We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More hotel than hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The double room was a great value. More like a hotel than hostel. Plush towels and soap, coffee/tea, a sitting area, even a small closet which I've never seen in a hostel. A wall of windows with shutters made this room feel expansive and airy. The location is central to the waterfront shops & restaurants. A laundramat is attached. Staff seemed genuinely interested that I had everything I needed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Innov8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 388 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

I had a shared room with 3 other guests (a pair of bunk beds) The room has it's own bathroom, refrigerator and individual safes for each guest. Staff was friendly and attentive. Rooms were newly renovated when I stayed... very clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackmogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We had previously stayed at Nomads but couldn't sleep at all due to the noise from the clubs underneath. We were aware Absoloot was in town - great for nipping in and out of your room, but if you're a light sleeper beware of drunken folks wandering past in the street shouting and singing at all hours of the night.
We tried to get a double ensuite but they had none so we were able to book out a dorm (which had a double bed in it) for no extra cost. Room was fine - clean, spacious and had a bathroom which was small but functional. As a young backpacker I wouldn't have batted an eyelid. As an older, more comfort conscious traveller, I was still pretty pleased with what we got. Shame I didn't get much of a sleep though.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lornamcavoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I found AVA in BBH. It was a last minute decision. The dorm (it was just 6 beds anyway) was full so I opted the 4-bed room. The location is right in the centre of the town with superb view to Lake Wakatipu. The kitchen is clean and colorful with everything you need to prepare your meal. There is a tv room with dvd player and pool table.

To my surprise there is a refrigerator and tv in the room. The locker is located below the bunk bed. There is an ensuite toilet and a huge mirror. And it is clean. (The only thing I'd rant about is the poor sound insulation, lol) You have a private lamp for reading. Oh and most importantly, many power outlets and free wifi.

The staff are friendly and I met some very good roommates. Overall it was a pleasant stay. Well above expectation :)

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lonerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Stayed in this hostel during my recent trip to queenstown. I stayed in the queen double room which had great views of the lake. All the facilities were great and the people that run it are fantastic too. They had great knowledge of the area and pointed us in the right direction many a time. Plus they had somewhere safe & secure to store our mountain bikes overnight which was a big plus for us. will definately staying there again when i am back over hitting up the gondola next year. Cheers guys Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peg510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Booked a 2-night stay in the Queen double room with ensuite bathroom. Room is spacious and has great view of the lake. I like the concept of the room which allows natural sunlight to shine through. Super cosy.

Room is also equipped with a mini fridge, microwave, electric kettle and some complimentary coffee & tea. We do not have to use the kitchen at all.

Location is by the lakeside, convenient. Customer service is great too!

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a couple, I would highly recommend the Queen room. Worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aprilngern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

First place i stayed in in Queenstown. Booked via a hostel site and was amazed at how little it cost. I didn't have very high hopes for it but i was very pleasantly surprised.
The location of this hostel is unbeatable in the centre of the town and just adjacent to the lake tours embarkation point.
It is quite a new property and the double ensuite room i had was well appointed with everything i needed for a night. Very clean and comfortable.
Staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable when asked about mainly obscure places in town.
Overall: Excellent property and a must stay in Queenstown!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesolotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 93 in Queenstown
396 reviews
0.5 mi away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#9 of 93 in Queenstown
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 93 in Queenstown
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Hostel
Nomads Queenstown Hostel
#13 of 93 in Queenstown
952 reviews
0 mi away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#16 of 93 in Queenstown
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#6 of 93 in Queenstown
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absoloot Value Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absoloot Value Accommodation

Address: 50 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $24 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Absoloot Value Accommodation 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absoloot Value Accommodation (AVA) has been designed with the backpacker, ‘flashpacker’ and value-seeking traveler in mind. AVA is spectacularly located on the lakefront right in the centre of Queenstown. Newly refurbished, it offers boutique dorms (6 beds maximum), double and queen rooms. Fresh, contemporary style with space to play and space to relax. And now there is FREE WIFI throughout the hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Absoloot Value Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absoloot Value Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing