We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miss this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highview Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Miss this place”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Highview apartments where definitely the highlight stay of the NZ trip for us. The views from the apartments are breathtaking. Waking up the sun shine and the blue waters was great each morning. The apartment has a full service kitchen and has a great home like feel. Very modern interiors and well maintained.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kivister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    81
    18
    9
    2
See reviews for
84
161
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katikati, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed here recently while attending a conference. I selected Highview due to other reviews on Tripadvisor. I am glad I did. I had a one bedroom lake view room and private patio. The room was warm, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was spacious with a seperate bath and shower. The views were a draw card and I really did waste time just admiring them. The bed was comfortable and the hostess Julie was very friendly and helpful. A full kitchen and laundry. Free wifi and parking. Not far into town. Although I had a rental car, I did walk back from town often for the exercise. Wasn't too bad. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaylia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I spent 9 nights in a one bedroom apartment in late October and we were really impressed with the quality of the apartment, and the spectacular views. The apartment had everything you need, kitchen was well equipped with dishwasher and front loader washer/dryer. The bed linen was clean and crisp and the bed was very comfortable.It was lovely to relax in a good size bath with underfloor heating. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room was fully serviced every 3 nights but you could ask for anything you needed from reception. We found that it was a very quiet location, we were not disturbed by other guests and it was close to the main shops. The location lent itself to lovely walks along the lake but it was great to wake up to such a wonderful view and to be able to sit out on the balcony and be surrounded by a view which is priceless. This was one of the best stays we have had anywhere and we do travel a lot, and Queenstown is a must visit. Highly recommend you stay here as it is good value for money also.

Room Tip: Always book a lake view apartment, first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela528977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My hubby and I stayed at the Highview recently for 4 nights and were very impressed with the level of cleanliness, service and general feel of the place.
The apartment we stayed in had an amazing view of the lake and surroundings. It was spacious and very clean. The little luxuries such as heated flooring in the bathroom, heated towel rack, new carpets, a gas log fire and very well equipped kitchen made the stay even more comfortable.

Location was good, too. A bit of a walk up hill (but what isn't in Queenstown! :)). 12 min walk from the centre of town so, close to all the action, yet somewhat quiet and removed.

Keep in mind, these are self-service apartments, so daily cleaning is not part of the deal, although we were offered fresh towels on request. Overall, we could not fault this place and will be staying here every time we visit Queenstown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GosiaSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in a one-bedroom lakeview apartment.
To start the view was spectacular, over the lake and the snow-capped mountains.
Location OK, 10-15 minute walk to town (worse on the way back up-hill).
Room nice, clean and comfortable. Good size. Washing machine and dryer in room. Cooking facilities and large fridge. Good bathroom with separate bathtub and shower.
Staff (Laura) friendly and helpful. Reception open 9-5 daily.
Free WIFI and local phone calls which was great.
Free on-site parking.
Price OK for Queenstown.

Overall a good base for a stay in Queenstown to do its activities and explore surrounding areas. We would stay again!

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinotNoir_F1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed August 2013, great room with full view of Remarkables and lake. Clean + new rooms, about a 5-10 min walk into Queenstown. Would stay here again next time in Queenstown. Room also has separate shower/bath, gas fire place and nice kitchenette.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philn86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed here with a colleague for a nearby conference.

We were in the smallish flats (without the amazing view) but they were very modern, clean and comfortable.

The service was very friendly and helpful and the whole atmosphere was relaxed throughout.

We had a look at the large flats with the *stunning* view and I would recommend these to all!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulk431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,394 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,405 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,452 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highview Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highview Apartments

Property: Highview Apartments
Address: 66 - 70 Thompson Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Clarion Suites Highview Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highview Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury One & Two Bedroom Apartments overlooking Lake Wakatipu, from Queenstown Bay across the Remarkables to Walter and Cecil Peaks, watch the TSS Earnslaw steam her way across your view. A short walk from the CBD, Cafes, Restaurants and many of the local activities (or collection points) but away from the busy roads and noise. Self contained to allow that home away from home feel. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highview Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing