We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got to be the best hostel in NZ!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Absoloot Value Accommodation

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
122 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Got to be the best hostel in NZ!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I loved staying at this hostel- its seriously 5 star quality! We stayed here over Xmas and it was such good fun, they even provided loads of free food!

The rooms are so good- we stayed in a 4 bed shared room. The bottom bunk was a double bed. There was a TV and a fridge in the room and en-suite shower room. The beds were really comfy with fluffy pillows and duvets.

The staff here are amazing, the reception staff are so friendly and helpful and the cleaning staff do an incredible job- the place was spotless!!!

Amazing location with views out onto the lake and in the middle of all the action.

Couldn't recommend this place more highly, you'll have a great time staying here!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikzstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    92
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
21
75
109
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

As the title says, this is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. I have stayed in many hostels over New Zealand and most have been ok. This one however made the others look like a garden shed in comparison.

To keep it short and to the point the staff are very friendly and enjoy having banter with you. Rooms and common areas are very clean (especially for a hostel)... obviously with the rooms it also depends on your room mates but my experience has been with people who are considerate of others. Plus this hostel all the rooms are on suite...WIN! Great location next to the lake and very close to Ferg Burger. I would also like to point out that for ski season this hostel is very warm (as i know some other hostels are stingy on the heating aka Pinewood Lodge).

Overall I would say 10/10 from my stay here. Would recommend to all!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markawest1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I booked the private en-suite double bedroom and I was very happy with my choice! I probably had the best view in Queenstown, right in front of the Lake! The room was large, well-lit and very clean! The hostel common areas are very cosy and it was a great place to meet people. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Couldn't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sissi2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

I have given this a 4 star rating due to it being very good for a hostel!

Value accommodation indeed at its best. We had a nice bed, shared with 1 other person (4 in total). An adequate bathroom ensuite. A games/tv/sofa/pool room which was cosy. A lovely view onto the lake.

The hostel had a lot of character and if you want to spend a couple nights there, if you are young, then this place will be of high interest.

Great location, centre of the buzz. It can be loud at night at times but hey, what do you expect?! Its Queenstown.

The people running it are great, chilled, laid back and helpful.

The wi-fi is pretty good and free, and the kitchen offers everything you need despite looking very industrial.


Overall, a great place to stay for 2/3 nights on the cheap!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

So what do you want from a hostel - great location, safe, clean and friendly staff ... well this does that easily (on the lake foreshore) but then it has that little extra again - the lounge is fully catered, complementary tea and coffee, discounts for local bars etc ...

One snag - no parking, but that is easily overcome by using some of the free parking streets just up the hill and 5 mins walk away.

Definitely a recommend

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F14-Roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I have stayed at Absoloot Value Accommodation a couple of times now and every time it just gets better and better!
The staff are amazingly freindly and helpful and have so much knowledge of Queenstown and the sorrounding area.
Friendly, Clean, Accommodating, Relaxing are just a few words i world use to describe AVA.
The hostel is close to everything. From the lake, to many dining options and also the fantastic night life.
Also the TV/Common room is great to hang out in and meet new people.
I have stayed in both the 4 bed and 6 bed dorms. Both are great. The 6 bed dorm is a bit small when you have 6 people and their luggage.
Everytime i have stayed the staff and other patrons make you feel welcome and make you feel like you are one big family.
Best Hostel i have stayed at!
Shaun, Gus, Lucy and Ryan. You all rock!!!
Nothing but praise! Will be staying there again next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are good! At night time everyone gathers and hangs out in the reception area. Great place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were in a 4 bed bunk room which gave us fantastic views of the lake. The room clean and cool. In room facilities were good for a hostel. Counter staff was very help esp Ryan, who gave us many tips from food recommendations to road info. Rooms are not soundproof though, we cld hear people talking in adjacent rooms. Nevertheless, still had a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepyheadzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eichardt's Private Hotel
Eichardt's Private Hotel
#21 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absoloot Value Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absoloot Value Accommodation

Property: Absoloot Value Accommodation
Address: 50 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absoloot Value Accommodation (AVA) has been designed with the backpacker, ‘flashpacker’ and value-seeking traveler in mind. AVA is spectacularly located on the lakefront right in the centre of Queenstown. Newly refurbished, it offers boutique dorms (6 beds maximum), double and queen rooms. Fresh, contemporary style with space to play and space to relax. And now there is FREE WIFI throughout the hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Absoloot Value Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absoloot Value Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing