We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy little hostel in central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This place is what is - perfectly located little hostel that is cheap for the location. Rooms are adequate as are the bathrooms. It suited me well because I was travelling alone and could duck out and back constantly throughout the day. Because I had my own room I could also read or watch telly for some down time, and I had a view of the lake on my second stay. I had to cancel one of two nights on my second stay and the nice guy on the counter went to some effort to arrange this for me without penalty given that I had not booked it direct. In fact, the staff were always very friendly and they always looked busy. The only downside for me was that the room with the best view was a bit noisy because there is a pub almost directly below the room and a market going on directly out the front which would actually be a plus for many people but I was so tired from having just completed the Milford Track that I slept in the comfortable bed well anyway. The only other minor complaint was that the place does have a bit of a funny smell to it, perhaps it is their cleaning products...

Room Tip: The twin rooms are much bigger than the double and even include a couch
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappiestAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for Absoloot Value Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 366 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

Greeted by Salmon (just like the fish he said) our room 280 double en suite with kettle fridge and microwave, on a corner next to the communal area which closed at 10.30pm the kitchen was small but well equipped. Reception manned 8am- 10.30pm, and a laundry 9aa-9pm $4.00 wash $4.00 dryer, rooms were cleaned and tea, coffee and replenished daily. The room overlooked the Lake and from the right hand side you could see the SS Eernslaw this 101 year old Steam boat. things to see and do dinner at the Skyline restaurant fly the Milford sound visit Arrowtown sale the SS Earsnlaw

Room Tip: room 280 was great corner en suite key card entry also front entrance after 10.30pm
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beenaroundgreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The best part of this place was that each room had their own bathroom!
The beds were also good.

Only negative I can think of was the small kitchen, it was difficult to move around if there were more then 4-5 people....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeaEngelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

overall a good hostel, clean, small kitchen but well equipped. They need to have someone look at there internet, it constantly kicks you out of internet and you havto retype your password

Main issue was the staff hanging around reception chatting and laughing most of the day, when you go to ask something its almost an inconvenience. The tv room closes at 10pm???? bit silly as hostel around the corner tv room opens 24 hours with no issues. Pool table the cues had no tops.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomTumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Absoloot Value Accommodation is just perfect for your stay in Queenstown! Located directly in the very center it offers Free wifi and beautiful, clean rooms at a reasonable, value-for-money price!
Staff is just great and extremely helpful!
Best stay in Queenstown!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolinMarlen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The location of this hostel was incomparable; near to eateries and shopping districts. We booked a Queen room for 4 nights, it was very clean and unexpectedly comfortable. There is free wifi available. Considering this is a budget accommodation, I will give a thumbs UP!

Other than the weekend late nights noise from the party-goers, the whole experience turned out pretty well. The premise does not have parking facility. So if you drive, you have to park a few streets away. The distance is manageable on foot though.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank wanderf00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Let's be clear - it is a budget accommodation hostel, so don't expect luxury. What you can expect though - are clean and spacious rooms (some of them with the lake view, some of them with en suite bathroom, some of them dorm style), excellent "right in the middle of the city" location, self-served laundry facilities and very friendly staff. If you plan to go to one of the mountain tracks, you can leave your luggage in the storage and pick it up later, when you're back in town. All that in an affordable price. So - excellent among budget hostels for sure.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MarcinPWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eichardt's Private Hotel
Eichardt's Private Hotel
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absoloot Value Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absoloot Value Accommodation

Address: 50 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $23 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absoloot Value Accommodation (AVA) has been designed with the backpacker, ‘flashpacker’ and value-seeking traveler in mind. AVA is spectacularly located on the lakefront right in the centre of Queenstown. Newly refurbished, it offers boutique dorms (6 beds maximum), double and queen rooms. Fresh, contemporary style with space to play and space to relax. And now there is FREE WIFI throughout the hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Absoloot Value Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absoloot Value Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing