircond temperature is central control which mean you cant adjust it accordingly even you feel the temperature is too warm.
The blanket has funny smell that I have to hold my breath each time I flipped it. The room is always full with oily kitchen smell because the kitchen is located at the ground floor ,the smell travel up when there is people cooking downstairs. this make our clothing all stained with funny smell.
It is happening place at MIDNIGHT where people get drunk and decided to sing out loud and play funny music.
I will never come back or recommend this hostel to anyone.

Room Tip: maybe can try to arrange for a room away from the street and higher floor.so that it wont be so nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katherineaow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,074 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Eichardt's Private Hotel
Eichardt's Private Hotel
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absoloot Value Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absoloot Value Accommodation

Property: Absoloot Value Accommodation
Address: 50 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absoloot Value Accommodation (AVA) has been designed with the backpacker, ‘flashpacker’ and value-seeking traveler in mind. AVA is spectacularly located on the lakefront right in the centre of Queenstown. Newly refurbished, it offers boutique dorms (6 beds maximum), double and queen rooms. Fresh, contemporary style with space to play and space to relax. And now there is FREE WIFI throughout the hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Absoloot Value Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absoloot Value Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing