We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The location of this hostel was incomparable; near to eateries and shopping districts. We booked a Queen room for 4 nights, it was very clean and unexpectedly comfortable. There is free wifi available. Considering this is a budget accommodation, I will give a thumbs UP!

Other than the weekend late nights noise from the party-goers, the whole experience turned out pretty well. The premise does not have parking facility. So if you drive, you have to park a few streets away. The distance is manageable on foot though.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank wanderf00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for Absoloot Value Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 366 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

Let's be clear - it is a budget accommodation hostel, so don't expect luxury. What you can expect though - are clean and spacious rooms (some of them with the lake view, some of them with en suite bathroom, some of them dorm style), excellent "right in the middle of the city" location, self-served laundry facilities and very friendly staff. If you plan to go to one of the mountain tracks, you can leave your luggage in the storage and pick it up later, when you're back in town. All that in an affordable price. So - excellent among budget hostels for sure.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MarcinPWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My experience here didn't start so well - the person checking me in was pretty disinterested in anything other than the PC she was looking at and there were a number of staff hanging out loudly at the reception, giving an impression of it being one big clique. Also it became very quickly apparent that despite claiming on several websites that they have parking, they do NOT have parking. There is very limited parking in Queenstown centre generally, and they definitely do not have any of it.
Other than that, it has a brilliant location and for a reasonable price. The dorms are quite cramped but they still managed to fit lockers and a fridge into our room. Beds are comfy and linen is actually nice I.e. less than 10 years old, and clean. I'll re iterate the comment that the bathroom in the dorm was very small and given the small size of the dorms, using the bathroom was less than personal. But it was very clean and the atmosphere amongst guests was really nice and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDRJvoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Excellent. Location is unbeatable. Clean. Happening. Friendly stuff. Tidy, cool and clean Kitchen. Free Wifi. Toilets are clean and well maintained. Rooms are big and spacious. Ive only good things to say about this place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoNazmiAhmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in the Queen ensuite room. The room was decent enough - reasonably spacious and clean, but basic as you might expect given the type of accommodation. The view from the Queen room is fantastic - overlooking the lake - but don't expect to get the best nights sleep here, especially on a Fri/Sat night. The windows (of which there are many) do not appear to have any sort of soundproofing, and if you are a light sleeper you may be kept awake by music and noisy drinkers in the streets below. This didn't bother me too much but it may be a big issue for some people - there are definitely quieter parts of town to spend the night.

Location is very good, nice and central with easy walking access to anything in the town centre. Two minute walk to Fergburger, which we frequented often. The Wifi access provided here is good by NZ standards - unlike most places we stayed on our trip, there were no time or data limits on it here. However you have to login to the network every time you use the computer due to the security system they set up. Not a big deal, but a minor annoyance having to retype the username and password frequently. Worked fine on an iPad and Macbook Air.

If you have a rented car like we did, it can be a slight hassle. There is no parking provided so you have two choices: find street parking (which can be timed depending on the location, and can also be hard to come by) or pay about $14 a day for an unlimited pass in/pass out carpark pass to a nearby car parking garage which they have made an arrangement with. The garage is not too far away, perhaps a five minute walk on foot.

If you can deal with the noise and the parking, this is a great choice - good value, clean and in an ideal location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aztatlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great location, room and hostel very clean, the staff is awesome , the kitchen fully equiped, tidy and clean !! Very good place To meet people !!! Highly recommanded . Plus free internet , free breakfast it s a really good place to stay

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicoesaler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a private queen room. The pros: the room was clean, the people at the front desk were helpful, and the location is excellent. The cons: it was very noisy, cramped, and while showering we got occasional bursts of freezing cold and scalding hot water.

All of the queen rooms are corner rooms, with two sides looking out onto the lake. The view is nice, but those two sides are literally right next to the walkway around the lake/Kawarau jet loading dock, which is a major hangout spot, day and night. Unfortunately, you can hear EVERYTHING from the room, even with earplugs. If you decide to stay, try to avoid staying on a Friday or Saturday night, when you can expect people to be hanging outside drinking until 4 am.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twhufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eichardt's Private Hotel
Eichardt's Private Hotel
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absoloot Value Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absoloot Value Accommodation

Address: 50 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $23 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absoloot Value Accommodation (AVA) has been designed with the backpacker, ‘flashpacker’ and value-seeking traveler in mind. AVA is spectacularly located on the lakefront right in the centre of Queenstown. Newly refurbished, it offers boutique dorms (6 beds maximum), double and queen rooms. Fresh, contemporary style with space to play and space to relax. And now there is FREE WIFI throughout the hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Absoloot Value Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absoloot Value Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing