We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number 1 Hostel of Qtown!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Number 1 Hostel of Qtown!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Overall fantastic! Rooms are clean and everyone is friendly. Recommended if you are travelling solo or a group. Communal Kitchen and common room upstairs with cable tv and free pool. Lobby doubles as a tourist desk during the day and hangout spot in the evening. Great value for money and its one of the most central hostels. Everything is in walking distance (fergburger is less than 100m away). The 2 owners Sean and Nadine are very friendly and helpful aswell as everyone else who works there. Will stay here again. All rooms have a private ensuite too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JakeIsaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    97
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
21
78
118
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Fantastic location, couldn't be any closer to the action. The staff are fantastic and the atmosphere makes you feel as though your at home amongst many friends. The hostel itself is very clean with great communal areas including fantastic view out over the water from the TV room. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm (and was told by many that I got the best room in the place). It was spacious enough had its own bathroom. The room was filled with light throughout the day (great views) and dark at night. What else could you want really?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

stayed here for a few nights end of june start of july during the queenstown winter festivl. a great little hostel, clean rooms, clean shower an toilet. we had a private room which overlooked the harbour an has view of the mountains. the location is excellent an has great bars shops an restaurants really close by even better location if you plan to book up for the winter festival. overall for a cheap little hostel it was fantastic the staff were all bery friendly as well. one if the best hostels i have ever stayed in

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benc1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My daughter and I stayed in a Queen room for 4 nights. For the 2 of us it was perfect size and location. In the mornings we awoke with a view of the Remarkables and the lake. Picture perfect.
The ensuite bathroom is modern and very clean. The bed is super comfy with nice linen. Plus free wifi is a bonus for travellers. The only issue we had similar to other reviews is that we were next door to a group of noisy young guys who on some nights were banging around and partying to the early hours of the morning which kept us awake. Besides this I would probably stay here again due to the positives.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Daniella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We had a room with the superior double which at the corner and both wall with windows, the view is just superb! the room was clean, friendly staff and very good location. The only issue there is parking, you need to park at Hay street or man street which is in short i would say it is a steep hilly road side. The Chinese restaurant and Ferg Burget is just near by, its a must try!

Room Tip: MUST Try the Ferg Burger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I stayed in a four bed dorm here for three nights, then I stayed on for an extra night after she'd moved on. The location is great, right on the lake, and above the infamous Patagonia coffee/cake shop. Clean rooms (cleaned daily), good showers, free WiFi. Only issue we had was the random banging noise which we understood was pipework issues, they were in the process of sorting this I think, but it did wake us up most nights. We were on the third floor - not sure if you could hear it on other floors. Yes kitchen is on the small side but its ok. Didn't use tv room so can't really comment on that. Overall I would definitely recommend this place as a great option in Queenstown.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I stayed in Absoloot for three nights, and it was the most amentity packed hostel where I stayed. Each dorm has an ensuite bathroom, so you don't have to bump around the hall in the middle of the night. Towels are also given for free (something I didn't find anywhere else), and the wifi was excellent. The dorms also had a TV, but I never used it because I would normally go to the main room to watch TV. I liked that they shut down the TV room at 10 because it keeps noise to a minimum. The hostel has a great location - near the lake and in the middle of Queenstown. You can walk anywhere in the city from the hostel. The only downside to this hostel is the smaller kitchen which can get busy at times. I saw a lot of families while staying, so I would assume children would like it here as well. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. They knew a lot about Queenstown and other popular destinations.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtg308x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
1,443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Eichardt's Private Hotel
Eichardt's Private Hotel
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absoloot Value Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absoloot Value Accommodation

Property: Absoloot Value Accommodation
Address: 50 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absoloot Value Accommodation (AVA) has been designed with the backpacker, ‘flashpacker’ and value-seeking traveler in mind. AVA is spectacularly located on the lakefront right in the centre of Queenstown. Newly refurbished, it offers boutique dorms (6 beds maximum), double and queen rooms. Fresh, contemporary style with space to play and space to relax. And now there is FREE WIFI throughout the hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Absoloot Value Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absoloot Value Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing