We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxurious, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highview Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“luxurious, great value”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My hubby and I stayed at the Highview recently for 4 nights and were very impressed with the level of cleanliness, service and general feel of the place.
The apartment we stayed in had an amazing view of the lake and surroundings. It was spacious and very clean. The little luxuries such as heated flooring in the bathroom, heated towel rack, new carpets, a gas log fire and very well equipped kitchen made the stay even more comfortable.

Location was good, too. A bit of a walk up hill (but what isn't in Queenstown! :)). 12 min walk from the centre of town so, close to all the action, yet somewhat quiet and removed.

Keep in mind, these are self-service apartments, so daily cleaning is not part of the deal, although we were offered fresh towels on request. Overall, we could not fault this place and will be staying here every time we visit Queenstown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GosiaSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    81
    18
    9
    2
See reviews for
83
161
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in a one-bedroom lakeview apartment.
To start the view was spectacular, over the lake and the snow-capped mountains.
Location OK, 10-15 minute walk to town (worse on the way back up-hill).
Room nice, clean and comfortable. Good size. Washing machine and dryer in room. Cooking facilities and large fridge. Good bathroom with separate bathtub and shower.
Staff (Laura) friendly and helpful. Reception open 9-5 daily.
Free WIFI and local phone calls which was great.
Free on-site parking.
Price OK for Queenstown.

Overall a good base for a stay in Queenstown to do its activities and explore surrounding areas. We would stay again!

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinotNoir_F1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed August 2013, great room with full view of Remarkables and lake. Clean + new rooms, about a 5-10 min walk into Queenstown. Would stay here again next time in Queenstown. Room also has separate shower/bath, gas fire place and nice kitchenette.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philn86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed here with a colleague for a nearby conference.

We were in the smallish flats (without the amazing view) but they were very modern, clean and comfortable.

The service was very friendly and helpful and the whole atmosphere was relaxed throughout.

We had a look at the large flats with the *stunning* view and I would recommend these to all!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulk431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our family of 4 (husband, self and 2 teenage boys) stayed for 3 nights. The 2 bedroom apartments are created by a studio room and a lakeview room using a common foyer. I'd requested a good view and got what was possibly the best view in Queenstown! I could have sat on the balcony the whole time and just looked at the lake and mountains. The rooms were very comfortable and well appointed. Lovely heating. It was good to not have to buy dishwashing or laundry powder. The wi-fi was a bit dodgy - I couldn't get a strong enough signal from the living room and had to retreat to the boys bedroom to be able to use it, which was a bit of a pain. The only other negative comment is that the external doors to the rooms into the common foyer were difficult to open due to the strength of the self closing gas struts - if you had younger children, you'd need to be able to prop them open somehow as the kids wouldn't be able to open them and I'd be nervous about them getting squashed as the doors closed quite forcefully.
Otherwise we loved staying here. A few other reviewers have commented on the steep walk, but I have to admit that as we were at the end of very busy holiday, we were embarassingly lazy and drove down into town! I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Had a studio "luxury apartment" that really wasnt "luxury" at all. Not bad but not great. Very small room (way smaller than my bedroom at home and thats not big!) that only managed to get a chair in it except the bed so nowhere to put your case other than on the bed.
A blissful view of the carpark but I guess I wasnt there to stay in my room the whole time!
Great shower and warm bathroom but found it odd that there is no room cleaning service despite being there a couple of days.
Upon arrival receptionist was efficient and pleasant.
Location wise.....close enough to walk into town but the street is steep in places and not always a footpath to walk on so your sharing the road!
All in all, a clean, small place to lay your head and at least you dont have to pay additional for carparking.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasheetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Requested a lake view as it was my husbands birthday ... We were not disappointed. Stunning views easy access to Queenstown staff informative. Just a really relaxed private experience wonderful thanks

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,376 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highview Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highview Apartments

Property: Highview Apartments
Address: 66 - 70 Thompson Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Clarion Suites Highview Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highview Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury One & Two Bedroom Apartments overlooking Lake Wakatipu, from Queenstown Bay across the Remarkables to Walter and Cecil Peaks, watch the TSS Earnslaw steam her way across your view. A short walk from the CBD, Cafes, Restaurants and many of the local activities (or collection points) but away from the busy roads and noise. Self contained to allow that home away from home feel. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highview Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing